We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my first stay at Dharma, would like to return again in the future”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #70 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I just completed a 6 night stay at the Hotel Dharma and couldn't have been happier. Don't let the 1-star rating fool you; that is not reflective of the quality of service you will receive here. Rather, I've been told that the 1-star rating is due to the hotel not being able to offer breakfast on the premises, although this is remedied by the excellent buffet breakfast next door at Cotto.

First of all, location is excellent. It's close to Via Cavour and Via Nazionale, and just 1 km from the delicious La Romana Gelateria (#3 best restaurant on tripadvisor). Indeed, we walked back from the Vatican and Trasevere to Dharma without difficulty. It's also far enough away from the seedier places near Termini. Hotel Dharma is also not located on a main street, which helps with noise pollution. It's also just a short stroll from the Repubblica Metro stop. Airport access via taxi was very convenient and Dharma also provides a private car service to/from the airport for a very competitive $50 Euros one way (compare to taxis which charge $48 Euros). Taxis are further available to guests at just 5 minutes notice to the front desk on the 5th floor.

Second, the people. From Lorenzo (who was so happy to provide me with a map of nasoni locations and patiently explained hotel operations), to Daniela (who helped us reserve a 6th night on a moment's notice) to Maximilian and Enzo (two additional helpful front desk staff), Gina/Christina (cheerful housekeepers) and Alfonso (who works the Cotto breakfast shift), Dharma exemplifies superior customer service. From day one, they kept in prompt contact with me via email responding to any questions about my reservation. Bills were clearly and neatly explained. They patiently helped us clueless foreigners with questions about directions and sightseeing. Customer service is everything and they nailed it.

Third, the rooms were lovely. We stayed in 2 different triple rooms, and the extra bed was more than comfortable for my 6'1 frame. The bed mattresses were nicely and firmly cushioned, there was excellent noise insulation between rooms, and bathrooms were nicely designed and equipped. Tall ceilings were a plus too. Moreover, the TV had several hundred (!!) satellite channels including more than one CNN channel. I wasn't expecting this level of luxury from a boutique hotel. The showers were all rain-shower types and the vanities were modern and updated.

Fourth, the breakfast was delicious and fulfilling. I'm a big believer in starting each day with a hearty breakfast, and Cotto satisfied that tremendously. There was some day-to-day variation, but the core breakfast items of hot (bacon, sausage, quiche, hard boiled eggs) and cold (yogurt, fruit, pastries) were tasty and a welcome sight each morning. Hotel guests get a 10% discount at Cotto and we ate there a few times for lunch/dinner.

Fifth, the hotel seemed very safe. Exterior doors are electronic keyed and rooms on the third floor require another set of electronic keys to enter. In addition, the room itself has an electronic safe. I never felt that my valuables were in danger.

I was exceedingly happy with my stay and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: There are just two triple rooms. 301 has dual vanities and a tub/shower combo and a larger living r...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank IST_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear IST_Trave,

reading such a bright, candid and detailed review is a real delight for us. We thank you very much indeed for all the great words and terrific feedback for all our staff. Your review will be a great help for all those visiting our Tripadvisor page. We are looking forward to welcoming you again anytime you are travelling overseas.
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
There are newer reviews for Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rome – this hotel is great. We had three of us staying in the executive family room. Virtually a bed room with two windows that open to the inside courtyard and two wardrobes, it was fantastic. The other room with a sofa was turned into a bed for my mum, this was quite large as well. We met other patrons staying at the hotel some of which complained about not being able to find the floor, the hotel reception is on the 5th floor, however this is clear on the websites as it is in the lobby of the building. Antonio at reception was wonderful and cannot speak highly enough of him and his manners and welcoming attitude. Lorenzo was lovely as well. Note that the security is great in this building and front doors on the ground floor close around 6.30 so you can only get in by key.
Our room additionally had a large shower which doubled as a steam room and a separate toilet off the bathroom. Very big space if I go by the European standards that I have seen. The best part was our little balcony facing the inside courtyard and at times noisy due to the air conditioners running (you soon forget the sound) and for the smokers, most importantly, there was an ashtray on the balcony and two chairs. Fabulous! The hotel can also arrange pick up to and from the airport through a company they deal with and our driver to the hotel – Gino was helpful and very funny. We paid a flat fee of 50eu both ways (it’s dependent on how many people and how many suitcases).
My issue is always having enough power outlets and there was more than enough. We had tea and coffee and a kettle supplied and breakfast was included, you have to go next door to Cotto’s for this. Breakfast had a great variety of foods, including bacon and scrambled eggs, cold meats, vegetables, salad, cereals, cakes and fruit & yoghurt. Juices and coffee etc. One can’t complain about the service from Phillipe.
You have the opportunity to buy online if booking direct, chocolates, flowers etc I ordered chocolates for my husband and flowers for my mum and some champagne. The hotel beautifully set up rose petals in a heart shape on our bed, unexpected but beautiful.
Anyone who stays here must enjoy it. Many restaurants, shops etc nearby.
WiFi works well and is free, you can also ask for Cotto's password and use wifi at Brekky.
It’s a not a cheap place, based on the room we had, but you get what you pay for and we were more than happy.

Room Tip: I would have loved a well being room but it didn't fit three people. Irrespective it was great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AVMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear AVMAustra,

thank you very much for staying at Dharma Hotel and providing such a wonderful, detailed and warm-hearted review about our hotel. We are very glad we have met your expectations during your long stay in Rome. We are sure your feedback will be very helpful for our future guests to make their choice and book the Dharma for their visit in Rome.
Feel free to join us anytime,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best I stayed in Europe on my 15 day trip. The hotel room is amazing and the location is nice!! The best part was the staff, these people really know how take care of their guests!! The hotel is located at a great location with a metro stop 2-3 min away. I would recommend hotel Dharma to all my friends and family! Keep up the good work guys!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rainman0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Rainman08,

we are very glad you were able to find some time to write a review about your stay at Dharma Hotel. We are very happy you can tell your friends and the Tripadvisor community you had such a great stay and experience in our small boutique hotel where, like you said, the customer service is something taken very seriously.
We are looking forward to welcoming you at Dharma again in the future, anytime you are in Rome feel free to consider our hotel your roman home.
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was so fantastic! We loved the the attention to detail and the amnesties , also so close to the train station ( 4 blocks) and walking distance from the Trevi fountain ( 10-15 min) we loved our room and the staff were great! Our breakfast was amazing as well! We are planning a return trip! Great for a romantic getaway too!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Lucy A,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma Hotel. We are very pleased to know your opinion about our hotel and very glad you had such a great time during your visit in Rome.
We are looking forward to hosting you again over your next getaway with friends or partners!
Feel free to inquire directly about our Best Rates!
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed in Dharma Hotel with my family for a week in May in an executive family room. The room was very nice, comfortable with a small balcony overlooking the courtyard and was cleaned to perfection every day. The position of the hotel is very convenient for all travellers’ needs: close to Termini station, metro, busses and walking distance from many sites. Reception staff was all very helpful, spoke English plus other languages and they respond to emails promptly. (A big thank you to Daniela who is very understanding, friendly and kind) The Cotto restaurant next door serves delicious breakfast every day and the service once again is very good. We also had a dinner in this restaurant one night and we were not disappointed. Overall, Dharma Hotel is an excellent choice and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank tinka29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear tinka29,

thank you very much for sharing your excellent experience at Dharma Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had such a great time in our small boutique hotel and you enjoyed our rooms, staff and service. We are always eager to get feedbacks from our guests and we are very happy when it comes to suggestions with a constructive spirit.

Unfortunately, we must admit we had a few attempts of fraud in the recent past by some unfaithful customers who asked for money in exchange of a good review or, even worse, to buy their "silence".
This is unacceptable.

We will be always sanctioning those behaviours and inform Tripadvisor staff promptly to prevent blackmailers, scammers and fraud experts.

If this does not stop, we will cancel our subscription to Tripadvisor, with big disappointment and a bitter taste.

Mrs tinka29, I thank you very much for your sincere and trusty review. Feel free to join us anytime you are in Rome.
Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June, in the triple room on the 3rd floor. This was plenty big enough for me, my husband and 15 year old daughter. The hotel is located within a 15 minute walk from the Termini station, 5 minutes from the Metro stop and just off the Via Nazionale so it's very easy to get everywhere from there.

Communications from the hotel after we had booked were great - they booked us a taxi to collect us from the airport which was well worth doing (E50, same price as 3 train tickets and much more convenient). Lorenzo met us when we checked in - he was extremely helpful and welcoming, showing us how everything worked in our room and also marking Rome highlights on a map and telling us exactly how to get around.

Our room was very modern, clean and comfortable, air conditioned (thank goodness, it was hot!) and equipped with everything we needed and it had a great bathroom (loved the changing colored lights in the shower!) Breakfast was included in our room rate and is available in the restaurant next door, Cotto. It was plentiful and delicious and a good way to start the day. The way the hotel is situated and laid out, it doesn't feel like you are staying in a hotel. It felt more like we were going back to our own bijou apartment in the city, which was fun! There are some good restaurants nearby too.

Don't let the 1 star rating fool you - we would highly recommend it to other visitors to Rome and would definitely stay there again should the opportunity arise. We loved it - thank you, Lorenzo!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Polly S,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your personal experience at Dharma Hotel.
We are amazed by your enthusiasm and trusty feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed our "different" road to hospitality and embraced Dharma Hotel's concept. We will definetely looking forward to welcoming you again over your next trip to Italy.
Feel free to join us anytime

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Dharma, in room 503, for 6 nights. We walked from Termini, having arrived there by train after flying in from Paris. We'd received an email that let us know exactly what to look for and expect upon arrival. We were welcomed by Lorenzo who told us what we needed to know about our room and the hotel. He also gave us a map on which he pointed out places to go - main attractions as well as additional places that we would have missed left on our own. He was genuinely hospitable and welcoming and our room was all we had hoped it would be and more. The room was quite large, with a comfortable bed, nice bedding and lighting. We had Keiji toiletries, bath sheets, slippers and an awesome shower. The room was air conditioned, clean, had a safe, and windows that opened. There was a nice selection of meats, breads, fruit, pastries, and drinks for breakfast each day and the hosts/ baristas were consistently courteous and accomodating. We were within walking distance of anything in the center of Rome and even walked to Trastevere. We walked by the Colosseum daily and with 2 close metro stations we had no problem gettting to Vatican City. We've stayed in nice places in other countries (i.e.- 4 star on the Embarcadero in San Francisco) yet couldn't have been more pleased with our first experience in the amazingly, historical city of Rome! Thank you Lorenzo and Hotel Dharma- we'd recommend you to anyone!

Room Tip: We're not sure what the other rooms were like but we were very pleased with the size and layout...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMarie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Don S,

thank you for sharing such a genuine enthusiasm about your experience at Dharma Hotel! We are very pleased to read such a lovely review about our small business. You have been very kind to spotlight all the selling points of Dharma Hotel and you could not be more precise and accurate. We will be definetely looking forward to welcoming You again in the future. Feel free to join Dharma Hotel anytime you're in Rome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,228 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,267 in Rome
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,260 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,267 in Rome
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £89 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharma Hotel is a Newly decorated, modern Hotel with Rooms & Suites with Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Rain Showers. You can choose from several room types and service from the Official Site of the Dharma Hotel and book the best room and suite for your special time in Rome. If you look for the perfect sightseeing place, you cannot easily beat Dharma Hotel's location, a stone's throw to Termini Central Station (easy links to all Rome airports and cruiseship terminal) and all public transport bus/metro/tram lines. Also, walking distance to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia. The hotel is situated within an ancient building, liberty style, for the lovers of architecture and fine design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing