We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is remarkable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #46 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
227 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This place is remarkable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Perfect price, perfect location, perfect breakfast, perfect staff, perfect gardens and patio. What a find this is. I will go back there is a minute and without hesitation.

Yes, the room was small and even a bit "gothic" decor in the room--but the bathroom was HUGE and the amenities at this little gem are wonderful.

Lots of local restaurants and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnvback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear John
what a great review!
Thank you for consider everything "Perfect".

We are glad you appreciated our hospitality and the service of our Hotel San Anselmo.

Hoping to have you again as our Guest in our “House”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    223
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
84
783
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The San Anselmo is a perfect base for a long weekend in Rome.The location is great - close to the city centre but in a quiet, leafy residential neighbourhood, The size is perfect - with 34 rooms, big enough to offer great facilities but small enough to be intimate. The staff were marvellous, - knowledgeable, capable, helpful, always there for you. There is no restaurant as such - but a spacious and well-appointed breakfast room with an ample buffet, with lunch and drinks also on offer on the terrace, in the library or the garden. The rooms are small but interesting (we were in the Romeo & Juliet room......), and the free wi-fi works fine! Fantastic.

Room Tip: 9 rooms have balconies - ask for one if you are a smoker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-golfer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear John,
what a positive review! Thank you very much, we really appreciate it!!
The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation. This encourage us to do always the best for our clients, anticipated their needs and desires to make their experience in Hotel San Anselmo a memorable stay!

Waiting for your next visit,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at San Anselmo. The hotel is in a beautiful quite area of the city you can hear birds singing, but still only a 15 minute walk from the Colleseum. Great breakfast as mentioned and the bar prices were also very reasonable. Staff very helpful. We slept so well and arived home incredibly relaxed. We love Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouH555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest
thank you very much for your positive review!
It's a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you consider it a relaxing place where you can stay!
It's also great to know you appreciate our services and our location.

Hope to see you in the next future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I picked the San Anselmo based on previous reviews, and I wasn't disappointed. After emailing the hotel, I was offered the Mille Baci room which was a romantic delight and which my girlfriend absolutely adored. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent (so many options) and it was situated far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Rome, yet close enough to explore Rome on foot. The Colosseum is 15-20 minutes walk from the San Anselmo and all other attractions are within walking distance. It really is a lovely hotel, with a lovely, warm ambience and comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: You won't go far wrong with the Mille Baci for romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such wonderful reviews! The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation.
This encourage us to do always the best for our clients, anticipated their needs and desires to make their experience in Hotel San Anselmo a memorable stay!

We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is very different, tucked away in a suburb, but very near to the attractions it is a one off. Decor and ambiance can't be beaten. Staff very attentive and helpful. Great continental breakfast that will get you through most of the day. The gardens are a treat, having breakfast under the Orange trees is a pretty one off experience. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Not cheap, but it is Rome.

Room Tip: They are all pretty unique and decorated individually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your generous feedback about our property on the Aventino hill.!! In the Hotel San Anselmo you can easily feel the right atmosphere, surrounded by antique furniture, golden chandeliers and historical pictures of ancient Rome...moreover it is located in a very special and peaceful area but so close to the main archeological attractions.
I am glad you enjoyed our delicious breakfast, the best way to start the new day..!!!
we really hope to see you again for another pleasant trip in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our first stop on our 10 day trip to Italy and we could not have been more pleased with the Hotel San Anselmo! Our room was spacious, the tub and shower delightful, and the balcony a real treat!
The staff were very helpful, especially when we had a problem with our credit card and they let us use the hotel phone to make the call, which lasted over an hour. it was late in the evening but they were very gracious and happy that all was resolved. They are also great at making recommendations for restaurants in the area.
We always felt very safe in this quiet neighborhood since we were always walking everywhere.

The breakfast room is delightful and the food was very good. There was a large selection of pastries, eggs and even meats and the waiters were helpful. The garden was so nice and the tress and flowers smelled wonderful. It is a great place to sit with a cup of tea or coffee.
If you want to stay in Rome but be in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood this is the hotel for you. We would definitely recommend it and hope to get back there some day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Diane,
thank you for choosing the Hotel San Anselmo for your roman holiday..!!
I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm and genuine service.
I am so proud that our entire team was successful in achieving ythis with you.!!
We remain at your service for another memorable roman experience..!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you are traveling with your significant other this is a great place to stay. The hotel itself is small and beautiful, the decoration is very unique and each rooms has a theme. We stayed at one of the regular bedrooms but there wasn't anything regular at all as it was excellent! The room size isn't much but for a couple this was not problem at all. The bathroom is very clean and well designed and the shower is great as it delivers very hot water with lots of pressure.

The breakfast is also excellent as it offers a variety of juices, fruits, chesses, meats, breads and pastries. It also includes eggs (scrambled and boiled), bacon, and very good coffee. The hotel has a patio around the back and it is filled with beautiful threes and tables to sit and have some coffee or wine and enjoy the morning or evening.

The hotel offers free Wi-Fi but we were unable to connect to it from our room on the third floor. However, the Wi-Fi worked perfectly on the main floor outside in the garden or in the beautiful library room next to the small but charming bar.

The service was incredible. Every person from the staff we met while at this hotel was very courteous and charming. One night we came to the hotel very tired and very late after walking around Rome for hours and the person working in the reception area did not hesitate to make us an excellent cappuccino when we asked if there was coffee around.

They also helped us print our boarding passes for our Ryan Air flight to Spain the next day as this airline will charge you quite a few Euros if you don't show up with printed boarding passes. Also, every morning we were the last people to show up for breakfast and all of the food and drinks where available to us until we left the dinning area, even it was a bit late.

The hotel is within walking distance of everything you want to see in Rome. If you don't mind walking you'll never need a bus or train but make sure you wear comfortable shoes! My wife and I walked from the hotel to the Coliseum (15 minutes), to the Fountain Trevi (25 minutes), Spanish steps (around 30 minutes) and even to the Vatican which took us about an hour which we enjoyed walking very much. There is a taxi station, train stop and buses available just down the hill from the hotel if walking is not your thing and it is all less than minutes away from the hotel.

The location felt very safe as well, my wife returned to the hotel walking every night after 12AM and we felt safe and saw other couples and groups walking around as well.

In summary, this is the perfect hotel while in Rome for couples that want to explore the city on foot and have some quiet and relaxation while in it. This will be our hotel of choice every time we travel to Rome from now on.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and our room was excellent. Might need to stay at a lower floor room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricardodsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your generous feedback about our Hotel San Anselmo.!!
We are so glad you had a fantastic stay with us and your words fill us with pride and happiness...and encourage us to do always the best for our affectionate and precious guests.!!
Hoping to see you very soon in our property for another pleasant trip in the eternal city.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#91 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#28 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#49 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing