We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly very good”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #41 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Warlingham, UK
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nearly very good”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

San Anselmo styles itself as a four star property. In some ways it is. In others it falls well short of what one might expect of an international standard 4* establishment.

On the plus side the entire property was very clean, the staff were excellent and the rooms are of good size and well furnished. Breakfast was pleasant, without being outstanding.

On the downside there are few public areas other than a small terrace, an equally small bar and a breakfast room. There is no resident's lounge, no restaurant and no coffee shop. Internet access is a huge irritant ....... access is via system generated username and password, which seems to expire every 24 hours, necessitating a daily call to Reception for refreshed logon details.

Our room, 806, was a courtyard room, possibly a converted staff cottage. The bathroom was huge and directly underneath the bedroom; reached via a steep flight of marble steps. The bath itself was essentially a big hole in the floor, tiled in brown mosaic and entered via three more steps. It was at least 4 times the size of a regular bath. There were no doors at the top nor bottom of the stairway!

The property is in a quiet and lovely residential area approximately half a mile from Paramide metro station and a little further from Roma Ostiense train station. The road to the hotel from the stations is, for some 500 metres, a very serious hill.

A taxi from central Rome is €9 to €10.

All the above notwithstanding the Hotel San Anselmo offers outstanding value for money,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noswad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guest,
I’m so pleased to know you appreciated the price- value of our hotel, and that overall we met your expectations.
I definitely understand your disappointment for not finding huge common areas, but it was an antique roman villa converted into a hotel with a touch of past times.
The idea was to maintain the atmosphere of a home cozy and sophisticated rather than creating a modern or standardized four star hotel.
We do not have a restaurant but we can serve snacks, sandwiches and salads during the day and our bar area can serve you coffee at any time of the day as well as a complimentary afternoon tea served at your convenience in your room in the fire place lounge or in our patio or garden area.
Too bad you missed all of it!
I’m sorry and sincerely apologize if during your stay you didn’t have good internet connection.
Anyway we really hope you give us a preference and you will come back in the nearest future to visit us, in the meantime we wish a happy holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    225
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
88
796
37
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay at this hotel after a 10 day trip around Italy. The hotel was comfortble, we had a lovely four poster bed! The bathroom was a really good size with a huge tub, enough room for two people to have a soak in. The breakfast at the hotel was good with plenty of choice and we also had a sandwich at lunch one of they days which was also enjoyable. It is a 15 - 20 minute walk to the Colosseum, which was handy. we also got a cab back from the city centre one evening which was a reasonable cost. We wanted to eat somewhere that wasn't expensive and attracting lots of tourists, somewhere the locals would eat and a staff member of the hotel recommended a little trattoria which was great value for money and great food, not very far from the colosseum.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear honeymooners,
we are so happy you have chosen our hotel San Anselmo for such a special event which is perfect for a romantic and sophisticated Roman experience.
We thank you so much for the time you dedicated in writing such a wonderful review and we can't wait to have you back for another wonderful experience!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a beautiful hotel that is close to all the sites you want to see. The rooms are uniquely decorated, good size, and ours had french doors out to a little balcony. Being on the entrance side of the hotel made it a little noisy but didn't cause to lose sleep. The breakfast included was the best we had during our stay in Italy. There were several comfortable living room type spaces on the main floor where we relaxed, had a drink and a snack after sight seeing all day. Nice break from the bar type atmosphere in other hotels. My only complaint was the staff. They seemed a bit put off and not available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babitsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guest,
thank you so much for your review. The staff and I are so pleased to know you gave a special value to a unique location, in a quiet, sophisticated and residential area away from the noise and the traffic of the busy city. We are also so proud to know the complimentary breakfast served was the best you had in Italy.
I'm very sorry if you didn't find the staff friendly and helpful, and for this I sincerely apologize. We hope to have you in the future again as a precious guest, and in the meantime we wish a happy holiday season!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I spent three nights in the hotel meeting friends from overseas.
The neighbourhood is quiet, beautiful and very conveniently located, being a 15-20 minute walk to the Corso main shopping street, the Spanish Steps etc. and also about 15 mins from the Colosium.
The hotel was beautifully designed and maintained and the reception staff were exceptionally helpful.
The room was wonderful. The breakfast lovely- fresh pinapple, a nice selection of cheeses, pastries, meats, fresh juice and good coffee. We ate breakfast in the garden each day and it wasdelightful!
The bar served tasty ours-derves with the drinks for free and there was complemetary tea and cake for guests between 4-6 pm.
I would definately return to this hotel.
Next time for a romantic holiday with my partner.
Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Mrs. Debbie,
Thank you for the nice words and your generous feedback!!..we have really appreciated your time and efforts in commenting on your recent stay with us at Hotel San Anselmo.

We take high consideration of your suggestions as is so important for us to achieve complete satisfaction of our valued guest and to improve our service and quality standards.

Please, do let us know when your travels bring you back to the eternal city..the entire team and I would be delighted to welcome you back again..!! ..and the next one will be with your partner for a very romantic holiday in the wonderful eternal city.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My mother and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Having hear that the hotel rooms in Europe are a fraction of the size of American hotel rooms we were pleasantly surprised that it was infact a large room. I loved the hotel and all the public spaces available for guests. Breakfast was included and it was delicous. We had alittle trouble with a slight melt down of my flat iron on our second mornng but the staff was very professional and very accomodating. The location of the hotel is a little off the beaten path but its locationed in a wonderful little area with so much to see when walking. We felt very safe wlking around both in the day time and evening. I will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckalicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the Hotel San Anselmo for your roman holiday and for thinking about us once back home..!!
We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.. you have appreciated your wide and well decorated room, the location and our delicious breakfast.
We pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm and genuine service and I am pride that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.!!
We remain at your service for another memorable roman experience and in the meanwhile we wish you a
Happy Christmas ..!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for a two nights Really lovely hotel Decorated in a Renaissance style . Marble bathrooms, Great reception Good continental Breakfast With the hotels home grown orange juice . I was a bit worried it was too out of town but 15 mins and your at the Colosseum. You can have your breakfast outside in the little garden . We had two glasses of Spumante for a celebration it came with peanuts and 6 assorted Bruschetta 10e (didn't think that was bad .

One down point need to keep eye on the grouting around the bath as was getting a bit worn and the window frame was rusty due to water falling on it from the shower . But all in a very nice hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest,
we are so pleased to know you enjoyed your Roman holiday in our hotel and that you appreciated the renaissance style of our rooms and the sophisticaed and cosy atmosphere of our lounge area, garden and breakfast room.
Thank you so much for bringing to our attention the problem with the window frame! We are aware of it, and as a matter of fact, it has already been ordered and it will be repaired by next week.
Maintenance is an important issue especially in hystorical buildings that must keep their original style and not modify the decor especially in the archeological areas which creates clearly some problems when is time to change or repair an object.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope to meet you again in the Eternal City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we stayed in this hotel form tuesday 29th to November 1st the hotel is gorgeous, beautiful rooms and terraces. it was exprensive bit worth it! my only criticism woul dbe the poor selection of cooked foods at breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_m_kelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jane,
thank you so much for your positive review! The San Anselmo is indeed perfect for a romantic and peaceful getaway and we are so glad to know you enjoyed the atmosphere and the beauty of it and the terrific view from the terrace.
October is our high season and rates are usually higher then average but still if you check on our official website you can enjoy some special rates and competitive offers also in autumn.
We hope to see you soon to enjoy a new great experience in the Eternal City!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#66 of 1,256 in Rome
943 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#90 of 1,256 in Rome
1,339 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,256 in Rome
2,313 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing