We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved from Embarrasment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Beethoven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beethoven
Ranked #1,115 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saved from Embarrasment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Beethoven for 3 nights approximately 1 year ago, as our last stop on a cross Europe adventure. First, it was nice and clean and the staff were friendly. The shower was a typical 3 star Europe hotel shower, it was OK. The room was very small and not much space to move around once you add 2 backpacks to the mix. However, the bed was comfortable and clean. Also, the underground made travelling around easy and quick and the buses were plenty.

It was the housekeeping staff that were particularly wonderful. My partner and I washed a select few underclothes in the bathroom sink the night we arrived. It had to be done! We had a large deck and it was very warm, so we layed everything out. We got up early and took off for a full day of exploration in Rome. By days end, the wind picked up and we realized we forgot to collect our clothes off the deck and that they that had probably blown all over, including the court yard below. I was mortified at the thought of my underwear in someones back yard, but that particular housekeeper saved me from embarrassment. We returned to our room and there, all our clothes were neatly folded and laying on our bed. If he or she reads this.....THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: Ask for a spacious room. They have them, I saw one about 2 doors down and it was the same rate accor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    50
    44
    39
    52
See reviews for
32
54
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Hotel is in reasonable location, have to catch bus and train into town. Bacon and eggs for breakfast which is a refreshing change from ham and cheese

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTurner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Ok so the location isn't great, it seems like a dodgy part of town...however our room was great! Wish I had bothered to take photos because it seems our room was the complete opposite of most of the rooms reviewed on here. Our room and bathroom were clean and tidy and we even had a balcony...couldn't fault the room at all, sure it's not 5 star but it's definitely not the worst place we stayed at on our trip through Europe

There is a bus stop next to the intersection closest to the hotel that will take you all the way to the Vatican and it's only about a 10 minute ride, the metro is also close by but they were on strike the day that day...

We only stayed here for one night as we had pre-booked a different hotel in the centre of the city but I didn't really mind this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel during a weeks trip to Rome. Is is in a more or less residential area where ther is nit much to do.
Hotel offers breakfast, thats it. No pleasure staying at the bar. Rooms small. Ours took some physical skills to use the bathroom. Balcony: yes.
It is only 5 -10 minut trip with bus to nearest metro stop. There are also restaurants there. Walking at night back to hotel from metro is possible.

Use this hotel as a moderate sleeping location, as you will in town all day, have dinner in town. The area itself is ok and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We had the unfortunate experience of staying 3 nights at this horrific establishment as part of a tour, after which time I was almost ready to cancel our tour completely and travel independently. The hotel is located in what can only be described as a ghetto with no decent food or shops within a significant distance. The rooms stunk, were cramped and without air conditioning. All day and night you are disturbed by sirens from passing emergency vehicles. To make matters worse the staff are possibly the most unhelpful I've ever experienced, anywhere. The wireless internet system does not work at all and there are no internet cafes within walking distance. We have made alternative arrangements at the end of our tour despite having already paid for a night as part of our tour. I suggest making alternative arrangements if at all possible.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

I recently took a group tour that started at this hotel and believe I have reasonable expectations of European 2 star hotels. I've stayed in all sorts of accommodation and am not too precious.
Now, the suburb is not 'dodgy' as some people have said. It's a normal, working class suburb - not unlike any other around the world. But as a tourist, to have to wait for a bus to get to Cornelia underground, then a tube ride to get anywhere, is wasting time.
The staff seem to be very stupid and most unhelpful. My roommate and I locked our door to find out we could not exit the room in the morning so had to call for help. We were told off by the staff for having the nerve to lock the room! Our safe was broken and my attempts to have staff look at it were fruitless. Asking any assistance of them, like where to find an internet point, is just too much hard work for them.
The carpets were utter filth. My nose was instantly blocked and the stench can only come from carpets that are vacuumed twice in ten years. It was unbelievably gross. Terrible for those with allergies.
Tour groups take this ^%*pshack because it takes large numbers, but I would avoid it at all costs.
When in Roma (or anywhere in Italy) stay in convents or monasteries. Spotless, premium locations (really!) and cheaper than these gross hotels that would die without group tours.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanaSydney2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed here two nights at the start of my tour - it's so far to get here, almost to the end of one metro line *and then* a bus... Hardly anything around nearby to go and eat (and it's all shut on a Sunday) and the suburb is very dodgy. Hotel rooms are OK, but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molokov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aurora Garden Hotel
#891 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#618 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#874 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,072 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
B & B Trastevere Resort
#989 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#973 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beethoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beethoven

Property: Hotel Beethoven
Address: Via del Forte Braschi 2, 00167 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,115 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beethoven 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated 3-star hotel in Rome is located just few km from the Vatican City. Excellent connections by bus and metro make it easy to reach Rome's historic centre. Hotel Beethoven is also easily reachable from Rome Fiumicino Airport via Termini Central railway station. Not far from the city's ring road and historic via Aurelia, the hotel provides 61 comfortable rooms, equipped with all modern facilities. Some of the rooms have a terrace overlooking the Pineta Sacchetti Park. When your day visiting the city is over, you can relax at the hotel bar or dine at its private restaurant. TV room and private parking are also available. Trionfale is a great choice for travellers interested in ancient landmarks, art and monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beethoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beethoven Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing