We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable experience”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #43 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It took a while to select a hotel and I'm eager I finally picked this one. The locality is very enjoyable, very silent and next to a enormous Benedictine church. It is also actual close to the entrance you can see St Peter's basicilla through the important hole of, although you are better off outdoor further down the street and going in the small park where you get a healthier view, its a common spot for pairs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoltasWilliamMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for writing about your “unbelievable experience” in our little but cozy hotel on the top of Aventino hill! The location is simply perfect and very romantic as well as our boutique hotel .
We wait you soon to live again a memorable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely hotel, staff and area, it's in a quiet residential area away from the tourists, be aware though it's in a Hilly area, so if you struggle on your feet or elderly I'd give it a miss.

Lovely roman like rooms, clean and smart, front desk staff were helpful and friendly.

BUT no tea making facilities in the rooms and if you want to iron your clothes you need to go to the basement area, no iron and iron boards in your room.

Also the air conditioning was not on as it's classed as there winter, this should be available all year I personally think. But it's a quiet area so windows open is no problems.

A restaurant in the hotel would also be a great addition as there is not many close restaurants in the area.

Other than that, I would recommend this hotel as it's a great price in a good area and lovely rooms.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel is in a wonderful area of Rome, called Aventino. Few steps by foot and you can see the so called "Buco della serratura, Priorato dei Cavalieri di Malta": a place when you can see San Pietro from the keyhole: you must see it! It is also near Circo Massimo, Piramide, Ostiense train station. Trastevere is not so far.
Deluxe room is nice, clean & large (the bathroom has the Iacuzzi). It is wonderful to have breakfast in the garden (if the weather is warm). Crew is very kind. There is no restaurant for lunch & dinner (but you have a very good breakfast).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaBeatrice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to other Tripadvisor’s travelers! The location indeed is enviable: Aventino hill is an exclusive, quiet and central area of Rome. We are glad you had the chance to enjoy one of our original deluxe rooms, the rich breakfast and the kindness of our staff and we are looking forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The location is great. very close to Piramide Metro station. about 10 min walk. And a great choice and verity of good, local restaurants in the area. The decoration is very "Rome" like... Very friendly and helpful staff.
the bell boy helped us with the parking since it was quit a maze of on way and no entree streets.
Also they welcome you with a nice cold drink upon arrival.
Great breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: The hotel is located up hill. so the walk back up to the hotel, from a day of touring is not easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive description of our hotel San Anselmo and for the compliments regarding the friendly staff service, the unique décor and perfect location!
We are really glad that you enjoyed your Roman experience with us and we hope you could come back in the Eternal City very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I loved this hotel....after research on TA, I knew that this hotel would be perfect. I had emailed the hotel prior to arriving and arranged an airport transfer - purely because we wanted to make the most of our time in the city. The transfer took about 30mins (50 Euros). As previous reviews have said, this hotel is in a residential area of the City, in the Aventino Hill area with a short walk (about 20mins) to the Trastevere, Colosseum etc. And at the bottom of the hill there is a metro stop, but we walked everywhere so can't comment on public transport.
On arrival to this hotel, we were given a glass of fresh juice, which was nice, and then shown to our room. Our room was on the ground floor. We had a little balcony, a large bedroom and the bathroom had a shower and Jacuzzi bath! All beautifully decorated. The bedroom had a mini bar (for a cost) and Tv, there was a wardrobe with safe and in the bathroom a hairdryer.
The breakfast was fab! Cereals, Continental, pastries, cakes, bacon and eggs. And the capuccino's were the perfect way to start the day.
At the end of a day we were given a little sweet and the weather forecast for the next day.
The hotel served food also, but we never ate there other than breakfast. One night, after a hot day, we sat outside on one of the sofas with a bottle of Prosecco, which was lovely.
Whilst we were there, we celebrated my fiancé's birthday. After a long day out, the hotel gave us a couple of mini bottles of Prosecco and a glass of strawberries, it was a lovely treat.
The day prior to check out, we booked the return transfer to the airport, again just to make the most of our time there.
We spent most of our nights dining at the Trastevere area of the city, which I would highly recommend visiting.
Overall, the hotel and its staff were absolutely fabulous, I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to friends/family and fellow TA readers! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vick_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Vick,
it is a real pleasure reading your detailed experience at San Anselmo hotel! From your very first arrival to the end of your trip you really enlightened lot of the positive aspects of our Roman villa: the welcome at the airport and at the check-in, the service during your stay, the beautiful room given to you and the strategic location.
We hope your word could help other travelleres of Tripadvisor community to try a magical stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Located in the Aventino Hill, this was a very good hotel. The only negative part is that there were very little of restaurants in the vicinity, so one had to walk abit to find a decent restaurant. There were also abit noisy aircondition-system, but in all it was very good and i recommend it to travellers who wants a nice hotel:)

Room Tip: Room 805 had a small issue beeing located in the backyard, as during the the morning you could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very glad you appreciated our Roman Villa! Actually, nearby the hotel there are a lot of excellent and non-touristic restaurants, trattorias and pubs. In fact, Testaccio is a well-known area plenty of good places at only 5 minutes down the hill!
We are looking forward for your next visit and to pamper you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

At Hotel San Anselmo the service was impeccable and the décor was unique. Though we spent most of our time exploring Rome, we enjoyed every minute at S. Anselmo. The breakfast buffet and bar service was first rate. Every staff member we encountered was gracious and accommodating. We felt like special guests in a private villa. The Aventine neighborhood is quiet, with nice restaurants and the Benedictine convent just a short walk away. The hotel isn't in the heart of the Rome, so be prepared to take a taxi (or long hike) to popular sites.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Poetry Room. It's worth it to pay for a larger room with a balcony. It's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reginald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Reginald,
Thank you very much for writing about us once you got back home! We are really glad you appreciated the unique style and the attentive service of our Roman villa! San Anselmo hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, elegant and cozy, located in a quiet and refined location.
We really hope you could enjoy again this beautiful atmosphere!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#62 of 1,269 in Rome
971 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#77 of 1,269 in Rome
1,419 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,269 in Rome
2,766 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,269 in Rome
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £78 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing