We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Celio Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celio Hotel
Ranked #562 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

After finding the B&B we had planned on staying at had no one there, we wandered and ended up at this fantastic little hotel. Yes, the bathrooms are small and the breakfast is simple and yes it is a bit pricey, but look at what you are getting. You will be 3 blocks from the Colosseum and a 5 minute walk from the Colosseo metro station. The metro that runs the A line is a 10 minute walk away. The room we got had our own private patio which was fantastic. The owner was friendly and very nice. A beautiful, charming hotel with excellent service and great location!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    67
    18
    13
    23
See reviews for
30
40
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel, booking two rooms. The hotel is charming with interesting décor, including mosaics. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful.
If using a taxi when you arrive, the area has many one way streets so it may seem as if you are weaving in and out. We had taxi’s drop us on the main road and then we walked to the hotel.
The rooms are well equipped with everything you need, though I agree with the other reviews that point out that the shower stalls are quite small. If you have mobility issues it would be difficult to use the showers.
Breakfast is Continental style, croissants, rolls, jams, nutella, spreadable cheese, yogurt, juice and hot beverages.
Location is fantastic for sight-seeing. The Coliseum is two blocks away and it is a pleasant walk to all of the other main attractions in Rome.
Staff was very accommodating.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tennismomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Very good hotel near Colosseo, it deserves more than 3 star, its beautifull inside interiors, comfort, service is good and also the staff. the price and the place of the hotel is worthit its home away home. we enjoyed time in rome and in hotel. dont pay attention to other reviews as they dont know haw other hotels r in rome this is my second time and we r very pleased here than in other hotels for everything. ciao ci vediamo la prosima volta

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JusraCibaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The owner of this charming hotel came to our rescue when we left the appalling accommodation booked in advance from London. He was courteous and helpful. The Celio is a bit like an elegant private home. Our room was spacious and the shower room, although small, was spotless and perfectly adequate. I loved the fact that this was a home as well as an efficiently run hotel. Breakfast always good. Roberto, our host, and his staff booked trips to Villa D'esti and taxis etc. quietly and reliably. As the other review mentioned, great places to eat nearby and buses and trams to all over town just beside the Colosseum which is a 3 minutes walk away. We would have complete confidence recommending this charming place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrschevely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

If being a three minute walk from the Coloseum is what your looking for this is the place you want. In all other aspects this may well be the poorest value I have experienced in over 50 years of travel accomodation ranging from dorm beds to five star hotels on all continents. Dogs barking in the court yard that management ignores...hallways used to store bikes, baby strollers and other large objects...smallest shower stall I have ever seen...surly breakfast waiter when trying to get a second cup of coffee. Housekeeping doesn't stock toilet paper. Yes Europe is an expensive travel venue but by no stretch of the imagination is this a three star lodging or worth $200/night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pablito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

WORST SERVICE! I was yelled at for saying that the wifi didn't work and he insulted my mother and I personally - yes, they do treat you as though you are invading their personal space. Not for professionals or those who expect service. Not recommended for people who don't like to pay 290 euro/night for personal insults!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HOTELCELIOTERRIBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, owner was always there and extremely friendly and helpful. There were mosaics on all the floors, the rooms are quite spacy, but the bathrooms are very, very small. Breakfast (included) was very nice, but there's only one option, and no eggs for example.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andreawwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
No photo provided
Relais No9 Colosseo
#670 of 1,258 in Rome
59 reviews
Monti
No photo provided
Hotel Royal House
#710 of 1,258 in Rome
136 reviews
Monti
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
No photo provided
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#148 of 1,258 in Rome
1,123 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
No photo provided
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#443 of 1,258 in Rome
255 reviews
Monti
No photo provided
Hotel Lancelot
#36 of 1,258 in Rome
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celio Hotel

Property: Celio Hotel
Address: Via Dei Santissimi Quattro 35/c, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Celio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Celio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing