We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At home in the Aventine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #49 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At home in the Aventine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

After two hectic weeks of excursions, I needed a quiet, refined hotel in Rome, so I booked the Hotel San Anselmo. Having done my research and looking forward to a wonderful nine days in the Aventine, it did not disappoint! The San Anselmo is a repurposed villa, Villa San Michele. It has been expertly decorated in a stylish mix of old, new and eclectic, creating a delicate sense of serenity....beautiful!

All new guests are presented with a glass of fresh fruit juice during check in. As our room was not quite ready, a cappuccino was offered at the little sitting room table, making one feel very welcome. A short while later, we were delighted with our accommodations so exquisitely designed, even it being the lowest price end of the rooms there...excellent! Bathrooms are marble with intricate cut-glass mirrors etc. and ours had a huge tub with shower. Beds were firm, but comfortable. Air conditioning worked fine and is adjustable. However, sometimes open that window to let in the fresh Aventine air.

To get to the main points, the San Anselmo is beautiful, in the prettiest area of Rome. A short walk down the hill and there are restaurants, the Circo Massimo, beyond that the Foro Imperiali, il Colosseo, the Capitoline, the presidential palace etc. Old (central) Rome is much smaller than the map makes it appear. You can walk everywhere. The staff at the hotel were consistently genuinely pleasant, friendly, helpful and respectful.

If you can't afford your own villa in the Aventine, but want a home away from home, the Hotel San Anselmo is about as close as you can get. After a long day of exploring, there is nothing better than coming back to the lovely little villa on the hill. By the way, just around the corner is the "Keyhole" view, steps away from the hotel. Use your zoom for an excellent photo! For those with walking difficulties, try either the Via di Sant'Anselmo, or the Via di Sant'Alessio over the Via Laveranale which has a much steeper climb. The former two are quite user-friendly ; ) Maps available at the desk.

Hungry? I highly recommend the tuna sandwich, and the prosciutto and mozzarella sandwich from the bar, well presented and better than a restaurant at an excellent price! Breakfast 7-10 am has a more than ample array of foods including smoked salmon and pie! You will probably find the scrambled eggs and crispy bacon arrive at 7:30 : ) Oh yes, and enjoying breakfast in the lovely garden.....heaven!

Thanks to each and every one of the superb staff.
I WILL be back : )

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesleyZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Lesley,
what a wonderful review!!! thank you so much for your kind words and your exhaustive, clear and emotional description of our hotel San Anselmo. We are so thrilled to learn that you had such a wonderful Roman experience with us and that you consider our hotel your “home away from home”. you really made our day and we can’t wait to pamper you again in your next visit to the Eternal City, which in autumn is simply magical!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    220
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
83
776
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Wow, what a hotel. It took a while to choose a hotel and I'm glad I finally picked this one. The location is very nice, very quiet and next to a huge benedictine church. It is also very close to the door you can see St Peter's basicilla through the key hole of, although you are better off walking further down the road and going in the small park where you get a better view, its a popular spot for couples.

The wife and I found this to be a very relaxing place, which is needed after the craziness of the city center. There is a tram at the bottom of Via dei S. Anselmo which will take you one stop to the Ciro Massimo tube stop although the walk isn't very long.

The Colosseum is also a very walkable distance and you pass the Roman Forum on the way. We didn't go to the Pyramid so I don't know what the walk is like in that direction.

The hotel itself is beautiful, the seating area outside is great and its well worth ordering a drink from the bar and relaxing out there in the evening. Breakfast was good and had a varied choice. Can only say good things about this place.

Room Tip: If you get room 828, then the shower is a complex beast (I don't know if all the rooms have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Terry,
thank you so much for thinking about us once back home in England.!
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed so much our location and the hotel itself.
We are sure that your efforts in choosing a hotel for your Roman trip have been fully repaid.
Hope to see you soon for your next trip in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I finished a recent holiday in Italy with two nights at Hotel San Anselmo. Apart from a little trouble driving there in a maze of one-way streets, everything else about it was fantastic. We were warmly greeted at the front desk and all of the staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was very comfortable and had a wonderful terrace from which quite expansive views could be enjoyed. I've seen comments from other reviewers about the difficulty of walking to the hotel and the cost of taxi rides but this was not an issue for us. We enjoyed being in a quiet location and were quite happy walking into the centre of Rome from the hotel. We also walked into Testaccio and across the river to Trastevere (although we hopped into a taxi to return from there). I would be more than happy to return to Hotel San Anselmo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGrace365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,
we really appreciate your nice words! And we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our the most beautiful rooms! Indeed the location of our hotel allows to do some pleasant walks to the Centre, Testaccio and Trastevere, therefore we are very glad that you were able to value it!
We wait you for next return in San Anselmo hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

First of all, this hotel is gorgeous! The staff were friendly and spoke English well. The rooms are each different, but very elegant and pretty. This was a trip for my anniversary. We stayed on the 3rd floor in the I think Brauman? and Manhattan room. We had a terrace overlooking a beautiful neighborhood. The room was wonderful except for the bed. Possibly the most uncomfortable bed, it felt like laying on cardboard. Aside from the bed everything else was perfect. It is probably a 15-20min walk to the Roman Forum. It is about a 15 min walk to the Testaccio neighborhood where there are some restaurants. However, we weren't very pleased with the couple we tried. I gave it 4 out of 5 because of the bed mainly. The distance to everything is someting we knew going in and trust me after a day in chaotic Rome, you will want to go back somewhere peaceful.

Room Tip: We loved the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bransopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review about our property and we are delighted to know you had a pleasant experience!! I’m sorry though, to know, your bed was not comfortable. And it’s a real pity because I’m sure our concierge, Alessandro or Vincenzo, could have easily informed the maintenance team to provide a softer mattress for you comfort and for a good night sleep!! Anyhow we hope to see you again in Rome in the future!!...
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The San Anselmo is a beautiful hotel in very quiet and peaceful area. Having read reviews prior to our visit we were concerned that the location might mean a long walk to the centre however we did not use buses/taxis at all and enjoyed walking to all the attractions we wished to visit. Many thanks for the prosecco and strawberries on our anniversary- very nice thought. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others visiting the city of Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
recommend the hotel to others visiting the city of Rome.

Dear John,
Thank you very much for your review..and especially for having chosen our Hotel San Anselmo for this special event.!!
The special area of Aventino hill sets our roman villa into an oasis of calm, where you can walk surrounded by green with a short step to the main interesting sites.
We are so happy that you appreciated all the attractions and that all our service met your expectations..!!
We hope to see you again for another pleasant trip to the Eternal City..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
220 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

this hotel is in a wonderful, quiet location within easy walking distance of several very nice restaurants but far enough away to be a peaceful respite. our room was lovely and overlooked the courtyard area in the back of the hotel. the breakfast was very good and there were many options. it was lovely to sit outside in the evening in the courtyard and enjoy the peace and quiet and beauty after a hectic day. I felt totally safe walking in the avertine hill area in the evening by myself. the staff was excellent. there is a lovely little sitting area in the front as well as several other sitting areas. this hotel is a great value compared to many places in rome. I saw another review that mentioned 400 euros per night. I don't know what room they were in but my 2 nights didn't even come to 300 euros. I highly recommend this hotel and if I ever get to rome again, I plan on booking my stay at san anselmo

Room Tip: our group booked 3 rooms. all were different and all were charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your beautiful review about our hotel San Anselmo, posted on Tripadvisor.!!
We are really proud to be able to offer to our precious guests an oasis of calm in the heart of hustling and bustling Rome.!! The Aventino hill is a very special area, surrounded by green with a short step to the main interesting sites..
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us..providing attentive and friendly service is always at the top of our mind..!!! The entire team is thrilled by your kind words.
We appreciate so much your recommending our Hotel San Anselmo in the community and we hope to see you soon for another pleasant stay.!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Room was on the small and cramped side with no air conditioning, although decor was charming. Neighborhood was lovely and quiet and a bit far from restaurants etc., but the location was well worth any inconvenience. We still walked most places. Staff was professional and all spoke good English. Very helpful with restaurant suggestions and making reservations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoFlora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear friends from Toronto,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a nice review about our hotel S.Anselmo.

The staff and I, are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay in Rome.

We are looking forward to your next visit to the eternal city for another memorable experience, and in the meantime we wish you a fantastic autumn.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#62 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#60 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing