We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good, Fantastic quiet location”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #42 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for a two nights Really lovely hotel Decorated in a Renaissance style . Marble bathrooms, Great reception Good continental Breakfast With the hotels home grown orange juice . I was a bit worried it was too out of town but 15 mins and your at the Colosseum. You can have your breakfast outside in the little garden . We had two glasses of Spumante for a celebration it came with peanuts and 6 assorted Bruschetta 10e (didn't think that was bad .

One down point need to keep eye on the grouting around the bath as was getting a bit worn and the window frame was rusty due to water falling on it from the shower . But all in a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear guest,
we are so pleased to know you enjoyed your Roman holiday in our hotel and that you appreciated the renaissance style of our rooms and the sophisticaed and cosy atmosphere of our lounge area, garden and breakfast room.
Thank you so much for bringing to our attention the problem with the window frame! We are aware of it, and as a matter of fact, it has already been ordered and it will be repaired by next week.
Maintenance is an important issue especially in hystorical buildings that must keep their original style and not modify the decor especially in the archeological areas which creates clearly some problems when is time to change or repair an object.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope to meet you again in the Eternal City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

we stayed in this hotel form tuesday 29th to November 1st the hotel is gorgeous, beautiful rooms and terraces. it was exprensive bit worth it! my only criticism woul dbe the poor selection of cooked foods at breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane_m_kelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Jane,
thank you so much for your positive review! The San Anselmo is indeed perfect for a romantic and peaceful getaway and we are so glad to know you enjoyed the atmosphere and the beauty of it and the terrific view from the terrace.
October is our high season and rates are usually higher then average but still if you check on our official website you can enjoy some special rates and competitive offers also in autumn.
We hope to see you soon to enjoy a new great experience in the Eternal City!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from four lovely days in Rome with children. Standard rooms not spacious but more than adequate with bathrooms well specified. Service excellent from reception staff to housekeeping. All areas very clean and well maintained. Common parts well provided for with lovely courtyard garden. Breakfast excellent in the hotel and plenty of reasonable restaurants within 15min walk. Quiet residential area so very peaceful, although Forum and centre of city only 15 - 25 min walk away. Taxi's readily available for those not keen on climb up small hill back to hotel. Within Aurelian walls so 48 Euro taxi fare from Fiumincino easy choice for the four of us. Cannot comment on if suited to younger families but my 14 &17 year old more than happy with internet access, TV and comfortable beds. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Driller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear family from London,
the staff and I are so happy to know you had a "wonderful break" with us in our beautiful San Anselmo hotel. We are indeed very pleased to learn that even we are not really a family hotel we satisfied also your "teenagers" with our service and facilities, which make us of course, so proud and happy!
We hope you can enjoy the magnificence of ancient Rome and visit again our property in you next family trip to Rome!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We've been to Rome several times before, so we can state this is one of the finest places to stay in Rome, especially when looking for a romantic setting. Very quiet neighbourhood on the Aventine Hill, all possible amenities, superb and elegant room decorating, spotless cleaning and a very warm and friendly staff at your disposal at any time. This was truly the ideal spot in the Eternal City for my wife-to-be and myself to celebrate our engagement, and if it's up to her, she'd return every year to Hotel San Anselmo to relive "the dream"...!

Room Tip: we loved "camera delle poesie" (room 825), nice view from balcony and large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwakkie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear guest,
we are so happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations for your special occasion and that you enjoyed every minute of your romantic getaway!!! It was a real pleasure for us to take care of you for such an important moment of your life!!!
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you want to "relive the dream" in the future for another memorable Roman experience in the Eternal City!!!
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Beautiful hotel on Aventino Hill, a lovely tree-lined neighborhood. Walking distance to Circus Maximus, and bus stops. The Testaccio area is also nearby with many good restaurants. The décor is elegant, the garden and patios are beautiful, and every amenity is offered. Thank you to all the staff who were all very pleasant and helpful, especially Vincenzo who was able to upgrade our room for the second night, which made quite a difference. The basic rooms are extremely small and difficult to navigate especially with suitcases. We enjoyed the Prosecco with strawberries, since I mentioned it was our 40th Anniversary, and the wonderful breakfasts. It was a perfect ending to our 3 weeks in Italy, and we hope to return in the near future, (most definitely in a Deluxe room however).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Judy,
we are so glad you spent in out hotel San Anselmo your 40th anniversary end especially to learn you had a terrific experience with us and that you can't wait to come back!!! Vincenzo, very pleased to be mentioned in your review, as well as the rest of our precious staff, tries really hard to make each stay a memorable experience, and I'm really happy he was able to please you with a fantastic upgrade for your special occasion!!!
Hope you have a wonderful autumn in Chicago and lots of nice memories of your romantic Roman getaway!!!
Kind regads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very well located, very quiet neighborhood, lovely garden, excellent service, modern furnishings and technology, wireless, cable tv, fantastic breakfast buffet, parking, located near all public transpoortation, 15 minutes walk to the forum and colosseo, neighborhood full of ancient chruches and old parke perfect for a quiet and romantic stroll, near Trastevere and Testaccio for dining options, near all the hipest night clubs of the capital, excellent quality price cannot be beat for sure, have breakfast in the garden, 3 hotels to choose from all on the same block- Try and you will be very please like the rest of us.

Room Tip: ask for a good sized room overlooking the greenery of the famed Aveninte Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Dadino,
The staff and I are so pleased to know our hotel and service met your expectations. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community, and for you genuine review about our hotel located in central Rome, but away from the busy and crowded city, where you can come back and relax in our peaceful garden or patio.
Rome, in autumn is so pleasant and full of atmosphere and I’m so happy you were able to enjoy the magic of it.
Thank you again and hope to see you again in the future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

After two hectic weeks of excursions, I needed a quiet, refined hotel in Rome, so I booked the Hotel San Anselmo. Having done my research and looking forward to a wonderful nine days in the Aventine, it did not disappoint! The San Anselmo is a repurposed villa, Villa San Michele. It has been expertly decorated in a stylish mix of old, new and eclectic, creating a delicate sense of serenity....beautiful!

All new guests are presented with a glass of fresh fruit juice during check in. As our room was not quite ready, a cappuccino was offered at the little sitting room table, making one feel very welcome. A short while later, we were delighted with our accommodations so exquisitely designed, even it being the lowest price end of the rooms there...excellent! Bathrooms are marble with intricate cut-glass mirrors etc. and ours had a huge tub with shower. Beds were firm, but comfortable. Air conditioning worked fine and is adjustable. However, sometimes open that window to let in the fresh Aventine air.

To get to the main points, the San Anselmo is beautiful, in the prettiest area of Rome. A short walk down the hill and there are restaurants, the Circo Massimo, beyond that the Foro Imperiali, il Colosseo, the Capitoline, the presidential palace etc. Old (central) Rome is much smaller than the map makes it appear. You can walk everywhere. The staff at the hotel were consistently genuinely pleasant, friendly, helpful and respectful.

If you can't afford your own villa in the Aventine, but want a home away from home, the Hotel San Anselmo is about as close as you can get. After a long day of exploring, there is nothing better than coming back to the lovely little villa on the hill. By the way, just around the corner is the "Keyhole" view, steps away from the hotel. Use your zoom for an excellent photo! For those with walking difficulties, try either the Via di Sant'Anselmo, or the Via di Sant'Alessio over the Via Laveranale which has a much steeper climb. The former two are quite user-friendly ; ) Maps available at the desk.

Hungry? I highly recommend the tuna sandwich, and the prosciutto and mozzarella sandwich from the bar, well presented and better than a restaurant at an excellent price! Breakfast 7-10 am has a more than ample array of foods including smoked salmon and pie! You will probably find the scrambled eggs and crispy bacon arrive at 7:30 : ) Oh yes, and enjoying breakfast in the lovely garden.....heaven!

Thanks to each and every one of the superb staff.
I WILL be back : )

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesleyZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Lesley,
what a wonderful review!!! thank you so much for your kind words and your exhaustive, clear and emotional description of our hotel San Anselmo. We are so thrilled to learn that you had such a wonderful Roman experience with us and that you consider our hotel your “home away from home”. you really made our day and we can’t wait to pamper you again in your next visit to the Eternal City, which in autumn is simply magical!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
979 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#77 of 1,271 in Rome
1,443 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,826 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,271 in Rome
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing