We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel, Conveniently Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #60 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel, Conveniently Located”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June, in the triple room on the 3rd floor. This was plenty big enough for me, my husband and 15 year old daughter. The hotel is located within a 15 minute walk from the Termini station, 5 minutes from the Metro stop and just off the Via Nazionale so it's very easy to get everywhere from there.

Communications from the hotel after we had booked were great - they booked us a taxi to collect us from the airport which was well worth doing (E50, same price as 3 train tickets and much more convenient). Lorenzo met us when we checked in - he was extremely helpful and welcoming, showing us how everything worked in our room and also marking Rome highlights on a map and telling us exactly how to get around.

Our room was very modern, clean and comfortable, air conditioned (thank goodness, it was hot!) and equipped with everything we needed and it had a great bathroom (loved the changing colored lights in the shower!) Breakfast was included in our room rate and is available in the restaurant next door, Cotto. It was plentiful and delicious and a good way to start the day. The way the hotel is situated and laid out, it doesn't feel like you are staying in a hotel. It felt more like we were going back to our own bijou apartment in the city, which was fun! There are some good restaurants nearby too.

Don't let the 1 star rating fool you - we would highly recommend it to other visitors to Rome and would definitely stay there again should the opportunity arise. We loved it - thank you, Lorenzo!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Polly S,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your personal experience at Dharma Hotel.
We are amazed by your enthusiasm and trusty feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed our "different" road to hospitality and embraced Dharma Hotel's concept. We will definetely looking forward to welcoming you again over your next trip to Italy.
Feel free to join us anytime

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    323
    51
    6
    4
See reviews for
175
727
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Dharma, in room 503, for 6 nights. We walked from Termini, having arrived there by train after flying in from Paris. We'd received an email that let us know exactly what to look for and expect upon arrival. We were welcomed by Lorenzo who told us what we needed to know about our room and the hotel. He also gave us a map on which he pointed out places to go - main attractions as well as additional places that we would have missed left on our own. He was genuinely hospitable and welcoming and our room was all we had hoped it would be and more. The room was quite large, with a comfortable bed, nice bedding and lighting. We had Keiji toiletries, bath sheets, slippers and an awesome shower. The room was air conditioned, clean, had a safe, and windows that opened. There was a nice selection of meats, breads, fruit, pastries, and drinks for breakfast each day and the hosts/ baristas were consistently courteous and accomodating. We were within walking distance of anything in the center of Rome and even walked to Trastevere. We walked by the Colosseum daily and with 2 close metro stations we had no problem gettting to Vatican City. We've stayed in nice places in other countries (i.e.- 4 star on the Embarcadero in San Francisco) yet couldn't have been more pleased with our first experience in the amazingly, historical city of Rome! Thank you Lorenzo and Hotel Dharma- we'd recommend you to anyone!

Room Tip: We're not sure what the other rooms were like but we were very pleased with the size and layout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMarie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Don S,

thank you for sharing such a genuine enthusiasm about your experience at Dharma Hotel! We are very pleased to read such a lovely review about our small business. You have been very kind to spotlight all the selling points of Dharma Hotel and you could not be more precise and accurate. We will be definetely looking forward to welcoming You again in the future. Feel free to join Dharma Hotel anytime you're in Rome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have never stayed in the same hotel in Rome as I like to try different places on each trip. This one, however, is one I'd come back to.
What I liked about it:
(1) Close to the central train station (an easy 15 minute walk with suitcases)
(2) Close to some good restaurants
(3) Very helpful staff
(4) We had a great room, which was large, modern and very comfortable
(5) The price was very reasonable for Rome in peak season
Another good recommendation from TripAdvisor reviewers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJM_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear H M,

thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Dharma Hotel.
We are very glad you enjoyed your time and you would be back in our hotel.
We love to build relationship with our customers before, during and after their experience.
Feel free to join us anytime you are in Rome,
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I travelled with our 17 year old daughter, staying in one room. We were very impressed with the room which was situated on the 3rd floor, it was spacious, clean and very modern. We stayed for 3 nights and on checking in Lorenzo gave us ideas for our trip and introduced us to the room and all the fittings. We found this very helpful. Shampoo, shower gel and lotions were provided. The air conditioning was a god send as temperatures were in the 30s, the room stayed cool for when we returned. Breakfast was included and we were not disappointed, with a wide range of cold and hot food available including cakes. As we were leaving early on the Saturday they provided a breakfast box which was sufficient. It was only a 20 minute walk to the main attractions and 5 minutes to the metro for The Vatican. Termini was also only a short walk. It was a great stay and we would have no hesitation in returning. Thank you

Room Tip: Street facing was quiet enough, cannot comment on other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Gaynor C,

thank you very much for staying at Dharma Hotel and taking the time to sharoe an excellent and very detailed review that represents your personal experience.
We are glad you enjoyed your roman vacation and our hotel boosted your visit in a positive way.
Feel free to join us anytime you are in Rome,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

4 or 5 stars if you stay in Room 501

3 stars if you stay in a standard room.

We were with another couple and they stayed in Room 501 and we stayed in a standard room on the 3rd floor. Their room was huge and looked awesome. The rest of the review is about our room.

Room was tiny and they had a swing out wall that had a sink and toilet behind it. Not sure what the purpose of this was. Bed took up most of the room and the wood frame was larger than the bed and I clipped my shin a few times.

Shower seemed to not be completely sealed and we got some water on the floor. You need to look out for the hotel sign as we walked right by it and it is on top of the Hotel Le Petit.

The restaurant Cotto was good for dinner and I guess they provide breakfast but we had to leave early so no comment on the breakfast.

Lastly, we had a front desk person named Anzo I believe that helped our party out a lot to the point we gave him a nice tip.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 5th floor; number 501 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLAS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear ATLAS313,

thank You for staying at Dharma Hotel. I am sorry You haven't enjoyed in full your (short) experience in our hotel. As your review title states, "it depends on the room" (and the price) You pay: a Suite with Spa, balcony and all other amenities cannot be compared to the Economy Double Room you have booked and paid for: I totally agree with You.
I think there is no mistery about the size of the Economy Double, not the biggest of the bunch of course, but let me tell You: this is still our short-term guests favourite choice. You can have all the amenities we provide in the other upper category hotel rooms (free wifi, free coffee&tea, breakfast, bath set, beauty products, satellite tv, rain shower with chromotherapy) at a very convenient price.
The Suite with Balcony You mentioned, that was reserved for your friends travelling with you, it was actually a free-upgrade we offered.
We were able to offer only 1 upgrade because of short availability and we thought it was still a good deal to let you have at least one complimentary upgrade to a Suite, having booked a Standard Double Room + Economy Double Room.
Your friends they had a free-upgrade for a value of more than € 150,00 / night. We thought we acted in a good way, sorry we did not encounter your favour or it may have offended You.
Feel free to join us next time, maybe for more than few hours (you arrived late in the evening and left very early, before 8:00am) and I promise You will be able to experience 100% the Dharma Hotel service and charme.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Prior to arrival communications with the hosts were excellent and this continued throughout the stay with recommendations on what to do and where to eat. The room was lovely with everything we wanted. Location was great, close to the Termini station, B line metro (for the Vatican) and buses. We walked everywhere from the hotel. Would recommend this hotel and would stay again. The breakfast downstairs was fine a good selection but mainly cold options but so many places for lunch and dinner a light breakfast was needed! A great find for a modern hotel in Rome!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Kateb07,

thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Dharma Hotel. We happy you had a good time in our city and your hotel choice offered you everything you needed to make it perfect.
Feel free to join us anytime in the future,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Dharma hotel this past May. The staff was great and very friendly all the time. Lorenzo was very helpful and kind to us. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable as well the bathroom. They have one room that is really small (bathroom specially as the shower is disconnected, located by the bed), but if you are in a different room or you don't mind, you should be fine. Lorenzo was very kind in upgrading us, this certainly made a difference in our stay. Breakfast is in a restaurant downstairs, with fruits, breads, pastries, delicious Nutella croissant, good coffee and service. Regarding location is 3-5 minutes from de Republica subway. It's near Termini station as well. If you don't mind walking you can reach Fontana Di Trevi with no problem and maybe get a gelato on the way ;)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LouCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear LouCT

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma Hotel, we appreciate a lot your interest in our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a pleasant time.
Thank you for writing such a good review, looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,233 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,258 in Rome
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#78 of 1,258 in Rome
2,452 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,142 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#94 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharma Hotel is a Newly decorated, modern Hotel with Rooms & Suites with Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Rain Showers. You can choose from several room types and service from the Official Site of the Dharma Hotel and book the best room and suite for your special time in Rome. If you look for the perfect sightseeing place, you cannot easily beat Dharma Hotel's location, a stone's throw to Termini Central Station (easy links to all Rome airports and cruiseship terminal) and all public transport bus/metro/tram lines. Also, walking distance to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia. The hotel is situated within an ancient building, liberty style, for the lovers of architecture and fine design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing