We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”
Review of Hotel Tre Stelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tre Stelle
Ranked #1,155 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend just came back from staying at this hotel a few days ago and in concordance with many other reviews written - this hotel is very basic.

The double room had all the basic amenities, but if you want to stay somewhere luxurious, highly clean, or greatly relaxing then don't choose this hotel. Unlike other negative reviews, our room did have hot water, our bed wasn't two singles pushed together, and was relatively clean and well maintained. The TV only had about 3 working channels (all in Italian), so that was pretty much a write-off for us, though the air conditioning system worked a treat. The room doesn't have internet, or a phone (you can ask to use the one at reception, which was no problem as I did that).

I didn't have a problem with the service generally, they seemed happy to help whenever I had a request, so no real complaints there. One thing we didn't do was eat breakfast there at all (normally 7.00 - 9.30), so can't really comment on it, as there were other places around that we wanted to go to and didn't fit in our schedule.

The hotel is located about a 5-minute walk down the road from the local Termini train station, which is ideal for getting around Rome, as the tickets are so cheap, about 1.50 euro each for one trip (cheap compared to fares in England anyway). Another perk is that the restaurant Mamma Angela's is located literally a minute walk away (find it on TripAdvisor), and we ended up eating there all 4 nights for dinner whilst we were there, simply because it was so good and convenient for our location after a long day exploring. You definitely wouldn't be disappointed with this restaurant, I would recommend you go there at least once!

All in all, if your trip mainly consists of being out and about all day, whilst simply just needing a cheap room to put your stuff and sleep in, wanting good transport links, and not being too expectant of standards that high as a hotel itself, then you should consider staying here. If you're intending to stay in a hotel for more than 12 hours a day, then choose a different place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here with friends whilst we were in Rome. Its situated in a convenient location for central Rome and the train station. The rooms were very basic but clean. The breakfast wasnt very good - no choice given. The waitress was miserable and customer service was not good. The worst part of the stay was the transfer service back to the airport. The taxi was late and the driver didn't know his way around Rome and got lost. We were late to the airport and had to rush to get our flight. I would recommend this hotel only if you want very basic accomodation but dont bother booking the transfers to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Although this is a really basic hotel the location makes up for that. It is right in the hub of all sights. It was very clean. The breakfast was continental with good coffee. For how long you are in the rooms when you visit Rome this is a very good hotel just to wash, sleep and have breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Myself and my other half stayed here in February 2013 for a weekend, we arrived at the hotel at around 11 the walk from the train station was easy. The hotel staff allowed us to check in right away which was good as we wanted to get out and see Rome as quick as possible. As we were shown to our room we were told the lift wasn't working, our room was at the top of the building (a lot of stairs). Once in the room we found it to be very basic (price reflecting) it was clean, which was the main thing. The shower was a bit temperamental with its heats. If you sit on the toilet you have a sink in your face. The double bed was just two singles pushed together, you do end up slipping down the middle. The hotel is very noisy and although by the time we got to bed at the end of our first day we had been up for 19 hours we had trouble sleeping. The room gets very cold overnight. Breakfast in the morning consisted of a cup of tea, coffee or juice and a croissant and some sort of stale mini toast again expected for the price and was actually very nice. The staff were helpful when it came to asking about busses and expected taxi prices. We only used the hotel as a place to sleep and store our stuff but if you plan on staying in the hotel a bit longer than needed this isn't the place for you. Once we checked out we asked if we could store our stuff there for the day as we didn't need to catch our train till 6PM. We set our bags down and went off for the day, when we returned the bags were still on the floor in reception which I wasn't happy about at all. We will return to Rome but not to this hotel, friends of ours who we were travelling with stayed at the Best Western Villa France around the corner, it wasn't too much more price wise but the quality was much better. When we return to Rome we would more than likely stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimilowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Hotel tre stelle is only a 5 minute walk from then train station and bus terminal. They will get you around the whole of Roma. Our start to this hotel was horrible. We checked in and she gave us a room number. Wen we finally got up to our room, she had given us someone else's room key which were actually staying in the hotel at the time. So be careful, lock your belongings away as you never know. When we got into our room. As a couple and booking a double bed we got two single beds pushed together. The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast, croissant and coffee. Which wasn't to bad as they made the coffee fresh. Everyday was different type of croissant which were fresh. The bathroom was okay in size however don't expect hot water. We got up at 7am and it had already run out. We even tried having showers at 10pm and still nothing. Between the two of us which was 7 nights we had a total of 3 showers.

I would recommend looking at different alternative in accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just returned yesterday from the Tre Stelle. The good points were that it is in a cracking location just 2 mins from a subway and 5 mins from the main train and bus terminal. The staff were friendly (ish).
Other than that, it was extremely poor. We knew that it was a budget hotel but it did have 3 stars (!) The room was tiny with a view of..... a wall. No coffee facilities in the room at all, a toilet and a tiny shower. The bed linen was dirty. We stayed 4 nights and each day we came back our pillow numbers changed and sometimes there was a bedspread on, sometimes just a sheet. Interesting..... The breakfast was no choice. you were served two bread rolls and jam, two sugar cakes and a cup of coffee and that was it. There were only 7 tables so we had to wait 20 minutes each morning just for a table to become free.
I have been all over the world and this was just poor service, and a very poor overall hotel. Spend a little more and get a better hotel, you'll appreciate it.
Just a quick note on Rome. I was here 14 years ago, nothing has changed. It is dirty, huge masses of tourists with no organisation and the city was just vandalised and clearly its citizens do not care. It was a bit like London twenty years ago, but every other city has cleaned its act up.....except Rome. Go elsewhere and visit rome on the internet, you'll appreciate it more!
(Mind you the pasta was nice!)

Room Tip: just dont!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatRUby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend staying here. We could hear people in neighbouring rooms using shower it sounded like it was in our bathroom! Also hot water ran out by 7.30am! Plus not the cleanest of bedroom floors. at least air conditioning worked!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissiechoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#674 of 1,272 in Rome
144 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#964 of 1,272 in Rome
353 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#773 of 1,272 in Rome
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#354 of 1,272 in Rome
440 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,091 of 1,272 in Rome
61 reviews
Meeting Hotel
#584 of 1,272 in Rome
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tre Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tre Stelle

Address: Via San Martino della Battaglia 11, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,155 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £21 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tre Stelle 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tre Stelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Stelle Hotel
Tre Stelle Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing