We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIghly Recommend - Charming and Spotless”
Review of Hotel Modigliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Modigliani
Ranked #106 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“HIghly Recommend - Charming and Spotless”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A spotlessly clean hotel with friendly and very helpful staff, excellent breakfast including hot items and a perfect location very close to the Spanish Steps. What more can you ask for? Please do not hesitate to stay at the Hotel Modigliani. The rooms are ample size. The bathroom was large and modern with the most perfect shower. The common areas on the ground floor are very comfortable and offer free WIFI and a computer for hotel guests. The Hotel Modigliani was a great place to stay for my first trip to Rome. You can walk almost everywhere. Very reasonable for Rome. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    428
    85
    34
    13
See reviews for
241
578
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Champagne Le Sec France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday in Rome in early April, this hotel could not have been better for all we wanted to do. Situation ideal for walking to places of interest, very convenient for bus and metro. Staff were so friendly and helpful, even printed out bus routes/ times for us one evening. Superb breakfast selection, public rooms very comfortable as was our bedroom, at the back of the hotel with small balcony, just right for early evening drink in late Roman sunshine. Superb small Osteria Barberini. on the same road for intimate supper. Transport to and from airport was arranged for us. Cannot fault the hotel and especially the staff, so very much better than large impersonal hotels. We threw our coins into the Trevi fountain to return again to Rome and will certainly stay at the Modigliani

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and with small balcony are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is a mixed experience. When you arrive, no one assists you in bringing in your bags down the steps into the lobby. You receive a voucher for a "welcome drink." This is not a nice glass of wine - it is a so-called Bellini, in a very small glass, made with cheap Prosecco and processed (not fresh) peach juice. The breakfast is pedestrian, and the coffee - in Rome! - is from a press-the-button machine like you see in gyms and car dealerships. They push local restaurants run by friends of the owners. The rooms are exceedingly small and spartan, and the shower in our bathroom was a vinyl installation that was so tight that my husband - an average man - could barely get into it. (Even I found it tight.) They would not provide an iron - even briefly - on the theory that it was a "safety issue." So, don't expect to press that dress after its long flight to Rome in your suitcase - and after all, there is no space in the room for an ironing board anyway. There is free WiFi only in the lobby; you have to pay if you want to use it in your room, so the lobby is always full of people checking their email, rather than relaxing.

What I liked: a good location, an attractively decorated lobby and breakfast room, and one very nice young man who was sometimes at the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room, garden side, skip the balcony and get a larger room with space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portia08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambery, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Every body is very nice and smiling! The hôtel is well situated. The room was very clean and quiet? The breakfast is very good with a big choice.
We stayed for 6 nights and will come again next time in Roma. We recommend this hotel highly !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location makes Rome available by walking if you don't mind a bit of walking; the vicinity to Villa Borghese is a plus for us.
We spent a long weekend and find this a perfect location for exploring Rome. The hotel had clean but small room and bath. The tiny back yard (garden) is a nice retreat if you We were locate towards the street but even so the evening noise if no problem, and we slept well and the breakfast (included) in our package was above our expectation, as Italian breakfast can be a bit minimalistic. But this one had fruits, something hot, something sweet and serials so no reason to leave hungry.
Good value for money in a central location.

Room Tip: Go for a room high up and towards the back, but avoid the room that has a window directly to the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troender63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Introduced to this hotel by Fodors and Rick Steves in 2010. Since then have been a regular on numerous trips to Italy both as a transit (1 or 2 nights) and long stay (7 or 8 nights). The total nights stayed is around 35. Always have stayed in upper floors on garden side (views over Rome great and winter sun appreciated late afternoon). Generally rooms (other than 602) are smallish for a couple as are showers.Rooms on the front side are generally a little larger. Hair dryer super clunky but effective. All my extended stays have been off season and rooms heated well. Three of the stays were with my wife and the others solo. The location is impossible to beat--near the top of the Spanish Steps and easily walks to Trevi, Pantheon, etc. Bus, taxi and metro are 2 minutes away. Staff is very friendly and helpful with apparently low turnover--Andrea, Stefano, Nicola and office Manager Francesco all know my face, if not my name. Rooms clean and breakfast OK--in fact improved my last stay of three nights-March 2014. Walls and doors a little thin so any noisy neighbors are well heard. Two other couples took my recommendation to stay here on the Rome part of their Italian tours in high summer. They reported satisfaction and good air con. While I have stayed at the Savoy on my first trip, once I discovered the Modigliani I haven't changed. Good value especially off season..Hope I can continue to frequent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was our 1st visit to Rome and we could not have been happier with our choice of hotel. We were pleasantly surprised on entering this hotel up a quiet street from piazza barberini. The hotel is stylish and beautifully decorated wit marble floors and gorgeous furniture. The dining area is stunning with a great breakfast buffet offered including local delicacies. We had a glass of wine here 1 evening and you can also have a pizza or pasta throughout the day. We were recommended several local trattorias at reception and had a wonderful evening out at one of them on the street adjacent. Our bedroom was lovely with a small rooftop terrace overlooking the area. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The area is perfectly located with 5 minute walk to the Spanish steps and Piazza Popolo, Via del Corso and Via Veneto. There are also shops, cafes and restaurants in the immediate vicinity as well as the stop for the tourist buses.

We normally stay in larger hotels but following our visit to this hotel it has changed our perception and will look at smaller boutique hotels in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teejay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,259 in Rome
844 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#61 of 1,259 in Rome
364 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,259 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#155 of 1,259 in Rome
1,545 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#62 of 1,259 in Rome
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modigliani

Property: Hotel Modigliani
Address: Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#96 Family Hotel in Rome
#169 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet old street near the Spanish Steps and the imposing Via Veneto Hotels, this boutique Hotel is the ideal and charming place to have a pleasant holiday in Rome.The delightful inner garden and the large tasteful drawing-room offer the quietness so rare in the Rome Hotels. In this Bed and breakfast Hotels you’ll find the best cappuccino and 23 rooms with air conditioning, minibar, satellite Tv, safe, hairdryer and bath shower. The Superior rooms on the top floor of the Hotel offer a spectacular view on Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modigliani Hotel Rome
Hotel Modigliani Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing