We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable value for money in a great location”
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grifo
Ranked #131 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for a special birthday break. Even before we arrived had a great opinion of the hotel due to excellent customer service when making arrangements in advance - bottle of prosecco in room, restaurant reservations etc. Rosa is a real credit to this hotel, as are all the other staff. If you are waiting in reception the staff will always chat, asking about your plans for the day, eager to give you tips and recommendations. Our room was larger than we expected but had asked for best available room and delighted this request was accommodated. Room is basic and a little dated but spotlessly clean, comfy bed and decent shower. People who criticise this hotel really need to increase their budget! Breakfast is nothing special but it fills a hole. If you want something else there are plenty of places near the hotel where you can go out for breakfast. Loved the location - fantastic restaurants within a minute or two walk and a nice deli in the next street for wine and snacks. Highly recommend for anyone on a budget, we loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel was right in the heart of Rome. Walking distance to everything. 7 mins to the Colosseum and Forum. 10 minutes to the Trevi Fountain, 10 minutes to Termini Station. perfect location for anyone wishing to stay in Rome. Perfect hosts, and if you wanted a cup of tea late at night, nothing was too much for them. the rooms were very clean and met our requirements. Wifi was great. The area had well lit streets, lots of little restaurants and felt safe day and night. Alessandro Angelo Fathi Jalel Louiegi Rosa and Angela were extremely well informed, gave great local information and tips. Wish we could have stayed much longer! Highly recommend this place. Will stay here again in future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a typical small European hotel. Good location near the center of the old city, only ~10 minutes walk from the Colosseum. Plenty and a variety of dining options within a few blocks, as well.

The rooms and the bathroom/shower stall are quite small, but in line with what one can expect in a hotel of this class in Rome, Paris, or London. Though, our room could use some fixing-up... some of the walls and the only chair in the room were substantially stained.

The included breakfast was good, and staff was always friendly. Night staff doesn't speak much (or almost any) English, but those at the front desk during the day were very helpful with various suggestions, and even made for us a reservation that was needed to visit a picture gallery.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slava L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just returned from our very enjoyable four night break in Rome staying at the Hotel Griffo. On arrival we were greeted by Rosa who was extremely helpful and friendly and gave us excellent guidance where to visit and best ways to get there. All the rest of the staff were also very helpful and friendly including the proprietor who could speak some 6 languages and we were able to converse with him fluently in English & Polish. Hotel is very centrally located and the Colliseum,
Trevi Fountain & Pantheon are about 10 to 15 mins walk. Our room No27 was of a good size with a comfortable bed and a good shower although we missed a small wardrobe for our shirts socks etc. The room could do with an update. Overall the hotel was excellent value for money at 49 Euros per night and we would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Study Internet photos & discuss requierments with hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piotr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel's location was great. Staff spoke great English and was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Area around the hotel was well lit: I felt safe walking with my kids in the evening. Room was small but well kept and clean. Beds were good: we all slept well. Hotel has wifi which worked well in our room. Price was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hotel is located not far from the Cavour metro station about a 5-10 min walk. The front desk staff is nice and very helpful. Room are small at, but nicely keep. For what they are used for, just to sleep they are good and comfortable. Breakfast is descent but can be better. Meats, cheese and bread, cereal. Juice coffee and hot chocolate. Good for the price.

You can walk to Via Nazionale to catch the 40 Express bus that takes you to St. Peters. Fast and easy. Lots of shops and places to eat on Via Nazionale.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is smacked right in the middle of Monti, a really cool and hip neighbourhood. We stayed there for 4 nights and were really satisfied with the location. It's about 5 minutes from Cavour metro, the shops are cool and hip, there's a supermarket down the street, good restaurants are everywhere and there's a cool little piazza to chill in the evening.

Alessandro (spelling?) was really great in giving us tips on what to do and where to go, and about the culture and the neighbourhood. He was very hospitable as well, although he said that Romans don't smile, but he did it all the time. Really nice man. Not just Alessandro, but everyone is helpful and friendly. Awesome!

We stayed at the Annex, which is directly opposite the main door of the hotel. The room is clean and pretty spacious. The windows open out to the street below to people watch. However, please note that there is no lift in the Annex, and the rooms are on the third floor.

Thank you Alessandro and the staff of Hotel Grifo. We will be back :)

Room Tip: Annex building has no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#107 of 1,269 in Rome
672 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,269 in Rome
293 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#220 of 1,269 in Rome
746 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#61 of 1,269 in Rome
732 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#96 of 1,269 in Rome
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing