We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #49 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

We went here for a major birthday celebration and we were more than happy with every aspect. The decor of the hotel is just stunning. Our room was delightful, with hand-painted frescoes; the lounge, dining room and halls ways are sumptuous. The atmosphere therefore is great.
It's situated in a lovely quiet bit of Rome, surrounded by ancient cathedrals, houses and orange groves. It takes about 20 minutes to walk into the centre, but that was a lovely walk, and also nice to be away from the traffic noise etc.
Breakfasts were delicious. Highly recommended

  • Liked — The interior decor
  • Disliked — Reception didn't always smile
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    220
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
83
776
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night break to the city. I booked the hotel after seeing the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. It was just beautiful, quiet but only 15 minute walk to the Colloseum. The staff were incredibly helpful and wouldnt hesistate to recommend. When we go back to Rome, it has to be there.

  • Liked — Each room was different but all beautifully decorated
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edinburghduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

We have stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday and it couldn’t be better! The hotel is beautiful! The rooms are lovely, very romantic, and well designed. Breakfast was very good either.
The hotel is located in a beautiful neighborhood, 20 minutes walk from the coliseum.
5 minutes walking north east from the hotel you can find a nice garden with a stunning view on the city. Don’t miss it!
We think that the location, which is a bit far from the center, is an advantage. It is far from the crowded city in a quiet and lovely neighborhood.
The hotel is rated 4 stars and it feels like 5!

  • Liked — Romantic rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linTel_Aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2008

We stayed at San Anselmo to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary. The reason I say that first off is if we didn't find the hill to the hotel overly daunting then I am sure most able bodied folk won't either, so I hope it doesn't put people off.
We stayed 6 days and got home yesterday. I wanted to post right away to say we found all the positive comments from previous reviewers to be completely accurate.
An individual styled, quiet hotel, with a comfortable genteel feel about it; and yet also modern and bright ambience.
Breakfasts are substantial, fresh and delicious. The staff was consistently helpful, pleasant, and efficient. I really can't see here where the aloof description from some reviewers is accurate; perhaps a cultural expectation or a language difference? I can only say we didnt find them anything other than as said above.
The restaurants in Testaccio are local, excellent and reasonably priced. They are not tourist restaurants, we found them to be full of locals, but you are welcomed (we dont speak any Italian) and if you like experiencing what a place is really like give it a try.
The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the Colliseum and 15 minutes or so from Trastevere.
The area is quiet, and beautiful and a nice walk over the hill gets you to Circus Maximus.
We had the welcome sparkly wine, the chocs every night, towels are changed twice daily. Really, we can do nothing other than recommend this hotel.
We took taxis a couple of times from hotel, all had meter on and were never ripped off as some have found. An example, it cost us 10 euros 20 cents to St Peter Basilica but it depends on traffic I suppose. Great city, great hotel.

  • Liked — The amazing decor
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fifer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

This hotel was truly the highlight of our experience in Rome! Totally romantic room and a fantastic bar/lobby great for hanging out late night to have a few drinks.

The hotel is at the top of a hill and a walk from the "action" of Rome, but this provided a welcome respite for hectic hustle and bustle of the city.

This is one of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed in-and we have been to many all over the world. Book your trip today!

  • Liked — Fabulous rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing-everything was great
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amariecincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

I was really really excited about the Hotel San Anselmo when we booked it after seeing all of the rave reviews here, and I do understand why people love it so much. It's a beautiful space with friendly staff and a really laid-back though classy atmosphere and a nice breakfast.

That being said, it was our first time in Rome and I thought that for first-time visitors this hotel was a bit too out of the way. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the closest metro station (Circo Massimo) and if you want to walk any place significant from the hotel door, it's at least 20-30 minutes. I should also add that the Hotel San Anselmo is at the top of a rather large hill as well- it was always a bit of a trial getting home after a packed day out.

Also, the hotel is in a very quiet residential neighbourhood - which is good for the tranquillity factor, but makes finding a decent place to eat nearby a bit of a trial, especially as the hotel has no restaurant of it's own. Definitely ask for the restaurant map from front desk! (my tip would be to blunder down to L'Insalata Ricca, for a decent cheap and cheerful roman meal - see http://www.linsalataricca.it/)

We had room #834 which was one of the superior rooms, which we specifically booked with a balcony, hoping that we could use it to sit outside - unfortunately we had a balcony but there were no chairs or tables out there - only a tiny bit of standing space and a high hedge keeping us from looking over the neighbourhood. Oh well. In it's favour room #834 has an amazing roll-top bath to luxuriate in, which I took advantage of after all of that walking!

  • Liked — beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — inconvinient location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izabel_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

This is a stunning hotel. We stayed there for 4 days as part of our honeymoon. It was great. Here's why we liked it:
- Free champers and nuts on arrival (we told them it was our honeymoon). Much apreciated after train journey from Sperlonga.
- Gorgeous little Baci chocolates on our pillows every night. They are the nicest chocs ever! Stocked up on them at the duty free on way home.
- Stunning room, really romantic decor, cool bathroom, lovely balcony. Think we were upgraded as it was our honeymoon, not all rooms had them.
- Beautiful breakfasts that can be delivered to your room on request.
- Nice little garden.
- Quiet residental
- helpful, professional staff.

The only potential negative is that it is a little bit out of the way, so if you have walking difficulties, I wouldn´t recommend it.

We love walking so it didn´t bother us. Also, its not bang in the centre of town, however, the positive of this is that there are some nice and very reasonably priced restaurants nearby. You ccan really get ripped off in the centre. Take an up to date rough guide for restaurant recommendations.

Overall, fantastic hotel, great value, but no good if you are not a walker.

Helpful?
4 Thank lispab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#61 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#60 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing