We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay for touring Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dharma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dharma Hotel
Ranked #60 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay for touring Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Friendly staff and extremely helpful with advice. Located around the corner from a taxi stand so catching a cab was very convenient and the subway was also very near. You can walk to most attractions as well. Very quiet location just far enough from major road to ensure no night time traffic/noise. The king beds were comfortable and nice large shower. We loved the breakfast each day as well. We would stay here again. Please be careful riding the subway as we had kids--age 12-15 try to steal from our wives purses. They actually had their purse unzipped and hand inside before we caught them and shewd them away. Really not a big deal as long as you keep your guard up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stetaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear stetaylo,

thank you for staying at Dharma Hotel and writing a very good review about your experience in our hotel. We are very happy you say you would stay again and you would recommend our rooms. On the other hand I am sad you have experienced a very ugly situation our big cities (Paris, Rome and Barcelona on the top, in recent news also Frankfurt) are struggling today. Few precautions are always needed when you travel on bus/metro or join busy areas: do not take too much cash with you, separate your credit cards from your cash or use two wallets; put your backpack on the front; do not use zipped bags to store your purse and one more: take advantage of your hotel safe deposit box. Some very generic tips that might be very useful if you are not used to live in a big city.
I strongly encourage anyone being robbed/attempted/assisting ,to report the subway officers (in the entrance of the Metro station) or ask to call a police guard.

I hope this will not change your memories about Rome.
Feel free to join us anytime,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    303
    48
    3
    3
See reviews for
160
689
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed for 4 nights in the hotel, the rooms are exactly as shown in the photos. Most nights we asked for recommendations of where to eat, the staff booked tables for us and every restaurant was better value and better food than the few that we found ourselves. The hotel organised our Vatican tour which was prompt and enjoyable. They also helped us book tickets for the forum and colloseo online so we jumped the queue rather than wait 2 hour in line in rome's heat. Will definitely come back!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Oli S,

thank you very much for staying at Dharma Hotel, we really appreciate your feedback.
We are also happy to know that you enjoyed Dharma Hotel solid and prompt staff.
I train personally each member of our staff to guarantee our guests the best hospitality experience.
Feel free to join us anytime when in Rome and always look for the current Best Deals over our Official Website.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is fantastic! From the moment we booked we knew we were on to a winner. Hotel Dharma sent us information ahead of our trip on everything from how to find the hotel, pick-up options, Rome tours. Then, upon arriving in Rome, we were welcomed so warmly. We were absolutely delighted with the service. Everyone at Hotel Dharma is friendly and helpful, really going above and beyond when it comes to making sure their guests have everything they need. We were given maps with extensive details on how to get to all the major sites, shops, restaurants. We were even given a full tour of our room detailing all the room features.

The room in itself was GORGEOUS. Really modern, really clean, spacious, a ridiculously comfortable bed and a beautiful big bathroom (with bath). We loved the location, an easy walk to everything. The breakfast included with our stay was fantastic – a full hot and cold buffet at the restaurant underneath the hotel.

We were also SO impressed with the cleaning service. Not only did they do a beautiful job cleaning our room, they even hung clothes back on clothes racks, reorganised makeup scattered over the bathroom sink etc. They really went above and beyond to make our stay so special.

Last but not least, we had a really early flight out of Rome. As a result we were going to miss the buffet breakfast, no big deal, but without hesitation the hotel organised bags of food and drinks that we could take with us for breakfast, as well as a car to take us to the airport.

We really have nothing but praise for Lorenzo, Daniela, Enzo, Max and Antonio. We had a wonderful, wonderful stay at Hotel Dharma. We’ll be recommending this hotel to all our friends and look forward to staying there again, that’s for sure! Thanks again, Hotel Dharma!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Amy M

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a terrific review about your experience at Dharma. This is something that fills up our hearts with more passion and dedication into this job.
We are very glad you enjoyed every single moment of your stay in our hotel.
Balancing customer-oriented hospitality, high-end service and excellent value for money is a real challenge that every day forces ourselves to push it further.
Very happy we helped to let you great memories of our city.
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé stayed in the funky modern hotel dharma for 3 nights. Our stay was so special after being upgraded from the standard room on the first night to the executive room for the next two days which my fiancé organised as a surprise from home, which made our stay so much more special.. The space in the room was great and the bathroom was amazing.. It included sauna and jacuzzi.. The room was clean and spacious..

The television had a good selection of channels which were able to be changed to any language at the press of a button. The breakfast was a good selection of food and was located in a great restaurant called Cotta next to the hotel.

The staff were extremely helpful especially Danielle with great opinions of restaurants to visit. The hotel was located close to the tourist attractions and tram lines. The airport was located 30 minute by taxi drive from the hotel which the hotel were happy to organise on short notice.

Amazing stay at hotel dharma and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Selina P,

thank you very much for writing such a beautiful and very detailed review about your stay at Dharma Hotel. We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and you will be saving some good memory of your trip. We really appreciate your contribution and we are confident your words will be driving our future guests in making their decision.
Feel free to join us anytime you're in Rome,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well positioned from the train station, historical sights, and shopping. Hotel had amazing internal design including a Turkish Sauna behind our bed! The room size was very generous as well and we found the staff very friendly sand willing to make our stay the best it can be.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Lina K,

thank you very much for sharing your review about your stay at Dharma Hotel. We are very happy you enjoyed everything about our hotel and Rome. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future, anytime you are in Rome.
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I just completed a 6 night stay at the Hotel Dharma and couldn't have been happier. Don't let the 1-star rating fool you; that is not reflective of the quality of service you will receive here. Rather, I've been told that the 1-star rating is due to the hotel not being able to offer breakfast on the premises, although this is remedied by the excellent buffet breakfast next door at Cotto.

First of all, location is excellent. It's close to Via Cavour and Via Nazionale, and just 1 km from the delicious La Romana Gelateria (#3 best restaurant on tripadvisor). Indeed, we walked back from the Vatican and Trasevere to Dharma without difficulty. It's also far enough away from the seedier places near Termini. Hotel Dharma is also not located on a main street, which helps with noise pollution. It's also just a short stroll from the Repubblica Metro stop. Airport access via taxi was very convenient and Dharma also provides a private car service to/from the airport for a very competitive $50 Euros one way (compare to taxis which charge $48 Euros). Taxis are further available to guests at just 5 minutes notice to the front desk on the 5th floor.

Second, the people. From Lorenzo (who was so happy to provide me with a map of nasoni locations and patiently explained hotel operations), to Daniela (who helped us reserve a 6th night on a moment's notice) to Maximilian and Enzo (two additional helpful front desk staff), Gina/Christina (cheerful housekeepers) and Alfonso (who works the Cotto breakfast shift), Dharma exemplifies superior customer service. From day one, they kept in prompt contact with me via email responding to any questions about my reservation. Bills were clearly and neatly explained. They patiently helped us clueless foreigners with questions about directions and sightseeing. Customer service is everything and they nailed it.

Third, the rooms were lovely. We stayed in 2 different triple rooms, and the extra bed was more than comfortable for my 6'1 frame. The bed mattresses were nicely and firmly cushioned, there was excellent noise insulation between rooms, and bathrooms were nicely designed and equipped. Tall ceilings were a plus too. Moreover, the TV had several hundred (!!) satellite channels including more than one CNN channel. I wasn't expecting this level of luxury from a boutique hotel. The showers were all rain-shower types and the vanities were modern and updated.

Fourth, the breakfast was delicious and fulfilling. I'm a big believer in starting each day with a hearty breakfast, and Cotto satisfied that tremendously. There was some day-to-day variation, but the core breakfast items of hot (bacon, sausage, quiche, hard boiled eggs) and cold (yogurt, fruit, pastries) were tasty and a welcome sight each morning. Hotel guests get a 10% discount at Cotto and we ate there a few times for lunch/dinner.

Fifth, the hotel seemed very safe. Exterior doors are electronic keyed and rooms on the third floor require another set of electronic keys to enter. In addition, the room itself has an electronic safe. I never felt that my valuables were in danger.

I was exceedingly happy with my stay and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: There are just two triple rooms. 301 has dual vanities and a tub/shower combo and a larger living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IST_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear IST_Trave,

reading such a bright, candid and detailed review is a real delight for us. We thank you very much indeed for all the great words and terrific feedback for all our staff. Your review will be a great help for all those visiting our Tripadvisor page. We are looking forward to welcoming you again anytime you are travelling overseas.
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rome – this hotel is great. We had three of us staying in the executive family room. Virtually a bed room with two windows that open to the inside courtyard and two wardrobes, it was fantastic. The other room with a sofa was turned into a bed for my mum, this was quite large as well. We met other patrons staying at the hotel some of which complained about not being able to find the floor, the hotel reception is on the 5th floor, however this is clear on the websites as it is in the lobby of the building. Antonio at reception was wonderful and cannot speak highly enough of him and his manners and welcoming attitude. Lorenzo was lovely as well. Note that the security is great in this building and front doors on the ground floor close around 6.30 so you can only get in by key.
Our room additionally had a large shower which doubled as a steam room and a separate toilet off the bathroom. Very big space if I go by the European standards that I have seen. The best part was our little balcony facing the inside courtyard and at times noisy due to the air conditioners running (you soon forget the sound) and for the smokers, most importantly, there was an ashtray on the balcony and two chairs. Fabulous! The hotel can also arrange pick up to and from the airport through a company they deal with and our driver to the hotel – Gino was helpful and very funny. We paid a flat fee of 50eu both ways (it’s dependent on how many people and how many suitcases).
My issue is always having enough power outlets and there was more than enough. We had tea and coffee and a kettle supplied and breakfast was included, you have to go next door to Cotto’s for this. Breakfast had a great variety of foods, including bacon and scrambled eggs, cold meats, vegetables, salad, cereals, cakes and fruit & yoghurt. Juices and coffee etc. One can’t complain about the service from Phillipe.
You have the opportunity to buy online if booking direct, chocolates, flowers etc I ordered chocolates for my husband and flowers for my mum and some champagne. The hotel beautifully set up rose petals in a heart shape on our bed, unexpected but beautiful.
Anyone who stays here must enjoy it. Many restaurants, shops etc nearby.
WiFi works well and is free, you can also ask for Cotto's password and use wifi at Brekky.
It’s a not a cheap place, based on the room we had, but you get what you pay for and we were more than happy.

Room Tip: I would have loved a well being room but it didn't fit three people. Irrespective it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AVMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear AVMAustra,

thank you very much for staying at Dharma Hotel and providing such a wonderful, detailed and warm-hearted review about our hotel. We are very glad we have met your expectations during your long stay in Rome. We are sure your feedback will be very helpful for our future guests to make their choice and book the Dharma for their visit in Rome.
Feel free to join us anytime,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharma Hotel

Property: Dharma Hotel
Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Dharma Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharma Hotel is a Newly decorated, modern Hotel with Rooms & Suites with Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Rain Showers. You can choose from several room types and service from the Official Site of the Dharma Hotel and book the best room and suite for your special time in Rome. If you look for the perfect sightseeing place, you cannot easily beat Dharma Hotel's location, a stone's throw to Termini Central Station (easy links to all Rome airports and cruiseship terminal) and all public transport bus/metro/tram lines. Also, walking distance to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia. The hotel is situated within an ancient building, liberty style, for the lovers of architecture and fine design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dharma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing