We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special little place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #62 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Special little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rome – this hotel is great. We had three of us staying in the executive family room. Virtually a bed room with two windows that open to the inside courtyard and two wardrobes, it was fantastic. The other room with a sofa was turned into a bed for my mum, this was quite large as well. We met other patrons staying at the hotel some of which complained about not being able to find the floor, the hotel reception is on the 5th floor, however this is clear on the websites as it is in the lobby of the building. Antonio at reception was wonderful and cannot speak highly enough of him and his manners and welcoming attitude. Lorenzo was lovely as well. Note that the security is great in this building and front doors on the ground floor close around 6.30 so you can only get in by key.
Our room additionally had a large shower which doubled as a steam room and a separate toilet off the bathroom. Very big space if I go by the European standards that I have seen. The best part was our little balcony facing the inside courtyard and at times noisy due to the air conditioners running (you soon forget the sound) and for the smokers, most importantly, there was an ashtray on the balcony and two chairs. Fabulous! The hotel can also arrange pick up to and from the airport through a company they deal with and our driver to the hotel – Gino was helpful and very funny. We paid a flat fee of 50eu both ways (it’s dependent on how many people and how many suitcases).
My issue is always having enough power outlets and there was more than enough. We had tea and coffee and a kettle supplied and breakfast was included, you have to go next door to Cotto’s for this. Breakfast had a great variety of foods, including bacon and scrambled eggs, cold meats, vegetables, salad, cereals, cakes and fruit & yoghurt. Juices and coffee etc. One can’t complain about the service from Phillipe.
You have the opportunity to buy online if booking direct, chocolates, flowers etc I ordered chocolates for my husband and flowers for my mum and some champagne. The hotel beautifully set up rose petals in a heart shape on our bed, unexpected but beautiful.
Anyone who stays here must enjoy it. Many restaurants, shops etc nearby.
WiFi works well and is free, you can also ask for Cotto's password and use wifi at Brekky.
It’s a not a cheap place, based on the room we had, but you get what you pay for and we were more than happy.

Room Tip: I would have loved a well being room but it didn't fit three people. Irrespective it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AVMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear AVMAustra,

thank you very much for staying at Dharma Hotel and providing such a wonderful, detailed and warm-hearted review about our hotel. We are very glad we have met your expectations during your long stay in Rome. We are sure your feedback will be very helpful for our future guests to make their choice and book the Dharma for their visit in Rome.
Feel free to join us anytime,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    306
    51
    4
    4
See reviews for
162
701
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best I stayed in Europe on my 15 day trip. The hotel room is amazing and the location is nice!! The best part was the staff, these people really know how take care of their guests!! The hotel is located at a great location with a metro stop 2-3 min away. I would recommend hotel Dharma to all my friends and family! Keep up the good work guys!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rainman0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Rainman08,

we are very glad you were able to find some time to write a review about your stay at Dharma Hotel. We are very happy you can tell your friends and the Tripadvisor community you had such a great stay and experience in our small boutique hotel where, like you said, the customer service is something taken very seriously.
We are looking forward to welcoming you at Dharma again in the future, anytime you are in Rome feel free to consider our hotel your roman home.
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was so fantastic! We loved the the attention to detail and the amnesties , also so close to the train station ( 4 blocks) and walking distance from the Trevi fountain ( 10-15 min) we loved our room and the staff were great! Our breakfast was amazing as well! We are planning a return trip! Great for a romantic getaway too!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Lucy A,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma Hotel. We are very pleased to know your opinion about our hotel and very glad you had such a great time during your visit in Rome.
We are looking forward to hosting you again over your next getaway with friends or partners!
Feel free to inquire directly about our Best Rates!
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed in Dharma Hotel with my family for a week in May in an executive family room. The room was very nice, comfortable with a small balcony overlooking the courtyard and was cleaned to perfection every day. The position of the hotel is very convenient for all travellers’ needs: close to Termini station, metro, busses and walking distance from many sites. Reception staff was all very helpful, spoke English plus other languages and they respond to emails promptly. (A big thank you to Daniela who is very understanding, friendly and kind) The Cotto restaurant next door serves delicious breakfast every day and the service once again is very good. We also had a dinner in this restaurant one night and we were not disappointed. Overall, Dharma Hotel is an excellent choice and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinka29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear tinka29,

thank you very much for sharing your excellent experience at Dharma Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had such a great time in our small boutique hotel and you enjoyed our rooms, staff and service. We are always eager to get feedbacks from our guests and we are very happy when it comes to suggestions with a constructive spirit.

Unfortunately, we must admit we had a few attempts of fraud in the recent past by some unfaithful customers who asked for money in exchange of a good review or, even worse, to buy their "silence".
This is unacceptable.

We will be always sanctioning those behaviours and inform Tripadvisor staff promptly to prevent blackmailers, scammers and fraud experts.

If this does not stop, we will cancel our subscription to Tripadvisor, with big disappointment and a bitter taste.

Mrs tinka29, I thank you very much for your sincere and trusty review. Feel free to join us anytime you are in Rome.
Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June, in the triple room on the 3rd floor. This was plenty big enough for me, my husband and 15 year old daughter. The hotel is located within a 15 minute walk from the Termini station, 5 minutes from the Metro stop and just off the Via Nazionale so it's very easy to get everywhere from there.

Communications from the hotel after we had booked were great - they booked us a taxi to collect us from the airport which was well worth doing (E50, same price as 3 train tickets and much more convenient). Lorenzo met us when we checked in - he was extremely helpful and welcoming, showing us how everything worked in our room and also marking Rome highlights on a map and telling us exactly how to get around.

Our room was very modern, clean and comfortable, air conditioned (thank goodness, it was hot!) and equipped with everything we needed and it had a great bathroom (loved the changing colored lights in the shower!) Breakfast was included in our room rate and is available in the restaurant next door, Cotto. It was plentiful and delicious and a good way to start the day. The way the hotel is situated and laid out, it doesn't feel like you are staying in a hotel. It felt more like we were going back to our own bijou apartment in the city, which was fun! There are some good restaurants nearby too.

Don't let the 1 star rating fool you - we would highly recommend it to other visitors to Rome and would definitely stay there again should the opportunity arise. We loved it - thank you, Lorenzo!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Polly S,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your personal experience at Dharma Hotel.
We are amazed by your enthusiasm and trusty feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed our "different" road to hospitality and embraced Dharma Hotel's concept. We will definetely looking forward to welcoming you again over your next trip to Italy.
Feel free to join us anytime

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Dharma, in room 503, for 6 nights. We walked from Termini, having arrived there by train after flying in from Paris. We'd received an email that let us know exactly what to look for and expect upon arrival. We were welcomed by Lorenzo who told us what we needed to know about our room and the hotel. He also gave us a map on which he pointed out places to go - main attractions as well as additional places that we would have missed left on our own. He was genuinely hospitable and welcoming and our room was all we had hoped it would be and more. The room was quite large, with a comfortable bed, nice bedding and lighting. We had Keiji toiletries, bath sheets, slippers and an awesome shower. The room was air conditioned, clean, had a safe, and windows that opened. There was a nice selection of meats, breads, fruit, pastries, and drinks for breakfast each day and the hosts/ baristas were consistently courteous and accomodating. We were within walking distance of anything in the center of Rome and even walked to Trastevere. We walked by the Colosseum daily and with 2 close metro stations we had no problem gettting to Vatican City. We've stayed in nice places in other countries (i.e.- 4 star on the Embarcadero in San Francisco) yet couldn't have been more pleased with our first experience in the amazingly, historical city of Rome! Thank you Lorenzo and Hotel Dharma- we'd recommend you to anyone!

Room Tip: We're not sure what the other rooms were like but we were very pleased with the size and layout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMarie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Don S,

thank you for sharing such a genuine enthusiasm about your experience at Dharma Hotel! We are very pleased to read such a lovely review about our small business. You have been very kind to spotlight all the selling points of Dharma Hotel and you could not be more precise and accurate. We will be definetely looking forward to welcoming You again in the future. Feel free to join Dharma Hotel anytime you're in Rome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have never stayed in the same hotel in Rome as I like to try different places on each trip. This one, however, is one I'd come back to.
What I liked about it:
(1) Close to the central train station (an easy 15 minute walk with suitcases)
(2) Close to some good restaurants
(3) Very helpful staff
(4) We had a great room, which was large, modern and very comfortable
(5) The price was very reasonable for Rome in peak season
Another good recommendation from TripAdvisor reviewers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJM_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear H M,

thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Dharma Hotel.
We are very glad you enjoyed your time and you would be back in our hotel.
We love to build relationship with our customers before, during and after their experience.
Feel free to join us anytime you are in Rome,
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#82 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharma Hotel is a Newly decorated, modern Hotel with Rooms & Suites with Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Rain Showers. You can choose from several room types and service from the Official Site of the Dharma Hotel and book the best room and suite for your special time in Rome. If you look for the perfect sightseeing place, you cannot easily beat Dharma Hotel's location, a stone's throw to Termini Central Station (easy links to all Rome airports and cruiseship terminal) and all public transport bus/metro/tram lines. Also, walking distance to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia. The hotel is situated within an ancient building, liberty style, for the lovers of architecture and fine design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing