We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place for Couples”
Review of Fontana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontana Hotel
Ranked #582 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Place for Couples”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I went with Family staying in 2 person rooms and I can say that if I had been with my significant other that we would have struggled to leave the room. I have suggested it to her and she is very much up for it! Lucky Me. The major selling point of course is being literally 15 feet from the most beautiful fountain in the world. The rooms are clean but not spacious and the internal decor is pleasant. Eating breakfast of melon and parma ham will always be a good memory sitting in the roof cafe watching the sun rise and illuminate the fountain below, what a day. It is well situated in the centre of Rome and is surrounded by Piazzas and is walking distance from most of the great monuments. One problem is though that the noise of the fountain can be heard easily and if you wanted to be sleeping this could be a problem, but for couples, who wants to be sleeping anyway!

Room Tip: Middle Floors give the best views of the Fountain from the Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    144
    78
    39
    40
See reviews for
64
198
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

It is the most beautiful location ever, the best hotel staff and a wonderful atmosphere all around, I miss the place and want to go back again and again and again. I've told my family and recommended to anyone else to go and visit it would be a crime to go to Rome and stay in an other location.

Room Tip: rooms on the front have a view to die for and the restaurant upstairs is a dream!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammadi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed in the Fontana Hotel which is in the centre of all attractions its a fantastic location and right out side the Trevi Fountain. You can walk to most of the attractions or get the Metro but watch your pockets on it. The hotel used to be an old monks monastery which is now converted into a hotel its old style high celling's and has a lovely character to it. The Staff are very friendly and helpful. The Bathrooms are very small but the rooms are quite spacious with four poster beds.
We had break each morning which is basic continental but there is a McDonalds 200m down the road! Dinner in the Hotel I wouldn't recommend expensive and horrible. There are lots of restaurants near by with plenty of deals but the catch is if the price out side says €5 for your meal you must sit out side and eat it if you go inside prices double and if they put bread on your table and you eat it they charge you for it... if you say you don't want the bread check your bill as you will still be charged for it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pameea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Located in the very heart of the city, with a gorgeous view on Fontana di Trevi, the most beautiful and famous fountain in Rome, Fontana Hotel is the perfect place for a romantic stay. We had the perfect Easter breakfast and a small present for everyone. Professional and highly qualified staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinodoraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

It was really nice. Location,cervice,atmosphere,neighbourhood and everything!I love to see the place again. It was not 5 stars hotel but was very clean with good service,cosy rooms,beautiful veranda with flowers and absolutely amazing view from hotel cafe! This hotel is older than "fontana di trevi" (Trevi fountain). When you live in the hotel,you find yourself like home.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makiaveli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were picked up at the airport by car arranged through the hotel (75e) It was after midnight when we arrived. We will never forget getting out of the car at the corner of the square and turning to see the fountain in all its glory, magic. Its a short walk across the square with your luggage. The reception was quick and we were assisted with our luggage. The lift is very small but does the job.We stayed in room 305 with a view of the Trevi Fountain. We loved our room, very clean, warm and comfortable, beds changed every day. Problem with TV was immediately sorted out. Shower was over the very deep bath.The staff were friendly and the breakfast room with view of the fountain was lovely, good selection of food at Breakfast, this is the only public space in this small hotel. We stayed in early December and had to drag ourselves away from the window, you could hear the fountain waters but not unduly noisy from the people in the square. It was totally fascinating what ever time of the day and spectacular view at night. The location is excellent easy to get every where on foot or taxi.Lots of little shops and restaurants locally but rather expensive due to the area. We went to the little church across the square for a Christmas concert, brilliant and free. Compared with other hotels it may seem expensive, but no hotel has this amazing unforgettable view. We fell in love with Roma, the Trevi Fountain and the Hotel. We tossed our coins and will be back. Hotel called a taxi for our return to the airport which cost 40E.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkjackie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights over Xmas.

Positives:
- We were blown away when we saw the view of the Trevi Fountain from our first floor room.

- Location was very central meaning we could walk to all the major tourist attractions. Reasonable walking distance (about 5 minutes) to a Metro station too. Also plenty if places to eat at (although very touristy hence a little more expensive than heading a little outside of the center which we'd recommend)

- breakfast was adequate (nice view from the breakfast room too)

Opportunities for improvement:
- as non-smokers we didn't enjoy the fact the whole hotel stunk of smoke. Not sure if this was because it was literally on top of such a popular tourist attraction & the fact just about everyone smokes in this country. This also meant we couldn't open our window for more than a minute before our own room filled up with smoke from the hundreds of people smoking below.

- bathroom & shower were tiny. We're lucky we're small in stature ourselves!

- wouldn't call the service overly enthusiastic, friendly or professional compared to other experiences we've had in Florence & Venice. Wasn't horrible, just wasn't great.

And I personally hate it when I'm in the middle of a service conversation and the hotel rep allows some ill-mannered ignoramus who believes they're more important than everyone else to not only interupt but then ignore me without even the slightest explanation or apology as they turn their attention to the person who pushed in as I stand there waiting for me query to be picked up again. Happened several times here
to the point where I actually felt compelled to address it (politely but assertively) only to be made to feel like i was being unreasonable. Not good enough.

- wifi rarely worked in our room

- the crowds, noise & hassle of the packed Trevi fountain was something we should have thought better about. Maybe we lack tolerance, but the huge crowds not to mention being harassed by literally dozens and dozens of street sellers who gave us no peace every time we set foot outside of the hotel trying to make you buy lasers, roses, noisy squeeky toys etc etc wore us down pretty quickly. The early morning racket from the maintenance people attending to the fountain (and we mean EARLY) was also something to consider.

For the price I guess it was ok, but that said we experienced better for less elsewhere in Italy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ShanmGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#153 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#460 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#576 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Trevi
Harry's Bar Trevi Hotel & Restaurant
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#334 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel

Property: Fontana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Trevi 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #582 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rome City Center: discover our charming Hotel Fontana overlooking the famous Trevi Fountain in Rome. Our comfortable rooms and trained staffa are ready to make your holidays in Rome unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fontana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing