We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place.”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #40 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one week. Loved every minute. Great Staff. Rooms are updated. Great AC. Breakfast was outstanding. Right in the center of everything you want to see in Roma.

Spent a month in Europe, this Hotel was best of trip, and a can not miss.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Whyme76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your positive feedback about our hotel and the staff. We are also happy that you had a wonderful stay.

Wish you happy summer and look forward to welcome you again at our HOTEL S.ANSELMO

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    226
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
89
807
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after our med cruise. The staff was awesome. A very quaint Boutique Hotel. I would recommend this to couples. It is in a neighborhood that is very quiet. Great location. The staff greeted us with fruit punch. Very nice first impression. They have a great seating area on the front where you could sit and enjoy coffee or a glass of wine. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: We had a very small room but very comfortable. We were traveling with two other couples and their r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for the positive review.

We are glad to know you had a lovely break in our lovely Hotel and we are happy to know you have very fond memories.

We really look forward to see you on your next occasion.

Wish you happy holiday season

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked here for our 25th wedding anniversary trip. Excellent hotel in quiet and beautiful area of Aventino. 10 minute walk to Circus Maximus and metro. The Courtyard Garden at Hotel is wonderful. After a long day exploring the city to sit out there with a bottle of wine was just great. Staff were very helpful and friendly also. We booked a year in advance so got a great rate, suggest you do if can. Breakfast very good also. We couldn't fault it really. Some nice local cuisine restaurants close by too. Beautiful hotel in beautiful City.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Andy,

Thanks for taking time to write such a positive review about our hotel. It’s always a pleasure read nice things about our the staff and appreciate about the hotel rooms and location.

We wish you a very pleasant holiday season and looking forward to your next visit !!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

After traveling all day from the U.S. we were shocked to find Hotel San Anselmo lost our reservation.

We even provided the hotel with a screenshot of our reservation and confirmation number.

To top it off, the guy at the front desk was a total jerk. Knowing that we were desperate, he tried to book us a room at a local hostel for an amount that was 50% more than what Trip Advisor stated at the time.

After feeling stranded, alone and coming to terms with the very real possibility of sleeping on the train station floor, we luckily found an available hotel nearby. What a NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear John,
unfortunately we must contradict you as we didn’t lose your reservation because we never received it.
As a matter of fact you showed your tentative booking which of course is with no reservation number as not confirmed.
It would have been a pleasure to accommodate you without a confirmed booking but, unfortunately our hotels were fully booked and the concierge, after your request, suggested a nearby hotel. He simply called and indicated you the price proposed with no responsibility at all about the value of the room proposed because he takes no control or decision about the price indicated by other hotels.
Of course it was your decision to accept it or not.
Strange, that at the desk you realized your error and you also enjoyed the drinks at the bar offered by the sympathetic concierge and free internet access which usually is reserved for our guests only.
We really think is not fair that you consider us responsible for your nightmare and I’m sure you would have had a perfect and relaxing time in our hotel if you simply completed your reservation.

Anyhow we wish you a pleasant stay in the eternal city of Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

this hotel is perfect, its in a great location just 10-15 mins walk to the Coliseum in a lovely quite neighbourhood. The staff were great you would ask and they would go out of their way to please. The rooms, Well what can I say they were excellent clean tidy and up to a very high standard with Jacuzzi bath and shower, clean towels every day and the breakfast was great, also if you were in the hotel between 4pm - 6pm they served you with tea and cake.
If you want a great place to stay in Rome then go to this hotel. I highly recommend it.

Jeff & Amanda

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Jeff & Amanda,
We appreciated you share your experience with us in our romantic city of Rome…
The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation and we really hope you wish to come back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This is a little oasis. Tucked away in a very nice and quiet neighborhood only 10-15 min walk from the Coliseum, etc. The staff is extremely helpful and very polite and professional. The Hotel is small and very relaxing. The rooms are very nice and the eating area outside in the back is wonderful. You have your own private garden. Very peaceful. Highly recommend Hotel San Anselmo.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear David,
Thank you for sharing your emotion.
This encourage us to do always the best for our clients.
We are glad you had a great and unforgettable experience with us.

Waiting for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay for our honeymoon, great quiet location in good walking distance of major attractions.

Stayed in room 833 (Manhattan & Bramante) - good sized, spacious balcony and bathroom (bath, shower, jacuzzi) with a great view.

If your looking for a boutique hotel in Rome, then this is it.

Highly recommended

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you for your positive comment.
We are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and we really appreciate you shared your satisfaction with the tripadvisor community
It was really a pleasure for me and the staff to take care of you during your honeymoon and we hope you will have good memories!

Hope to host you again in the next future
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#85 of 1,264 in Rome
1,390 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#61 of 1,264 in Rome
961 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,264 in Rome
607 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing