We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the most romantic hotel in Rome”
Review of Fontana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontana Hotel
Ranked #563 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Located in the very heart of the city, with a gorgeous view on Fontana di Trevi, the most beautiful and famous fountain in Rome, Fontana Hotel is the perfect place for a romantic stay. We had the perfect Easter breakfast and a small present for everyone. Professional and highly qualified staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinodoraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

It was really nice. Location,cervice,atmosphere,neighbourhood and everything!I love to see the place again. It was not 5 stars hotel but was very clean with good service,cosy rooms,beautiful veranda with flowers and absolutely amazing view from hotel cafe! This hotel is older than "fontana di trevi" (Trevi fountain). When you live in the hotel,you find yourself like home.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makiaveli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were picked up at the airport by car arranged through the hotel (75e) It was after midnight when we arrived. We will never forget getting out of the car at the corner of the square and turning to see the fountain in all its glory, magic. Its a short walk across the square with your luggage. The reception was quick and we were assisted with our luggage. The lift is very small but does the job.We stayed in room 305 with a view of the Trevi Fountain. We loved our room, very clean, warm and comfortable, beds changed every day. Problem with TV was immediately sorted out. Shower was over the very deep bath.The staff were friendly and the breakfast room with view of the fountain was lovely, good selection of food at Breakfast, this is the only public space in this small hotel. We stayed in early December and had to drag ourselves away from the window, you could hear the fountain waters but not unduly noisy from the people in the square. It was totally fascinating what ever time of the day and spectacular view at night. The location is excellent easy to get every where on foot or taxi.Lots of little shops and restaurants locally but rather expensive due to the area. We went to the little church across the square for a Christmas concert, brilliant and free. Compared with other hotels it may seem expensive, but no hotel has this amazing unforgettable view. We fell in love with Roma, the Trevi Fountain and the Hotel. We tossed our coins and will be back. Hotel called a taxi for our return to the airport which cost 40E.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkjackie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights over Xmas.

Positives:
- We were blown away when we saw the view of the Trevi Fountain from our first floor room.

- Location was very central meaning we could walk to all the major tourist attractions. Reasonable walking distance (about 5 minutes) to a Metro station too. Also plenty if places to eat at (although very touristy hence a little more expensive than heading a little outside of the center which we'd recommend)

- breakfast was adequate (nice view from the breakfast room too)

Opportunities for improvement:
- as non-smokers we didn't enjoy the fact the whole hotel stunk of smoke. Not sure if this was because it was literally on top of such a popular tourist attraction & the fact just about everyone smokes in this country. This also meant we couldn't open our window for more than a minute before our own room filled up with smoke from the hundreds of people smoking below.

- bathroom & shower were tiny. We're lucky we're small in stature ourselves!

- wouldn't call the service overly enthusiastic, friendly or professional compared to other experiences we've had in Florence & Venice. Wasn't horrible, just wasn't great.

And I personally hate it when I'm in the middle of a service conversation and the hotel rep allows some ill-mannered ignoramus who believes they're more important than everyone else to not only interupt but then ignore me without even the slightest explanation or apology as they turn their attention to the person who pushed in as I stand there waiting for me query to be picked up again. Happened several times here
to the point where I actually felt compelled to address it (politely but assertively) only to be made to feel like i was being unreasonable. Not good enough.

- wifi rarely worked in our room

- the crowds, noise & hassle of the packed Trevi fountain was something we should have thought better about. Maybe we lack tolerance, but the huge crowds not to mention being harassed by literally dozens and dozens of street sellers who gave us no peace every time we set foot outside of the hotel trying to make you buy lasers, roses, noisy squeeky toys etc etc wore us down pretty quickly. The early morning racket from the maintenance people attending to the fountain (and we mean EARLY) was also something to consider.

For the price I guess it was ok, but that said we experienced better for less elsewhere in Italy.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ShanmGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

8 of us stayed for 2 nights on 29th Nov. We absolutely loved this quirky little hotel. Location amazing. Rooms very comfortable with classy antique furniture. Comfy beds with nice bed linen. Breakfast all that we could have asked for - cereal, cooked meat, cheese, fresh pastries, fruit etc plus as much tea and coffee as we needed. Staff very friendly and helpful and after reading previous reviews were pleasantly surprised and the only miserable people we saw at this hotel were the other guests. Would we stay here again? YES!

Room Tip: View of the Trevi Fountain is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 995jackiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel Fontana for 2 nights and truly enjoyed our stay. We paid extra for the room with a view of the fountain. The location was 'perfecto' because we walked everywhere. The center of Rome is forbidden to cars unless one has a very difficult to obtain permit. It is true that the noise of the running water is a tad loud at night. Because it is the one of the most famous fountain in the world, I would hardly imagine that the city would turn off the water for the residents to sleep. The outside of the hotel gets crowdy from ~8am to ~0am. If you are still jet lagged, you could take a picture of the fountain past midnight or very early without anybody in your frame and it is just outside the hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. Overall it was a very good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChukkaLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We liked some things a LOT about this hotel and other things were marginal, but bottom line, we would go there again. It is fairly centrally located, and we walked (with a wheelchair) to all major sites.

I could not get enough of standing at the window and watching Trevi Fountain - morning when the crew came to sweep out coins to lights at night. Second favorite thing was the breakfast room. It was light and airy, open and overlooking the fountain from the third+ floor. What's more, the selection was good, as was the quality.

The hallways were black and close. The elevator was tiny. The entrance/check-in area was tiny, old and worn, dark and slightly uncomfortable.

The bed was king-sized with a good mattress and linens. The building was old, so it goes without saying that you have to be prepared for a little old-ness: paint peeling, etc.

My husband is in a wheelchair, which they knew as the chair was parked in the lobby/hall because it probably would not have fit in the elevator, and there would have been no where for it to sit in the room. The desk clerk made reservations for us for two tours and took a tip for doing so. He didn't confirm that the tours were acceptable for wheelchairs, and both tours, when we met them, turned us down. That was very poor service, in my opinion.

Room Tip: We did not see rooms other than the rooms-with-a-view, but I suspect they resembled closets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingmelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#135 of 1,271 in Rome
843 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#87 of 1,271 in Rome
684 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#446 of 1,271 in Rome
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#220 of 1,271 in Rome
1,265 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#620 of 1,271 in Rome
552 reviews
Trevi
Trevi Palace Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel

Address: Piazza di Trevi 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £82 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rome City Center: discover our charming Hotel Fontana overlooking the famous Trevi Fountain in Rome. Our comfortable rooms and trained staffa are ready to make your holidays in Rome unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fontana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing