We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Fountain, noisy crowds and underwhelming Hotel”
Review of Fontana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontana Hotel
Ranked #549 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible Fountain, noisy crowds and underwhelming Hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed with my wife at the Fontana Hotel in front of the Trevi Fountain for our Anniversary in March. Did not remember the CROWDS being so huge before. The hotel is a perfect location and the photos on our Blog richerforwandering say a lot, but the Hotel is less on amenities than you would expect for the price. Price is Hiltonesque, accommodations are Holiday Inn. The rooftop Breakfast is nice overlooking the Fountain, go early as we did, otherwise later guests do not get the view, or the plates of food are not refilled on the buffet. Again, no real complaints, just could have been a bit nicer for the money.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room on second floor for view of Fountains, get up early for the buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richerforwandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    149
    80
    41
    40
See reviews for
70
205
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After staying here six years ago with another couple, we all returned last weekend for an overnight stay. The experience six years was positive, but this time the front desk manager was rude, patronizing, and totally indifferent to the hotel's booking error. We made reservations in January and received confirmations for two rooms. However, when we checked in only one reservation was found. He spun several yarns before finally telling us the truth. He also said the one room that was confirmed had a fountain view. One couple was shipped off 10 minutes away. We didn't find out until we got to the room that our view was of four rusting pipes, not the Trevi Fountain. The complete lack of indifference by the manager was appalling. At one time this was a charming hotel with a great view; now its staff is as tired and worn out as the hotel is.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If location is everything, this hotel is for you! We really enjoyed this location and the room we had was kinda cool - it had a bathroom that was actually down a few steps away from the beds. We had Charming room with comfortable beds. We met our daughter in Italy and it was easy to find us when the hotel is literally right in front of Trevi. The breakfast was great and the breakfast room is charming again with great views of Trevi.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you ask for a quite room away from Trevi, you wont have a view of Trevi but you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

As always an honest review.
All about location location location, and it is stunning. We upgraded to a superior room as we wanted a view and what a view it is. I did see into the room opposite and it was tiny!!!! You get what you pay for I guess.
The room was small but was very clean, it had a king bed which was comfy, teeny weeny bathroom with the smallest of showers, but the water was hot and you can alter the shower head for different sprays, very old type of hair dryer though!! Maid service daily and when we asked for two wine glasses we were given them immediately upon asking.
The noise didn't really bother us to be honest but what can you expect when you overlook the Trevi Fountain. We spent a good hour a day people watching from our window, amazing what you see!!
ALL the staff were very polite and friendly, by the second morning the waiter at breakfast would bring out black coffee as soon as we sat down and the waitress always spoke to us about our day. The chap that showed us to our room couldn't of been more helpful, told us where the nearest Metro was, good restaurants that were near by and how far it was to walk every where.
Yes I'd go back and would recommend it to anyone but you MUST have a superior room

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tinks186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Chose this hotel for its location. Please bare in mind that only 306 and 307 have a veranda/balcony. All other rooms/floors only have a window and 1,2,3,4,5 rooms face the rear not the fountain. Very noisy due to the tourists on Piazza Trevi. Comfty beds, tiny bathroom. Staff on breakfast room moody as hell and only 2 small tables by the window to look at the Fontana, however tasty deli meats, pastries, thick Turkish style coffee and fruit, cereals etc. Reception hit and miss. The night shift gent was friendly and spoke many languages. The day staff didn't even reply to our buongiorno. So overall, great romantic old little hotel. Will be great if you manage to get the right room.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruloverin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi Gulf Coast, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

strange dark hotel . unfriendly... so we thought. Initial impressions were cultural and we soon adjusted.
We stayed 3 nights in 2011.Myself and my 16 year old daughter and 14 year old son. It was the only hotel directly in front of Trevi Fountain. Good centrally located area.
Our clerk was helpful,breakfast on the roof nice. Room clean and building old but that was expected and desired. The atmosphere was Rome !
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel just in front of the trevi fountain! Spectacular view for breakfast! If you want to live a piece of dolce vita go there. ..you can live in another era and in another time! The best hotel in the eternal city!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#143 of 1,261 in Rome
817 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#585 of 1,261 in Rome
539 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#481 of 1,261 in Rome
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#88 of 1,261 in Rome
647 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#204 of 1,261 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Trevi
Harry's Bar Trevi Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel

Property: Fontana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Trevi 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rome City Center: discover our charming Hotel Fontana overlooking the famous Trevi Fountain in Rome. Our comfortable rooms and trained staffa are ready to make your holidays in Rome unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Fontana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing