We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in a beautiful location”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #41 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I spent three nights in the hotel meeting friends from overseas.
The neighbourhood is quiet, beautiful and very conveniently located, being a 15-20 minute walk to the Corso main shopping street, the Spanish Steps etc. and also about 15 mins from the Colosium.
The hotel was beautifully designed and maintained and the reception staff were exceptionally helpful.
The room was wonderful. The breakfast lovely- fresh pinapple, a nice selection of cheeses, pastries, meats, fresh juice and good coffee. We ate breakfast in the garden each day and it wasdelightful!
The bar served tasty ours-derves with the drinks for free and there was complemetary tea and cake for guests between 4-6 pm.
I would definately return to this hotel.
Next time for a romantic holiday with my partner.
Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Mrs. Debbie,
Thank you for the nice words and your generous feedback!!..we have really appreciated your time and efforts in commenting on your recent stay with us at Hotel San Anselmo.

We take high consideration of your suggestions as is so important for us to achieve complete satisfaction of our valued guest and to improve our service and quality standards.

Please, do let us know when your travels bring you back to the eternal city..the entire team and I would be delighted to welcome you back again..!! ..and the next one will be with your partner for a very romantic holiday in the wonderful eternal city.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    227
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
89
805
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batawa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My mother and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Having hear that the hotel rooms in Europe are a fraction of the size of American hotel rooms we were pleasantly surprised that it was infact a large room. I loved the hotel and all the public spaces available for guests. Breakfast was included and it was delicous. We had alittle trouble with a slight melt down of my flat iron on our second mornng but the staff was very professional and very accomodating. The location of the hotel is a little off the beaten path but its locationed in a wonderful little area with so much to see when walking. We felt very safe wlking around both in the day time and evening. I will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckalicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the Hotel San Anselmo for your roman holiday and for thinking about us once back home..!!
We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.. you have appreciated your wide and well decorated room, the location and our delicious breakfast.
We pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm and genuine service and I am pride that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.!!
We remain at your service for another memorable roman experience and in the meanwhile we wish you a
Happy Christmas ..!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for a two nights Really lovely hotel Decorated in a Renaissance style . Marble bathrooms, Great reception Good continental Breakfast With the hotels home grown orange juice . I was a bit worried it was too out of town but 15 mins and your at the Colosseum. You can have your breakfast outside in the little garden . We had two glasses of Spumante for a celebration it came with peanuts and 6 assorted Bruschetta 10e (didn't think that was bad .

One down point need to keep eye on the grouting around the bath as was getting a bit worn and the window frame was rusty due to water falling on it from the shower . But all in a very nice hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest,
we are so pleased to know you enjoyed your Roman holiday in our hotel and that you appreciated the renaissance style of our rooms and the sophisticaed and cosy atmosphere of our lounge area, garden and breakfast room.
Thank you so much for bringing to our attention the problem with the window frame! We are aware of it, and as a matter of fact, it has already been ordered and it will be repaired by next week.
Maintenance is an important issue especially in hystorical buildings that must keep their original style and not modify the decor especially in the archeological areas which creates clearly some problems when is time to change or repair an object.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope to meet you again in the Eternal City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we stayed in this hotel form tuesday 29th to November 1st the hotel is gorgeous, beautiful rooms and terraces. it was exprensive bit worth it! my only criticism woul dbe the poor selection of cooked foods at breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_m_kelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jane,
thank you so much for your positive review! The San Anselmo is indeed perfect for a romantic and peaceful getaway and we are so glad to know you enjoyed the atmosphere and the beauty of it and the terrific view from the terrace.
October is our high season and rates are usually higher then average but still if you check on our official website you can enjoy some special rates and competitive offers also in autumn.
We hope to see you soon to enjoy a new great experience in the Eternal City!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from four lovely days in Rome with children. Standard rooms not spacious but more than adequate with bathrooms well specified. Service excellent from reception staff to housekeeping. All areas very clean and well maintained. Common parts well provided for with lovely courtyard garden. Breakfast excellent in the hotel and plenty of reasonable restaurants within 15min walk. Quiet residential area so very peaceful, although Forum and centre of city only 15 - 25 min walk away. Taxi's readily available for those not keen on climb up small hill back to hotel. Within Aurelian walls so 48 Euro taxi fare from Fiumincino easy choice for the four of us. Cannot comment on if suited to younger families but my 14 &17 year old more than happy with internet access, TV and comfortable beds. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Driller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear family from London,
the staff and I are so happy to know you had a "wonderful break" with us in our beautiful San Anselmo hotel. We are indeed very pleased to learn that even we are not really a family hotel we satisfied also your "teenagers" with our service and facilities, which make us of course, so proud and happy!
We hope you can enjoy the magnificence of ancient Rome and visit again our property in you next family trip to Rome!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We've been to Rome several times before, so we can state this is one of the finest places to stay in Rome, especially when looking for a romantic setting. Very quiet neighbourhood on the Aventine Hill, all possible amenities, superb and elegant room decorating, spotless cleaning and a very warm and friendly staff at your disposal at any time. This was truly the ideal spot in the Eternal City for my wife-to-be and myself to celebrate our engagement, and if it's up to her, she'd return every year to Hotel San Anselmo to relive "the dream"...!

Room Tip: we loved "camera delle poesie" (room 825), nice view from balcony and large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwakkie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest,
we are so happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations for your special occasion and that you enjoyed every minute of your romantic getaway!!! It was a real pleasure for us to take care of you for such an important moment of your life!!!
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you want to "relive the dream" in the future for another memorable Roman experience in the Eternal City!!!
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Beautiful hotel on Aventino Hill, a lovely tree-lined neighborhood. Walking distance to Circus Maximus, and bus stops. The Testaccio area is also nearby with many good restaurants. The décor is elegant, the garden and patios are beautiful, and every amenity is offered. Thank you to all the staff who were all very pleasant and helpful, especially Vincenzo who was able to upgrade our room for the second night, which made quite a difference. The basic rooms are extremely small and difficult to navigate especially with suitcases. We enjoyed the Prosecco with strawberries, since I mentioned it was our 40th Anniversary, and the wonderful breakfasts. It was a perfect ending to our 3 weeks in Italy, and we hope to return in the near future, (most definitely in a Deluxe room however).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Judy,
we are so glad you spent in out hotel San Anselmo your 40th anniversary end especially to learn you had a terrific experience with us and that you can't wait to come back!!! Vincenzo, very pleased to be mentioned in your review, as well as the rest of our precious staff, tries really hard to make each stay a memorable experience, and I'm really happy he was able to please you with a fantastic upgrade for your special occasion!!!
Hope you have a wonderful autumn in Chicago and lots of nice memories of your romantic Roman getaway!!!
Kind regads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,258 in Rome
950 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#84 of 1,258 in Rome
1,364 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing