We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
938
238
44
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
238
44
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaventine hillcircus maximustestaccio areabeautiful hotelcirco massimojacuzzi bathorange treesfour poster bedminute walkour honeymoonquiet areacentral romepastriesbeautiful roomcold meatsaround the cornerroman forum
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

and quirky. We stayed from8th-10th April and were very happy with it - 30miutes (35euro taxi drive) from Ciampiano airport. On check in we were given complimentary drinks then taken to room 805 which is around the side of the building and is a completely self contained room in a separate little building almost like a little house. Room very clean with great bed, lovely headboard, tv, good ensuite with fantastic shower/bath set into floor - great after a long day of walking! Quite central with closest attractions being the Colosseum and Forum Romano (8-10min walk). Wifi in rooms and a reasonably priced mini bar. Breakfast food average, (they don't have an actual restaurant so evening meals will be elsewhere) but gorgeous surroundings for breakfast/drinks. ALl in all I would 100% return to the hotel. Just lacks a restaurant as the nearest food places were 10 min walk and weren't great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennmaitland80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Madam,
what a beautiful comment!! We appreciate very much your words and it's a pleasure to know you liked your stay in our hotel S. Anselmo and that you consider it very authentic!

Hope you come back very soon to enjoy another memorable stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We are in our sixth day of a ten day stay at the Hotel San Anselmo and I could not wait until the end to write this review. We have traveled extensively through Europe and Italy and this is our favorite place. Any time we fly in and out of Rome we stay extra days on each end of the trip and stay at the San Anselmo. Each room is unique and wonderfully decorated and the service is top notch. The staff is always fantastic but this time we were able to meet the manager "Roberta" who was absolutely wonderful to us. She has been very warm and accommodating to our every request. We love the Italian people and Roberta's graciousness only affirms that feeling. THANK YOU ROBERTA!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John3319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dearest HONEYMOONERS,
what a wonderful review!
It's a such a great emotion for all of us to learn that you consider our hotel S. Anselmo your favorite place in the world!
Thank you so much for your beautiful and touching words and for rewarding us with your praise and extremely generous comments!
It was my pleasure to meet you personally and to make your dream come true in our roman villa for such a special and unforgettable occasion.
We wish you an exacting and extraordinary life together full of beautiful memories to cherish in your hearth!
It was an honor for the staff and I to participate somehow to such a romantic special and loving event. Your happiness and joy was for all of us a great strainght and pleasure.

We looking forward to the next visit in the eternal city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Upon arriving, the man working at the front dest was not rude but not overly friendly either. I have a bad knee and I try to take the elevator when possible (especially after a long day of walking) - the elevator will only fit 2 people = no luggage. The bell boy was nice to take our luggage on a separate trip on the elevator, but still - the elevator is slow and extremely tight. Our room was clean, but small - which I expected out of Rome. However, the bathroom… where do I even begin? No washcloths, the mirror and sink are behind the door and very small, absolutely NO vanity/countertop space to place any personal belongings (like eye contact solution, face wash, makeup, etc), the hairdryer is more like what I would consider a hand-dryer in a public restroom, the shower head doubles as the handheld but it would not stay in the upright position in its holder, did I mention no washcloths were provided?, and the toilet paper would not stay on the holder when in use.
The air conditioner was not working (which I had read might happen through TripAdvisor reviews in most of the Rome hotels) so we were forced to open the windows (which again we were fine with because the weather was awesome outside and very cool), however because our windows were open, we were subjected to VERY LOUD birds! Yes, birds. I enlisted the help of earplugs sometime in the middle of the night. It was quiet away from the city, but loud nonetheless.
I wanted a hotel that was sort of out of the middle of the city, but still within close walking distance. Thats exactly what you get, but they fail to say you have to walk up a HILL after a long day of walking! I must have missed the reviews that mentioned walking uphill with a sore knee and feet after walking all day.
Everybody we talked to kept telling us what a nice area the hotel was in… again, I failed to see that. We walked around at night and felt like we were in a bad part of town??
The room service is extremely limited, but we did try it on our last night there. Just ok.

Nothing specifically terrible happened during our stay there. In comparison to the other 2 hotels we stayed at (in Florence and Venice), it was last in our list of preference. We had the "Golden Room" which is Room 830. It was clean and pretty and had a lovely terrace/balcony - but that's about it. The rest of the staff we encountered were very friendly. Overall, just ok.

Room Tip: We had the "Golden Room" = Room # 830.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DORX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guests,
the staff and I are really disappointed to learn your stay with us was not completely satisfactory and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced.
I really regret you were not able to enjoy totally a pleasant roman experience and that your expectations were not met!!! I really hope, in the future, you will give us the opportunity to “pamper” you in our “roman villa” where you are able to enjoy with pleasure the birds singing outside your window, which believe us, in central Rome, is a real plus and added value!!
We wish you a happy Easter week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here for a 3-day vacation. We read about the "Aventine keyhole" and searched around trying to find it and in the end it was simple. From Hotel San Anselmo, looking out from the front entrance, walk along the entrance drive on the right, at the street (Via di Porta Lavernale) turn right and walk to the top of the hill, about 50 meters or less. You will see a parking area on larged paved area on the left and in front of you a wall with several doors. The most left door on that wall is the one. The "keyhole" is a round hole in the middle of a fancy metal plate at the midpoint of the door. The view is of St. Peters basilica and is particularly scenic at night but the courtyard is pretty dark then.

Hotel San Anselmo is very picturesque and romantic. We highly recommend it! Breakfast in the back courtyard is extremely delightful. You select your breakfast from a buffet inside and take it outside to a table in the courtyard. There is also sitting area inside a small courtyard at the entrance that was also enjoyable. The room was large and most interesting with quotations painted on the walls. We were in one of the two rooms on the front with a balcony which was a great place to sit after our journey, drink the wine we had ordered in advance and watch the traffic go by, which was very minimal. This is an extremely quiet part of Rome. The bathroom was kind of narrow and long with a large shower and a large window. Walking to the hotel is a great way to get exercise because it is a steep climb up from Via Marmorata but very quiet. We took a taxi once because we had been walking all day. One caution, the hotel recommended a restaurant Apuleius and we got really turned around walking the streets north to find it. What threw us off was an area that looks on the map like streets crossing was actually a wide open paved space. It was a great restaurant once we tracked it down. The traditional Roman pasta was incredible and the service was impeccable.

Room Tip: Get the room with balcony on the front. But all the rooms have romantic charm.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerfromMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your positive comment!
We really appreciate it and we are happy to know you loved your stay in our hotel S. ANSELMO.
It's important for us to receive such a beautiful comments which help us to make our best.

Hope to see you again very soon,
Happy Easter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We are just returning from our vacation in Europe, and this place is the best! The staff are very friendly, they gave us more than one gift/surprise during our stay, and the rooms are not only gorgeous but also immaculate. We stayed in the Mille Baci and I highly recommend this room if you wish to have a romantic experience with your significant other. It also has a nice surprise on the ceiling of the bathroom. :-)

The breakfast was good as well (fresh fruits, juices, meats, etc). And, the following locations are in walking distance of the hotel: Circo Massimo (5mins), La Bocca della Verita (The Mouth of Truth) (5min), Piazza dei Cavalieri di Malta (Aventine Hill keyhole) (5min), Colosseum, Palatine Hill, Roman Forum (15min), Piazza Venezia (20min)-it really is in the perfect location.

Side note: The space is very large, which is unusual for a European hotel room.

We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TayC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the compliments and for your genuine review! Mille Baci room, as well as many others rooms in our cozy hotel, is perfect for a romantic and sweet getaway! Moreover we love to pamper our guest with some unexpected gifts!
We cannot wait for your next visit in the Eternal City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews