We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Hotel in Quiet but Accessible Area”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #43 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenage boys) stayed here for two nights in early August. Good hotel with modern common areas - was particularly nice to have breakfast in the garden and crash out in the lounge area at the front of the hotel after sightseeing all day. Rooms not large but good size bathrooms and excellent showers. Good buffet with lots of fresh fruit and pastries and hot chocolate! We particularly enjoyed being in such a leafy and quiet area after the noise, heat and crowds of Rome even though it is only a 10 min walk (past a little bar in the local park) to the tube and from there only two stops to the Coloseum. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Try and eat in the area too - plenty of good neighbourhood restaurants off Via Marmorata

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PerryI_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

In global the hotel is clean, the breakfast is great, the garden is good too.
However it is extremely small, i couldn't even open my luggage in the room. The staff isn't that friendly as well. I had to go down to the basement of the hotel to get my shirt ironed myself. I can't say i had that experience in any other 4 stars hotel!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, but a good garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dmelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sir,
I am disappointed to read you were not happy with the size of your room. In fact you were assigned one of the smallest rooms because of late reservation. It is important to book in advance to get the best rooms available.
The hotel has an external laundry service which you could have used to iron your shirt with a delivery within the day, but probably you have preferred to do it by yourself and unfortunately our ironing room is located in the basement.
Anyhow we are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced and we hope to welcome you in the eternal City of Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great place to stay, in an upscale, quiet neighborhood. We walked to the metro and which made it easy to go wherever we wanted. Wi Fi worked great in the rooms, nice breakfast and staff was kind and helplful! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ropna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear guest,
we are very glad to know that you felt in love with our hotel! We would like to thank you for suggesting our property to other travellers and for your nice description!
We really hope you could come back to visit us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I traveled to Italy for our wedding and stayed at San Anselmo. The hotel is gorgeous, quaint and quiet. It was so nice to be able to escape from the throngs of people and tourists during the day this hotel at night. The breakfast in the morning was great. The room was clean, large compared to other hotels we have stayed in in Italy, and tastefully decorated. We would return again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Lindsey,
we are very glad o learn that you chose our boutique hotel for your wedding! San Anselmo hotel is indeed very romantic and perfect to celebrate such important events! Thank you also for your positive comments about the property and the service.
Looking forward to pamper you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My second stay at this fabulous boutique hotel. I never even considered a stay at a different hotel in Rome.
I've read through some other reviews and noticed some comments from people who have obviously not done their homework. If you want to be in the maddening crowds of Rome do not stay here. If you want to feel like a Roman citizen and not feel like a tourist ~ stay here. Hotel San Anselmo is not far from city center but you will need a cab - 10/12euros. A walk to the Forum and Palantine Hill is a 20/30 min."stroll" ~ all down hill. There are no bus or metro stops nearby - because this hotel is located in a beautiful residential area... away from the tourists.
My favorite aspect of the hotel is the front courtyard. Returning to this spot every day and enjoying the fine service and fabulous drinks ~ not to mention the complimentary snacks... La Dolce Vita...
Hotel is beautiful - inside and out. Service is fantastic - same faces as our previous visit 3 yrs ago.
Bottom line ~ I wouldn't stay any where else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank people2people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear guest,
it is a real pleasure to read about your sincere and great review! We are very glad you chose the San Anselmo hotel once again for your roman stay and thank you for suggesting our property to the Trip Advisor community!
We are all waiting for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This was the third hotel my wife and I stayed at for out Italy honeymoon and it didn't disappoint. A quick summary:

1)Book early and the rates are extremely good
2)This hotel is located in a ritzy suburb of Rome, not a tourist district. So prepare to be snobbed by everyone and not take it to heart.
3) there are some great traditional roman restaurants nearby but once again several of them are not tourist friendly.
4) the staff are amazing and give good advice and nothing is too much for them to help you
5) breakfast is great
6) perfect location if you want to feel pampered and and get some peace and quiet

Hope that helps

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaisasosai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review as repeated guest! We are all very amused by your original summary!
We are eager to pamper you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent 4 nights here on our honeymoon and were very happy. The staff were very helpful and attentive without being overbearing, and we appreciated the little touches like the staff remembering which room we were in when we went for breakfast. The concierge that was at the main reception desk during the afternoon/evening was particularly polite, helpful and welcoming. Our room was clean, a reasonable size for Rome, and well stocked. The hotel really make an effort, with nice little touches like a weather forecast for the following day delivered to your room. The mattress was rather firm, which some will not like, but in our experience Italy seems to favour firm mattresses in hotels. Breakfast was really good, particularly the (Italian) bacon and eggs, and we really enjoyed having breakfast in the garden each day. Location is good for walking to central Rome if you like to walk, but there are public transport options also. We had dinner in the local area (Testaccio) most nights and there are a lot of good, authentic, food options there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MartinSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for your very nice and good description of our hotel! Our staff is indeed very professional and we all work very hard to give a memorable stay to everyone!
We hope you could enjoy again our attentive service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#62 of 1,269 in Rome
971 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#78 of 1,269 in Rome
1,416 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,269 in Rome
2,763 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,269 in Rome
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £77 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing