We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Fontana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontana Hotel
Ranked #535 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at Fontana for 2 nights in late May 2014,to meet up with a European friend after a cruise from Athens to Rome before returning home to Australia..What a location! , You could always find your way back to it, just follow the crowds!!

The rooms were fairly small, but as one is out sightseeing.it really didnt matter. Lovely breakfast room overlooking the fountain and if up early could see the creepy krawly cleaning the water,this happens on a Monday apparently and the coins collected daily., The breakfast was excellent, a small room, the restaurant manager was very informative and helpful. Crowds built up during the day and by evening almost a carnival atmosphere and all viewed from my room above. , Loved it.. What a contrast to the impersonal modern hotels of today.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Fontana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in May, 2014.

Pros:
• The location is excellent.
• For the most part, the staff is very friendly. Isaac has worked there for over 15 years which is a good sign
• The breakfast overlooking the fountain is excellent. It's fun to watch them clean the coins out every morning

Cons:
•For a hotel in this price range, it is surprising they make you sign in every day with a new wifi password you have to get from the desk - a hassle
•Rooms are small
•If you have a high window sill, you will only see the fountain by standing right at the opening
• The fountain is noisy - be aware of this

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dswwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very busy location on the door steps of Trevi fountain which I didn't mind as we wanted a central location for sightseeing, dinning out, shops etc. staff were very helpful on arrival. The rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking Trevi can be noisey, our room was at the back and was lovely with unusual slopping beams and 2 double beds. The small breakfast room overlooks the fountain, we sat there one afternoon and had a lovely bottle of wine...very Italian hotel with basic facilities but still really good!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel if you want a quiet room and upgrade to a bigger room as some...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazcod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed with my wife at the Fontana Hotel in front of the Trevi Fountain for our Anniversary in March. Did not remember the CROWDS being so huge before. The hotel is a perfect location and the photos on our Blog richerforwandering say a lot, but the Hotel is less on amenities than you would expect for the price. Price is Hiltonesque, accommodations are Holiday Inn. The rooftop Breakfast is nice overlooking the Fountain, go early as we did, otherwise later guests do not get the view, or the plates of food are not refilled on the buffet. Again, no real complaints, just could have been a bit nicer for the money.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room on second floor for view of Fountains, get up early for the buffet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richerforwandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After staying here six years ago with another couple, we all returned last weekend for an overnight stay. The experience six years was positive, but this time the front desk manager was rude, patronizing, and totally indifferent to the hotel's booking error. We made reservations in January and received confirmations for two rooms. However, when we checked in only one reservation was found. He spun several yarns before finally telling us the truth. He also said the one room that was confirmed had a fountain view. One couple was shipped off 10 minutes away. We didn't find out until we got to the room that our view was of four rusting pipes, not the Trevi Fountain. The complete lack of indifference by the manager was appalling. At one time this was a charming hotel with a great view; now its staff is as tired and worn out as the hotel is.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If location is everything, this hotel is for you! We really enjoyed this location and the room we had was kinda cool - it had a bathroom that was actually down a few steps away from the beds. We had Charming room with comfortable beds. We met our daughter in Italy and it was easy to find us when the hotel is literally right in front of Trevi. The breakfast was great and the breakfast room is charming again with great views of Trevi.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you ask for a quite room away from Trevi, you wont have a view of Trevi but you wil...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As always an honest review.
All about location location location, and it is stunning. We upgraded to a superior room as we wanted a view and what a view it is. I did see into the room opposite and it was tiny!!!! You get what you pay for I guess.
The room was small but was very clean, it had a king bed which was comfy, teeny weeny bathroom with the smallest of showers, but the water was hot and you can alter the shower head for different sprays, very old type of hair dryer though!! Maid service daily and when we asked for two wine glasses we were given them immediately upon asking.
The noise didn't really bother us to be honest but what can you expect when you overlook the Trevi Fountain. We spent a good hour a day people watching from our window, amazing what you see!!
ALL the staff were very polite and friendly, by the second morning the waiter at breakfast would bring out black coffee as soon as we sat down and the waitress always spoke to us about our day. The chap that showed us to our room couldn't of been more helpful, told us where the nearest Metro was, good restaurants that were near by and how far it was to walk every where.
Yes I'd go back and would recommend it to anyone but you MUST have a superior room

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tinks186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#143 of 1,267 in Rome
826 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#583 of 1,267 in Rome
545 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#84 of 1,267 in Rome
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#217 of 1,267 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#461 of 1,267 in Rome
1,044 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#318 of 1,267 in Rome
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel

Address: Piazza di Trevi 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #535 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £91 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rome City Center: discover our charming Hotel Fontana overlooking the famous Trevi Fountain in Rome. Our comfortable rooms and trained staffa are ready to make your holidays in Rome unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fontana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing