We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveller rating
939
239
44
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
939
239
44
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaventine hillcircus maximustestaccio areabeautiful hotelcirco massimojacuzzi bathorange treesfour poster bedminute walkour honeymoonquiet areacentral romepastriesbeautiful roomcold meatsaround the cornerroman forum
Filter
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel is in a wonderful area of Rome, called Aventino. Few steps by foot and you can see the so called "Buco della serratura, Priorato dei Cavalieri di Malta": a place when you can see San Pietro from the keyhole: you must see it! It is also near Circo Massimo, Piramide, Ostiense train station. Trastevere is not so far.
Deluxe room is nice, clean & large (the bathroom has the Iacuzzi). It is wonderful to have breakfast in the garden (if the weather is warm). Crew is very kind. There is no restaurant for lunch & dinner (but you have a very good breakfast).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaBeatrice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to other Tripadvisor’s travelers! The location indeed is enviable: Aventino hill is an exclusive, quiet and central area of Rome. We are glad you had the chance to enjoy one of our original deluxe rooms, the rich breakfast and the kindness of our staff and we are looking forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The location is great. very close to Piramide Metro station. about 10 min walk. And a great choice and verity of good, local restaurants in the area. The decoration is very "Rome" like... Very friendly and helpful staff.
the bell boy helped us with the parking since it was quit a maze of on way and no entree streets.
Also they welcome you with a nice cold drink upon arrival.
Great breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: The hotel is located up hill. so the walk back up to the hotel, from a day of touring is not easy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive description of our hotel San Anselmo and for the compliments regarding the friendly staff service, the unique décor and perfect location!
We are really glad that you enjoyed your Roman experience with us and we hope you could come back in the Eternal City very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I loved this hotel....after research on TA, I knew that this hotel would be perfect. I had emailed the hotel prior to arriving and arranged an airport transfer - purely because we wanted to make the most of our time in the city. The transfer took about 30mins (50 Euros). As previous reviews have said, this hotel is in a residential area of the City, in the Aventino Hill area with a short walk (about 20mins) to the Trastevere, Colosseum etc. And at the bottom of the hill there is a metro stop, but we walked everywhere so can't comment on public transport.
On arrival to this hotel, we were given a glass of fresh juice, which was nice, and then shown to our room. Our room was on the ground floor. We had a little balcony, a large bedroom and the bathroom had a shower and Jacuzzi bath! All beautifully decorated. The bedroom had a mini bar (for a cost) and Tv, there was a wardrobe with safe and in the bathroom a hairdryer.
The breakfast was fab! Cereals, Continental, pastries, cakes, bacon and eggs. And the capuccino's were the perfect way to start the day.
At the end of a day we were given a little sweet and the weather forecast for the next day.
The hotel served food also, but we never ate there other than breakfast. One night, after a hot day, we sat outside on one of the sofas with a bottle of Prosecco, which was lovely.
Whilst we were there, we celebrated my fiancé's birthday. After a long day out, the hotel gave us a couple of mini bottles of Prosecco and a glass of strawberries, it was a lovely treat.
The day prior to check out, we booked the return transfer to the airport, again just to make the most of our time there.
We spent most of our nights dining at the Trastevere area of the city, which I would highly recommend visiting.
Overall, the hotel and its staff were absolutely fabulous, I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to friends/family and fellow TA readers! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vick_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Vick,
it is a real pleasure reading your detailed experience at San Anselmo hotel! From your very first arrival to the end of your trip you really enlightened lot of the positive aspects of our Roman villa: the welcome at the airport and at the check-in, the service during your stay, the beautiful room given to you and the strategic location.
We hope your word could help other travelleres of Tripadvisor community to try a magical stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Located in the Aventino Hill, this was a very good hotel. The only negative part is that there were very little of restaurants in the vicinity, so one had to walk abit to find a decent restaurant. There were also abit noisy aircondition-system, but in all it was very good and i recommend it to travellers who wants a nice hotel:)

Room Tip: Room 805 had a small issue beeing located in the backyard, as during the the morning you could hear roadworks and other machines beeing used very clearly. Secondly, the aircondition went on even if we turned the termostat off. This was the only negative with that room. Otherwise, it was very good :)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very glad you appreciated our Roman Villa! Actually, nearby the hotel there are a lot of excellent and non-touristic restaurants, trattorias and pubs. In fact, Testaccio is a well-known area plenty of good places at only 5 minutes down the hill!
We are looking forward for your next visit and to pamper you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

At Hotel San Anselmo the service was impeccable and the décor was unique. Though we spent most of our time exploring Rome, we enjoyed every minute at S. Anselmo. The breakfast buffet and bar service was first rate. Every staff member we encountered was gracious and accommodating. We felt like special guests in a private villa. The Aventine neighborhood is quiet, with nice restaurants and the Benedictine convent just a short walk away. The hotel isn't in the heart of the Rome, so be prepared to take a taxi (or long hike) to popular sites.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Poetry Room. It's worth it to pay for a larger room with a balcony. It's a secluded neighborhood so street noise isn't an issue.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reginald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Reginald,
Thank you very much for writing about us once you got back home! We are really glad you appreciated the unique style and the attentive service of our Roman villa! San Anselmo hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, elegant and cozy, located in a quiet and refined location.
We really hope you could enjoy again this beautiful atmosphere!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews