We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique. june 2011”
Review of Fontana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontana Hotel
Ranked #571 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Mississippi Gulf Coast, Mississippi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“unique. june 2011”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

strange dark hotel . unfriendly... so we thought. Initial impressions were cultural and we soon adjusted.
We stayed 3 nights in 2011.Myself and my 16 year old daughter and 14 year old son. It was the only hotel directly in front of Trevi Fountain. Good centrally located area.
Our clerk was helpful,breakfast on the roof nice. Room clean and building old but that was expected and desired. The atmosphere was Rome !
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    144
    78
    39
    40
See reviews for
64
198
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel just in front of the trevi fountain! Spectacular view for breakfast! If you want to live a piece of dolce vita go there. ..you can live in another era and in another time! The best hotel in the eternal city!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
282 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've been to this hotel 3 times in the past 20 years, last time was more than 5 years ago, we found it to be always very romantic and convenient , so went back again as a nostalgic choice.

And the hotel hasn't changed since then (..), it stilll has the most romantic view of the trevi fountain (so make sure to get a room with a view !) but then again we felt now this remained in fact the one and only reason you should book this place.

Don't expect wonderful rooms, neither fantastic service. We told upfront that it was our 4th booking and requested a room on a high floor (to have less noise from the crowd) + non smoking, and got none of all this (although that it was all confirmed upfront !)

We got a room on the first floor (106), which was a worn out small room, good bed although. When we mentioned this to the reception, the guy over there only mentioned that it's smoking/non smoking everywhere in the hotel (we understood better now why they put up non smoking signs in the hotel and in the same time next to it an ashtray..)

Anyway, we found again some interesting restaurants, the one for sure we want to recommend is LA PACE DEL PALATO, it’s near piazza navona, and we had the best food there out of the 4 resto’s we did, just make sure to book for dinner, as the place fills up quite quickly.

We're although not sure if we would come back for another time to this hotel..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I went with Family staying in 2 person rooms and I can say that if I had been with my significant other that we would have struggled to leave the room. I have suggested it to her and she is very much up for it! Lucky Me. The major selling point of course is being literally 15 feet from the most beautiful fountain in the world. The rooms are clean but not spacious and the internal decor is pleasant. Eating breakfast of melon and parma ham will always be a good memory sitting in the roof cafe watching the sun rise and illuminate the fountain below, what a day. It is well situated in the centre of Rome and is surrounded by Piazzas and is walking distance from most of the great monuments. One problem is though that the noise of the fountain can be heard easily and if you wanted to be sleeping this could be a problem, but for couples, who wants to be sleeping anyway!

Room Tip: Middle Floors give the best views of the Fountain from the Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

It is the most beautiful location ever, the best hotel staff and a wonderful atmosphere all around, I miss the place and want to go back again and again and again. I've told my family and recommended to anyone else to go and visit it would be a crime to go to Rome and stay in an other location.

Room Tip: rooms on the front have a view to die for and the restaurant upstairs is a dream!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammadi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed in the Fontana Hotel which is in the centre of all attractions its a fantastic location and right out side the Trevi Fountain. You can walk to most of the attractions or get the Metro but watch your pockets on it. The hotel used to be an old monks monastery which is now converted into a hotel its old style high celling's and has a lovely character to it. The Staff are very friendly and helpful. The Bathrooms are very small but the rooms are quite spacious with four poster beds.
We had break each morning which is basic continental but there is a McDonalds 200m down the road! Dinner in the Hotel I wouldn't recommend expensive and horrible. There are lots of restaurants near by with plenty of deals but the catch is if the price out side says €5 for your meal you must sit out side and eat it if you go inside prices double and if they put bread on your table and you eat it they charge you for it... if you say you don't want the bread check your bill as you will still be charged for it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pameea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Located in the very heart of the city, with a gorgeous view on Fontana di Trevi, the most beautiful and famous fountain in Rome, Fontana Hotel is the perfect place for a romantic stay. We had the perfect Easter breakfast and a small present for everyone. Professional and highly qualified staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinodoraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#154 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#458 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#577 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#96 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Trevi
Harry's Bar Trevi Hotel & Restaurant
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#339 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel

Property: Fontana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Trevi 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #571 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rome City Center: discover our charming Hotel Fontana overlooking the famous Trevi Fountain in Rome. Our comfortable rooms and trained staffa are ready to make your holidays in Rome unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Fontana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing