We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Retreat”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #41 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon and was our second destination. I had seen on here it was tricky to find so had emailed in advance for directions. Lucky for us it was light when we arrived so we found it with only a little help needed from a local lady! Upon arriving we were greeted by a very polite gentlemen at the front desk, whose first concern was to get us some cold drinks as it had been a hot walk to the hotel! After we had cooled down he then proceeded to book us in. Our bags were taken to the room by a friendly member of staff, and we found a bottle of fizz and strawberries waiting for us on the bed. It was a beautiful room with a lovely view, and was extremely clean. The bathroom wasn't huge, but was amazing with a powerful shower. Breakfast was fantastic, with a huge choice ranging from cold meats, cheeses, bacon, eggs, pastries, fresh fruit, smoked salmon etc. Bar and room service both available with a stunning garden for warm evenings. No restaurant on site however they were able to recommend a number of good local restaurants in a leaflet with star ratings as well as price ratings which was gratefully received. Located in a quieter area of Rome, but about a 20 minute walk from the Colesseum and other tourist sites. Cannot sing their praises enough, we had a fantastic time and my parents are hoping to go there for their anniversary this year after our recommendation!

Room Tip: Emailed to say it was our honeymoon and were given a larger suite with balcony overlooking the conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Hannah,
thank you for sharing your emotion!
We are glad to know you had a wonderful honeymoon moments in our hotel S. Anselmo.
The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation. This encourage us to do always the best for our clients, anticipated their needs and desires to make their experience in Hotel San Anselmo a memorable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Lots of positives for this place - Decor of room. courteous and helpful staff. Nice garden with oranges hanging from the trees when we visited couple of weeks back. Good breakfast spread. Central to many archaelogical sites. Quiet neighborhood.
Surprised us with fresh strawberries and prosecco sent to the room upon arrival.
Was bit of uphill walk. In a way, was good as we got our daily dose of exercise :-)
Some eating options nearby but is a good walk to better eat-outs.
a good 15 min walk to nearest metro. No inhouse lunch dinner option.
Rooms could be made bit bigger to accommodate more space for suitcases. We felt a bit crammed with not enough space for 2 large boxes that we had.
But overall very enjoyable 4 days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preethirama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for your posivite comment!
We appreciate it and we are happy to know you had a confortable stay with us and that the services met your expectations.

We hope to see you next time to enjoy another room maybe larger then the one you had!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This boutique hotel was adorable. The decor was charming and interesting. The breakfast was lovely. The staff was very kind and helpful. The location is right in the center of things so it's easy to walk places and wander around. You could hear church bells and watch the sisters in the convent across the street from the balcony in my room. Wonderful stay!

(Stayed in September 2008)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Amy,
thank you for your positive comment!
The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation. This encourage us to do always the best for our clients, anticipated their needs and desires to make their experience in Hotel San Anselmo a memorable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

There are alot of options to consider when looking for a hotel room in Rome. We looked long and hard and finally decided on the San Anselmo. We are so happy that we decided to stay here as the hotel is amazing! The San Anslemo has a great location and is within walking distance of alot of things. The staff is helpful and friendly and the service was great. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning and the wonderful garden view. We requested a bed for our 2 year old son and one was brought up with no problems. If you are looking for the best place to stay, you found it. One thing that we didnt realize until we were about to leave was that the The Aventine Keyhole is less than a block from the hotel. Its very neat and we are glad we got to see it. When you walk out of the front doors to the hotel, continue straight as far as you can go until you get to the wall, turn right and walk down that road and you will come to a church with a green door. Look through the keyhole.

Room Tip: We choose the room with the tub and were very happy we did! I have never seen that good of water pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Jordan
thank you for your comment!

It's nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the location, the room and the services.

Hope to see you and your family for your next trip in Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have found this hotel via Tripadvisor and the fine comments there. We love walking and this place seems to be just right. Placed on the hill, surrounded by private villas and churches, gardens and convents. It is 15 min walk tot the FORUM ROMANUM/COLOSEUM on one side, 10 min walk to the TESTACCIO quater, full of great italian restaurants on the other side. The journey to and from the airport can not be simplier. 8 eur for a train ticket from Fumicino to Ostiense, 30 min ride and then 10 min walk to the hotel.
Breakfast was just fine, sitting under the blooming orange trees. Our double room was not the biggest one, but You get what You need and You are out in the city anyway. If You do not like walking, it is about 7 min to the nearest Metro station Piramides.

Room Tip: Room 820 has a small balcony with table and chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Jan
thank you for your comment!
Our hotel S. Anselmo, located in the residential area of the Aventino hill, is a quiet place to spent some days of calm after a long walk around the city!

We wait for your next stay to enjoy another room maybe much larger then the room you had for the first stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It was our first stay in Italy and what a fantastic warm welcome we got at this hotel. It's important to me to feel welcome in a country and after an unpleasant experience in Spain a few years ago I was dubious about going abroad ever again. Staying at this hotel feels like staying at someone's private villa. It's small (but not too small) and has a lovely garden with a glorious smell of orange blossom. The staff were so helpful and I loved the way they arranged a taxi for us to and from the airport and it all went so smoothly. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady taxi driver with a beaming smile. Although this cost 100 euros we saved so much time and stress trying to find it ourselves. We were only there for 3 nights so this was important to us. We were given complimentary drinks on arrival.
The hotel is in a quiet residential area full of amazing authentic Italian villas. We stumbled across a little park nearby giving one of the best views of Rome and the Vatican. Very popular at sunset. Take your own drinks and snacks though as there are none to be bought there. The sound of the church bells tolling quietly nearby also gives great atmosphere.

Our room was very nice with a fantastic bathroom and balcony and adequate for our needs. Minor problems were the lack of iron and ironing board, but we could iron in a basement and anyway who goes on holiday to iron!! However the Italians in the restaurants we ate at in Rome were smartly dressed and they really do take care of their appearance so best pack a couple of smart outfits. We also had no tea or coffee making facilities but afternoon tea was served free between 3pm and 6pm in the dining room (although no one told us this on check in and we only discovered it on out final day.) Breakfast was nice, mainly continental. Italian cooked bacon and eggs and a toast machine for those that want a cooked one, Only gripe was the eggs were luke warm. I still wouldn't have swapped this hotel for the sterile environment of an international hotel chain. I never complained about any of this and know that something would have been done immediately to accommodate my concerns had I felt they were bad enough to mention,
The staff organised us taxis when we needed them but the hotel was within walking distance of the centre if you have comfy shoes on.
Rome itself was breathtaking. Too much to see properly in 3 days really but we thoroughly enjoyed a guided tour of the Coliseum and saved a lot of queuing time by pre booking. We booked a vatican tour, but unless you are an art lover I'd possibly just book a self guided tour as our tour for over 3 hours and pretty tired by the end of it. St Peter's Basillica is fantastic though and well worth a look. We discovered the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain on out last night. Well worth a look and my favorite part of our trip. There were lots of amazing designer shops and lovely little tavernas down side streets between the two attractions. We we will return to Rome and will stay at San Anselmo again. Says it all really!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Ella
thank you very much for the comment you shared with the Tripadvisor community!
We appreciate it and we always do our best to feel the guests at home even far from home....
The guests are very important for us and all their needs should be satisfied to make their stay the best possible.

Hope to see you very soon to enjoy another fantastic experience in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is my first review for trip advisor and i'm happy to write this review about this lovely hotel. The hotel is not in the centre of Rome. its a gentle 20 minute walk to the Colosseum from which all the main sights are accessable from trains and 'hop on hop off' busses. The hotel itself is a converted villa, but converted very nicely. The standard bedrooms are not massive although we loved the decor and the bathroom with the body jet shower and jacuzzi bath was just awsome after a mad day walking arount the vibrant city of Rome. If you want a full english breakfast go and stay in an English hotel in England as this hotel is in Italy and they do continental breakfast, but with this being said the breakfast here was plentyful with a great choice which included scrambled egg and Italian style bacon, also the freshly squeezed orange juice was a real bonus. The hotel has a beautiful garden of which you can eat your breakfast in as well as chill out in at the end of a day after checking out the sights in Rome. Ok here is the big plus! to this hotel. being a little outside of central Rome and wher a lot of people who work in Rome live the local area is really good for proper Rome food and not the tourist rubbish you would be served up in the centre. Exit the hotel lobby and walk directlt straight ahead across the small square to the road on your left and then down the hill, keep going until you reach the main road, cross over onto the other side and turn right, count three streets on your left and then turn left, here on in you are entering a residential area where the deeper you go the better it gets, dont despair if you only skirt the outskirts as the food and wine in this area is really really good, we paid 6 euros for a litre of wine in one of the tratorias that was so smooth and did not leave us with a hangover the next day and this was just the house wine!!!!!!!. Anyway...love this hotel and would not stay anywere else in Rome if we return. Love you Anselmo....Mr and Mrs Hamilton.

Room Tip: Contact customer relations by email and they will sen you a list of available rooms and their names...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Hamilton,
thank you very much for your positive comment!
It's nice for us to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you appreciate the quiet area where the hotel is located. The Aventino hill is a nice place, close to the center of Rome but quiet!
Hope to accommodate you very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,271 in Rome
989 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,483 reviews
Relais 6
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,271 in Rome
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £84 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing