We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel right in-front of Trevi fountain!”
Review of Fontana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontana Hotel
Ranked #581 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hotel right in-front of Trevi fountain!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel was huge surprise to us, no idea that Trevi fountain was right at the door step. The room was tidy and clean, the staff very helpful. The view at b'fast room is picture perfect from every angle. We took the liberty " must have photo " everyday in front of Trevi fountain just to remind us we are in love, enjoy every minute of it. As all of us knew no matter what time is the day...the place is usually crowded......highly recommended a the location is spot on to every site in city (walking distance to Spanish Steps, Colosseum, The Pantheon, II Vittoriano....nice cafe, gourmet shop round the corner......what more can you asked for.........

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twsp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    146
    78
    40
    40
See reviews for
65
200
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you can stand the ridiculous crowds outside, this hotel is a gem. From our room I could have tossed a coin into the fountain! Room was tiny but clean. At first we were worried that the noise of the crowds and the fountain would keep us awake, but the window sealed well and with the air conditioning on (we needed it!!) we had really good sleeps. The plumbing was a little tricky but what do expect for a building of this age? The view truly is astounding and the breakfast room worth a visit alone. If you want to be in the thick of the action then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you get a room with a view of the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirbox255350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Let me begin by saying, this was my husband's idea. We usually stay at another property, but after our conference in Geneva, he took a meeting in Rome and made an extra couple of days of it. This was very last minute.

This hotel was everything we expected and less, we still laugh about this long-in-the-tooth hotel in front of the Trevi Fountain...and our room DID look exactly out onto the Trevi Fountain, which happens to be covered with tourist bodies all day long. You can't get away from the little buggers.

KEEP IN MIND: You can't get a taxi in front of this hotel because of all the little tourist bodies, so you have to drag your luggage across the square into the hotel and when you leave, you have to drag it across the square and down the street to try to find your own taxi. If you ever need a taxi, you can't get one in front of your hotel. It's a drag.

If you don't have a room that looks onto the fountain, you can always go upstairs to the bar to have a drink with the view. Unfortunately, there was no air conditioning up there on this hot day, so it was sweltering up there.

We kept the window open both nights we stayed there... it WAS sort of nice to listen to the fountain at night, but regardless you'd want the window open because the room was very small and the bathroom constantly wreaked...thus, we left the window open and the bathroom door closed.

The entire hotel staff did their jobs, but none of them were overly hospitable or overly friendly...or overly helpful for that matter. I felt like they were TRYING really hard to be friendly, but it didn't come natural.

So now we can say we stayed at the hotel in front of the Trevi Fountain...I'm over it, in fact, I was over it before we got there. I don't recommend unless you really want to stay in front of the Trevi Fountain.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelzomby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We found this hotel late minute, by originally going into its sister hotel nearby, which had no free rooms that night, so they called this one to see if there were any, and fortunately there were. We had both been to Rome before and we were just looking for somewhere for one night before flying home, so we didn't need anything flashy or 5 star. We were delighted to find out that the hotel was a converted monastery and it was the only hotel in the Piazza di Trevi. We had a front facing room with amazing views over the fountain, although it was a little noisy during the day, it was fine at night. The room was charming, with lots of character, albeit a little small, but for 60 Euros, we couldn't really complain! Breakfast was included and on the top floor, again with stunning views of the fountain. It was a little limited but perfectly adequate. The staff were very helpful and arranged a taxi for us to go the airport. We had to walk a short distance to get it, as the hotel is located in a pedestrianised area. I would definitely recommend this place to people staying one or two nights, but it may be a little small for longer periods.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best views but are noisy during the day from the tourists!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syfcinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you want to walk to great restaurants and be at the center of the popular Trevi fountain then this is the hotel for you. The room was small but comfortable and surprisingly quiet. The bathroom was tiny with the shower ridiculously small. Breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection to meet any dietary requirement and overlooked Trevi fountain. The breakfast staff were responsive and friendly. The front desk staff were pleasant. It's only a short walk to the hop on hop off bus. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LevMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great location, close to restaurants, shops and of course the Trevi fountain. We also requested single beds but they were unavailable. Rooms were small, however clean and comfortable and free WiFi..Breakfast was fantastic with everything fresh and lots to choose from. Some staff were more helpful than others which was a bit disappointing..

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the fountain side and preferably 3rd floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEC2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#143 of 1,256 in Rome
793 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#480 of 1,256 in Rome
1,006 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#578 of 1,256 in Rome
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#97 of 1,256 in Rome
628 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#221 of 1,256 in Rome
1,153 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#330 of 1,256 in Rome
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel

Property: Fontana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Trevi 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #581 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rome City Center: discover our charming Hotel Fontana overlooking the famous Trevi Fountain in Rome. Our comfortable rooms and trained staffa are ready to make your holidays in Rome unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fontana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing