We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Hotels I've ever stayed in !!”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #41 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2008

This is the hotel that has prompted me to write my first ever review for Trip Advisor as a thank you for the reviews by the countless other people I read when wading through the choice of hotels in Rome for a surprise trip for our first wedding anniversary !
I could write a book on how great this hotel is but little point in repeating the praise in the other reviews - only need to say that its all true !
Fantastic boutique hotel in a beautiful location only a 5-10 min walk from the Circus Maximus tube station and 10-15 min walk from Colosseum.
Room was amazing ( no. 825 ) with balcony overlooking the square at the front of the hotel.
Quiet, peaceful setting, beautifully presented, clean and absolutely amazing helpful staff.
Great buffet breakfast in gardens under orange trees with selection of meats,cheeses, cereals,fruits etc.
Please believe all the great reviews and book this hotel - YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED !!

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank iain1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

We used Trip Advisor to help our decision, as I really wanted to stay in a romantic hotel that had the instant Italian feel; this hotel delivered in spades!
We have no complaints at all, the room we stayed in (811) The Renaissance Room had a lovely view over the back garden, a most comfortable bed and a welcome Jacuzzi bath after the rigours of walking around the city,
I would recommend this to friends and family no problem!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BooDiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

What a wonderful hotel. We stayed for a short break in July and couldn’t have been more overjoyed with our choice. When I booked, I pre-ordered a cab to collect us from the airport. Our driver, although he didn’t speak English was charming and we managed to communicate in broken French. He took us directly to the hotel for a fixed rate of 50 euros. Even though we were about 4 hours early for check in our room was ready. I had requested at the time of booking a romantic room preferably with a balcony. Even though this was an upgrade on arrival they gave us a beautiful, charming room 818, small but perfectly formed with balcony. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath which was wonderful after a long day sightseeing. The hotel is certainly walk-able to all of the sights but far enough away from the madding crowds to enable us to relax.
The staff were fantastic, from restaurant recommendations and bookings to the best walking routes to the heart of ancient Rome. Francois the barman was exceptional, professional and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.
I have recommended this hotel to everyone, and hope that my friends and family enjoy it as much as we did.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank KateALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

An absolutely wonderfull hotel. The huge breakfast buffet of a morning is gorgeous and to sit under the orange trees in the crisp morning sunshine is amazing.
The room was lavishly furnished and kept regularly cleaned by the lovely maids.
The one thing that ruins the hotel slightly is the rather aloof / snobby receptionist that works there, though he was only there some evenings, it was dissapointing to be met with such an uncaring attitude.
However the rest of the hotel is wonderfull and i would definately reccomend it to everyone out there. Perfect for both a relaxing trip and to see all the sights.
The hotel will also give you a map at the start with all the local restaraunts on. This however is rather misleading as there are a number of authentic roman restaraunts in the vicinity that do absolutely gorgeous food which are not listed on the map.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jellyhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

After reading the reviews on here i was very excited about our stay in Rome. I was not dissapointed.
The overall setting of the hotel is very tranquil. When we arrived our room wasnt ready but the staff were very friendly and helpful, we had a drink in the bar and our cases were taken up to our room and we soon followed. we stayed in 824 which was beautiful. there is a jacuzzi shower and bath which is heaven after a long days walking sightseeing! be prepared for a lot of walking or to get taxis into the main areas. we did not venture onto the public transport and basically walked everywhere with the exeption of a taxi to the vatican which cost roughly 12 euro. restaurant wise we walked to trastevere on our first night, second night along the river tiber and our 3rd piazza navona - all reasonably priced and very good food. there is an abundance of restaurants and the hotel did give us a list of nearby places but we chose to go further a field.
breakfast here was very good, a selection of cold meats, smoked salmon, eggs and cheese. lots of cereals, pastries and fruit and the staff are on hand with coffee, to sit in the tranquil garden under the orange tree was a beautiful experience in itself!
overall a truly wonderful experience and i would not hesitate to return and hope to do so some day. i recommend this hotel to everyone with the exception of those with walking difficulties but then there is always the taxi. go enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank buttercup78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

I have to say our trip to the hotel started off a little rocky. No fault of the hotel. We had a cab take us through these back alleys and he dropped us off at the hotel and ripped us off on the cab ride. So be careful of that. The hotel was beautiful but wasn't as close to the action as we thought it would be. It was in a quiet upper class neighborhood. It turned out to be in a better area then we initially thought. It was nice to have a quiet room away from the busyness.
We arrived at 11:30 at night and there was nowhere open to eat and the hotel doesn't provide room service. But the front desk clerk managed to bring us delicious ham sandwiches with a nice bottle of wine. I don't know if he had to run up the street to get it but I thought that was awesome for him to do that for us.
The room was gorgeous and quiet. The breakfast was delicious. They had a front desk clerk named Mr. Vincenzo who was amazing. One of the nicest people I have ever met. He was so full of information and helped us plan our 2 days. He speaks very good English.
From the hotel I suggest taking the subway everywhere. It is about a 15 minute walk but it is worth it. It takes you everywhere and it is cheap. I wouldn't trust too many of the taxi drivers in Rome.
One thing is the hotel's internet service doesn't work very good. So plan on not being able to use it.
I had a great time and my husband and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cakies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our 2 week honeymoon. When we arrived we were put in the Romeo and Juliet suite which did have a small balcony but felt very small and we were disappointed. We asked to be moved and after a bit of faffing we were moved to the Manhattan suite. This was big with a great bathroom that had views across the Aventine hill area, a jacuzzi bath and great shower. The best bit about this room was the balcony which had a table, chairs and outdoor light so we could sit out there all day. The decor of this room was dark reds with some lovely gold sunburst mirrors and murals.

There is a supermarket towards the Massimo area and I recommend popping there for olives and drinks to stash in the mini bar as the mini bar prices were quite steep.

Breakfast was fantastic ranging from toast and cereal to smoked salmon and pastries. The weather was good enough to sit outside and we didn't feel rushed.

Staff were pleasant and helpful. There isn't a lot in the way of nightlife nearby - you need to walk to Trastevere which is a great area but there is a pretty rose garden and a park with a panoramic view of Rome within a short stroll away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trainergirlK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,271 in Rome
989 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Relais 6
#38 of 1,271 in Rome
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,271 in Rome
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £85 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing