We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #49 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

We just spent 3 nights in this great hotel in Rome.
Situated uphill in a beautiful neighbourhood consisting mainly of Foreign Embassy's, only 15-20 minutes walk to the Trastevere area for excellent dining and about the same distance to the Colosseum.
Stylish rooms and common areas and lovely gardens, excellent breakfast served in the garden or dining area.
Most of the staff are are very nice, some of the reception staff are a little cold but everything else is so good it's a small negative in a very big positive.
Highly recommended in every aspect with only one exception being if you are unfit the walk back from the city centre may prove to be a bit of an obsticle.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    220
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
83
776
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our honeymoon. The staff speaks english well and is helpful when you need it. The rooms are very clean and modern, but still have a roman feel to them. We had a large room with a deck. The shower was awesome! It is within walking distance to the Metro, the Roman Forum, and the Coliseum. The hotel restaurant is also very good and the staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pghtraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We arrived early and weren't able to check-in prior to the normal time, but they were able to hold our bags, which was nice. The front desk person was not very personable and referred us to a horrible tour company-Carrani Tours. The tour was the worst part of our trip to Rome. The sitting area off of our room and in front of the hotel was our favorite part of the hotel, although the jacuzzi tub was also nice. We had to walk a good 10-15 minutes just to get to the nearest metro. It was well decorated and had a romantic atmosphere, with a touch of elegance.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MackenziesOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

This hotel is quite possibly the best in Rome. Each room differs in theme/design (different decor, paint color, furnishings, linens etc.). We stayed in the "Manhattan e Bramante" room, and it was gorgeous. The bed was comfortable. It was air conditioned. Our bathroom had all the amenities--even a whirlpool bath. We had a balcony. We never wanted to leave! Close to the colosseum and every historical site. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank le_pseudonyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

After going back and forth from review to review on several sites we settled on Hotel S. Anslemo and we weren't disappointed. We were looking for a place to stay before and after a cruise out of Civitavechia that was close enough to attractions without the noise of the city and this was perfect. Our rooms were lovely. The first night we had a smaller room with a king bed and a large bathroom. On our return they "upgraded" us to a much larger room with a lavish bathroom. We felt like we were staying in a private villa. The nearest metro station is Pyramide. I would recommend taking a cab to the hotel though from the station as it's on a hill and with heavy luggage I would be a hike. The streets are one way but the local cab drivers know their way around and we were treated in a very fair manner by them. Taxi drivers from Termini might not and we were ripped off a bit (a common theme in tourist destinations.) The breakfast and private garden are a wonderful way to start the day. We dined in the sister hotel for dinner mainly as we were very tired. The food was good although the menu limited. They too have a nice garden dining area that was quiet and romantic. We found all staff memebers to be friendly and helpful. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devgarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Our family stayed at this wonderful hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is a beautiful, small hotel in the quiet, upscale neighborhood on Aventine hill. It feels like a Villa that has been converted to a hotel. There is a beautiful garden courtyard where you can eat breakfast or have a glass of wine at night. The rooms are elegant and so comfortable (reminded me of the rooms in the Mark Hopkins Hotel in San Francisco). The staff provides fantastic service, and because it is a small intimate hotel, you interact with the same staff everyday. Breakfast is excellent -- fruit, meats, bread, croissants, cheese, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, cereal. It is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in!

Accessibility: It is convenient to everything, if you are fit for walking, and a nice quiet retreat from the heart of the city. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum, and about a 10 minute walk to bus and metro stops. There is a neighborhood about 10 minutes away with good restaurants and shops for takeout food.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

I can not say enough good things about this hotel! We had a beautiful room with a chandelier and jucuzzi jet tub. With all the walking we did in Rome, I soaked in the tub more than once daily and it was very relaxing and helped save my feet. The staff was very helpful and we would not have had such a problem-free vacation if it wasn't for the staff providing all the information we needed to have the greatest trip. We arrived with complimentary champagne and strawberries in the room which was great after such a long flight. Every day they left us chocolates complimentary as well. I loved the quiet and romantic location of this hotel and their garden is lovely. Some days we had the breakfast sent up to us (complimentary) and other days we ate in the garden. The breakfast is delicious! The salmon, cheeses and cappuchino was my favorite. The one downside is that it is a lot of walking to get to most of the attractions in Rome but once you get the hang of the public transportation in Rome it isn't as big of an issue. It is a bit pricey but if you aren't on a tight budget I think this hotel was worth every cent. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherbearz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#60 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing