We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Fontana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontana Hotel
Ranked #578 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very small room, noisy at night, not a lot of amenities, but what a great location. It is the closest hotel to the trevi fountain and walking distance to everything. Breakfast overlooking the fountain included.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    144
    78
    39
    40
See reviews for
64
198
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We couldn't be any closer to the Trevi Fountain than this hotel. We loved the location. The noise level will always be loud because of the crowds at the Trevi fountain. It didn't bother us. We wanted to be in the center of all the action. The staff was not helpful and was given the wrong information for directions. Breakfast was OK. Nothing great. The view is the best thing about this hotel. So the Excellent rating is for Location and view of Trevi fountain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunsetColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel has the worst customer service possible. If you request anything, it's as if you are irritating the staff. Our air conditioning did not work. It was very warm for October making our room uncomfortable and sleeping difficult. The T.V. did not work. The beds are extremely uncomfortable with horrible pillows. There is no room to place your luggage. I asked were the ice machine was and the front desk clerk said, "no ice!" I would not accept there wasn't any ice in which a bucket with a few cubes was delivered to our room. The toilet literally protrudes under the sink and the shower is about a foot wide. Upon asking for directions, the staff would just point and would not elaborate. It is an uncomfortable, unfriendly hotel. There are several hotels in the area, stay some place else!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schroederatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

With this being our first trip to Rome, we decided we would like to be in the middle of everything that was on our initial itinery. Hotel Fontana fitted the bill to a tee. If you want a plush ultra modern all singing all dancing hotel, Fontana isn't for you. The word that sprang to mind immediately was "qwerky". It is Rome. The atmosphere is unique, but the service was as we wanted, very good without being pushy or snobby. Each return after trekking round the streets was friendly and interested. Each morning at breakfast the day ahead was asked about and suggestions given if asked for. To add to this it was like staying in the Trevi Fountain. The hustle and bustle was ever present. A definite return trip to Rome will include Hotel Fontana.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room overlooking the Fountain just for the added atmosphere from 07:30 through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The location excellent, we paid extra to make sure our room overlooked the Trevi Fountain...BIG MISTAKE..1 - the window is so high up I had to get on a chair to see out 2 - very very small room 3- you couldn't keep the window opened at night to hear the water because of the crowd outside and the yelling, this lasted until 3am ( not that this was the fault of the hotel) 4 - when we went up to our room, there was a sandal in the room.. I didn't bother to say anything!!!
The front desk staff, when checking out he asked were we Americans, I said no Canadian, his reply "same thing". Would he like it if I had said Italy is the same as Greek!!! They weren't overly friendly, I asked for directions..all I got was over there. If I had know how it would of been, I would of stayed a the first hotel we were in, I only came to this one was to take in the fountain.. My mistake

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel has one of the best locations in Rome. Having the breakfast watching and hearing the Trevi Fountain is special and unforgetable. The lady at the breakfast is very friendly.
Instalation and facilities are basic, but considering the historical part of Rome and the old historical building... The reception area is poor and tight, hotel could improve by cancelling the money change desk at reception.
The front apartments have the nice Fountain view but are noisy. If you are in one of it you will learn that at 6 am comes the city machine that collects all coins dropped in the fountain in the previous day. At least you know to where goes your contribution when you make a wish at the Trevi Fountain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonioFrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in late August. Definitely cannot beat the location. It was crowded at the Trevi Fountain, but my room was at the back and it was very quiet. The room was small and the shower was the smallest I ever had a shower in. I imagine the shower would be a problem for a big person. The room was clean and adequate for 1 person. It was nice to have breakfast by the window with perfect view of the Trevi Fountain. The breakfast itself was rather ordinary and the same every day. Next time I would not prebook it. It is not worth it. The lady was good to let me start my breakfast just before 7.00 on 2 mornings due to early tours.
Some staff at the reception were good, others not so good. I was not allowed to check out late even though I think it was not booked for the next night. The man at the reception would not even listen properly to my request. TV was useless. No paid movies/programs were available, or any other English speaking channels apart from Sky and CNN news. Apparently, they had problems with reception. I was told it would be fixed, but wasn't.
I would stay at this hotel again simply because of the location.

Room Tip: If you are not a good sleeper, avoid front rooms. Crowds at the fountain stay very late and start ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cromansydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#163 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#456 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#569 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#94 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Trevi
Harry's Bar Trevi Hotel & Restaurant
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#340 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel

Property: Fontana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Trevi 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rome City Center: discover our charming Hotel Fontana overlooking the famous Trevi Fountain in Rome. Our comfortable rooms and trained staffa are ready to make your holidays in Rome unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fontana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing