We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dharma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dharma Hotel
Ranked #61 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We arrived to the Dharma Hotel late at night and the reception was efficient and we were showed to our rooms with little ado.

What can i say about the hotel! The rooms were spacious, and amazingly thought out. The staff were superb friendly knowledgeable and above out their sole aim is to ensure that the client has the most amazing time ever! From the receptionist, to the cleaner and even the general manager, they all strive to make a stay at the dhama hotel and amazing experience..

The practicalities -

reception is on the 5th floor (for those early reviewers)
Breakfast is held in restaurant on ground floor - basic continental fayre but the staff again make it exemplary!
Location - So central for station, metro and major attractions withing walking distance
Security - great security with a number of safety mechanisms in places (doors and safe etc..)
Cleanliness - outstanding
Rooms - size and decor although quirky was fabulous

One again i reitereate if you get this hotel dont pass it over! a truly wonderful experience !

I will definately be returning!

Room Tip: Pay the additional for the junior or suite cause they are a slice of paradise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear LJF1976,

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your outstanding feedback about Dharma Hotel on TripAdvisor. We do really appreciate your effort. What can we say? Just feel free to come back anytime, we are very happy to meet people in a "think positive" mood like you are.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    303
    48
    3
    3
See reviews for
159
687
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Our adventure opened in Roma.The Dharma was super for us. Our rooms were clean and very comfortable. Our breakfast was yummy. This location was convenient to train station, convenient for walking and the staff was most helpful. We highly recommend the Hotel Dharma. Great location and great staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Don A,

what a pleasure! We are very happy that Dharma gave your trip a good start. Thank you for posting such a good review about our property, we appreciate it.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at the dharma. The location of hotel is great round the corner from termini and piazza republica. It is the "right" side of the station on via torino down the road from the opera house. Room is fine.. We had a standard double.. Had everything you needed and was clean. Agree with reviews that walls are a little thin and think we were lucky to have a back facing room for noise. One thing that was quite strange was that we wanted the heated dry rail on as clothes had got wet but couldnt switch it on and off inside the room. Had to get staff to do it. Hope they read this and change that! Bathroom is great.. Tap design a little over the top but adds to the character. Tea and coffee making facilities and tv with 150 italian channels! Would never complain about that as we were in italy. Breakfast in cotto restaurant down stairs is ok.. Toaster was broken.. But certainly fed us up for day of sightseeing. The staff are very friendly and speak good english. Overall we would go back and would recommend to friends good mix of quality and location.

Helpful?
Thank alexjmrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear alexjmrobertson,

Thank you very much for sharing your candid feedback on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your effort.

Just wanted to reply about the heated rail: this is deactivated during warm season and has got a timer during winter time. Local rules after Kyoto protocol do not allow Hotels in our country to have energy waste. In your case, the timer did not activate your room, and we had to do it manually. Apologies for that.

About Tv: we are upgradind to Sky... On your next visit you will get hundreds international channels + sports + movies.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Tucked away in the busy streets of Rome, this hotel is an absolute paradise. Staying here gives you a great feel of the city. It is located right in the heart of the city within walking distance of the Main train station. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel right at home.

Overall a delightful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magnificiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear magnificiao,

Thank you very much for sharing your extraordinary feedback on TripAdvisor community, we really appreciate your effort. We are very happy that you had a good time at Dharma and that you wanted to recommend our hotel to your friends. Feel free to come back anytime and check our best available rates on our website.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about how wonderful my stay was at this hotel. They arranged for a car to pick me up at the airport and deliver me right to their front door. I was taken to the fifth floor reception area where everything was taken care of for me while I just relaxed. The building is very secure, the entry door on the street has someone there during the day and locks at night you open it with your key. Once on your floor you need a key to gain entry into the room area as well. The room was amazing to say the least ! Marble floors, comfortable bed, an amazing bathroom, and mood lighting over the bed and in the shower that is so fun to play around with. The room was well maintained and so clean, with a very contemporary design. The staff at this hotel went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable and memorable . They not only spent time showing me the best areas to shop and which restaurants to go to ,but also called places to book reservation for dinner and my Segway tour. They offer berakfast downstairs in the restaurant every morning which was more then adequate. They are located right around the corner from the subway stop and I found it very easy to get anywhere I need to go in the city using that. I can't wait to go back to Rome and this hotel will be at the top of my list for places to stay. To the staff of this hotel I want to say, Thank you so much for making my first stay in Rome one I will never forget ! I am looking forward to seeing you on my next trip.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear David F,

thank you very much for sharing your huge experience at Dharma on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your effort. We are very, very happy to know that our "mission" has been accomplished; we do not offer just rooms to sleep, this is not what we do. We put passion and feeling into this job and we are happy when some of our guests will save a good memory of their visit in the Eternal City, thanks to our effort.
I am pretty sure we are going to host you again on your next trip to Rome!

Best Regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

The overall experience was great, but as in most things there is always room for improvement :)

PROS
- Rooms are great. Spacious, with an amazing bed, romantic secret lighting, super shower with steam for extra long hot showers, and windows that open.
- Location is nice, about 15' walk to Spagna.
- Super friendly staff, always eager to assist you with everything you need.
- If you want a large front entrance like in most 4-5 star hotels, you won't find it here. It's like living in a house building, where you open the front door, take the elevator and go to the 5th floor where there is a small front desk and a few boutique rooms. It's different but so nice!
- Coffee in the room was a plus.

CONS (room for improvement)
- The bath had an occasional bad smell. It was not all the time, so we didn't bother so much.
- Bring your own hair-drieyer because the one in the bath doesn't have much hot air.
- It would be good to have some hair conditioner, for those with long hair..
- Breakfast in Cotto downstairs was not that good. If you want variety and scrabbled eggs etc go eat somewhere else your breakfast.
- Tv should have at least 2-3 international channels like CNN because everything is translated and if you dont speak Italian, it's like having no Tv.

Overall a great luxury house with boutique rooms! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear blue7,

thank you very much for taking the care to share your experience at Dharma on TripAdvisor, we appreciate it. Let me check with you all the

- The bath had an occasional bad smell. It was not all the time, so we didn't bother so much.

I am very sorry about that. We went through a very accurate check after your check out to see its origins. It seems it's gone now. Sorry again.

- Bring your own hair-drieyer because the one in the bath doesn't have much hot air.
- It would be good to have some hair conditioner, for those with long hair..

Good idea, posted to the room divisions. Thanks for the tip!

- Breakfast in Cotto downstairs was not that good. If you want variety and scrabbled eggs etc go eat somewhere else your breakfast.

Sorry about that, we are working to improve breakfast too and we frankly accept your point of view.

- Tv should have at least 2-3 international channels like CNN because everything is translated and if you dont speak Italian, it's like having no Tv.

We are upgrading to Sky, with more than 120 international channels... Sorry but it took us a while to solve some tech issues on the roof.

Than you very much for all your helpful tips and see you on your next city-break!

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Hotel Dharma is ideally located for visiting all the important historic sites of central Rome. It is a very well-appointed and comfortable hotel, with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. However, the bathroom in our room (Room 306) could prove to be a major problem for the elderly or less physically able - it could only be entered by swinging open a heavy, full height, hinged partition wall - the designer wash basin was also not very practical - if the flow from the tap was not just right, the water either drenched the user or flooded the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear BazzersTravels,

Thank you very much for your candid feedback about Dharma Hotel, we appreciate your effort.
We are very glad to know that you had good time at our hotel but let me apologize about the bathroom's door design. For the majority it has never been a problem, but as you suggest it might be a threat for some. When we are going to upgrade the hotel with new rooms (end of 2013), we will be considering all these options and suggestions.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#77 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharma Hotel

Property: Dharma Hotel
Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Dharma Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharma Hotel is a Newly decorated, modern Hotel with Rooms & Suites with Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Rain Showers. You can choose from several room types and service from the Official Site of the Dharma Hotel and book the best room and suite for your special time in Rome. If you look for the perfect sightseeing place, you cannot easily beat Dharma Hotel's location, a stone's throw to Termini Central Station (easy links to all Rome airports and cruiseship terminal) and all public transport bus/metro/tram lines. Also, walking distance to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia. The hotel is situated within an ancient building, liberty style, for the lovers of architecture and fine design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dharma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing