We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Modigliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Modigliani
Ranked #133 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel and it was awesome. The best part of the hotel was the staff, they were so friendly and so helpful. They helped me find gnocchi boards outside of the city :)
The rooms are simple but very clean. Breakfast was full of variety but after 4 nights I wanted something a little different :)
The location was awesome, i walked everywhere :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 12Teena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were able to stay in the Apartment in this charming, and stylish Hotel. This was our first visit to Rome, and we liked the location, and the quiet street it is located on.
The staff is very nice and helpful, there is someone on the desk 24 hours. The Breakfast is very, very good. We were impressed with the food and service of the people running the place. It is very stylish!
We loved the Apartment, as there were 4 of us, and the older boys had a room to themselves. There is a charming courtyard right outside the Apartment to sit in the garden and relax , read or get ready for the day. The rooms were very clean, and we had plenty of space. Also very quiet.
The only reason I am giving the hotel 4 instead of 5, is there is no Bar to hang out at night, or roof top area. We would stay here again, and sure hope we can. Thank you for a wonderful first visiy to Roma!

Room Tip: Apartment is great for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMPleasanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Located off a main piazza, this hotel is located fantastically with numerous restaurants located a street over each side.
The foyer and bar area is gorgeous with simple and elegant decor.
The room itself is largely sized but unfortunately lacks luggage racks, so the use of the chairs may be necessary. The bathroom also lacks hooks to hang any items. The beds are simple foldaway beds, but after a long day of walking and exploring, it'll be like a cloud.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
This is a great hotel for those on a budget considering it's closeness to Via Veneto.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our group of 4 was looking for a place to stay in Rome that didn't break the bank, but still in a good location. We actually took the train in from Salerno and walked, with our bags, from Termini to the hotel, which wasn't bad at all (just over a mile).

Walking up to the hotel, it was beautiful on the outside and inside, always very clean. I cannot say enough good things about the staff! Answered every question, if they didn't know the answer they were quick to grab the phone and call places to find out. Very helpful with restaurant reservations and recommendations. Highly recommend Osteria Barberini right down the street, and Il Giardino di Albino just around the corner. They also arranged a van to take us to the airport upon checkout.

Coffee/Breakfast hit the spot each morning, common area wi-fi was nice. Didn't need it in my room, I'm on vacation, I didn't want to be glued to my phone/computer the whole time anyway. Just a convenient way to check in, maybe not ideal if you're traveling for business.

The rooms are small, the shower is small, but had all the comforts we needed. Beds were firm but we slept SO well. We had room 402, it was great, had a little balcony. Our friends had 101, which was a little bigger, but no balcony. We were both very pleased with our accommodations.

I cannot imagine a better place to stay. Hotel Modigliani helped make our time in Rome very memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dandridge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a great hotel in rome considering it is an expensive city and this hotel is reasonably priced. The staff are friendly and helpful with excellent english and were at the desk at all hours. The hotel is around the corner from the borghese gardens which are the best in rome.
Food: They provide recommendations for restaurants and also provide an excellent buffet breakfast, eggs, cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit etc. If you want great food for dinner, go and experience the city and eat out.
Location: In terms of location, it is in a very good spot, right near the via del corso (main shopping street) and around the the corner from the spanish steps. Further, the train station closest is Barberini which is 2 stops from the main Termini station, and there's a bus stop with buses that run past the colosseum.
Room: The bathroom was good and the shower excellent. Yes the beds were hard, but all the other factors outweigh this, and if you have been pounding the beautiful streets all day, you will be so exhausted anyway you won't notice. Also, in terms of room size, it should be irrelevant because if you are in Rome, you should really not be spending your time in your room. My room, 102, was a lovely size, bed, side tables, minibar, cupboard and a good mirror. Clean and air-conditioned. They also provide laundry service. Bonus. Definitely recommend it, I also stayed in a number of small hotels from milan to rome, travelled in Italy for a month. Made my stay in rome wonderful!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImogenW713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I really liked this little hotel that was very convenient to many of Rome's best sites (too bad both Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps are both under construction!). It has a nice dining area (breakfast and lunch; not sure about dinner...definitely not on Sundays, the day we were there, as well as a lovely interior garden where we sat drinking wine in the evening. The hotel's decor has some lovely artwork and ceramics (which they sell). There was free wifi in the lounge area. Really a good vibe from the minute we entered the hotel. Both the man and woman at the front desk were super helpful and friendly, as well as the young man assisting us with some A/C issues in our room. My only negative would be about the beds...hard...although it seems like most of the beds we slept in, in Italy, were hard. Assuming that's the case everywhere, we'd definitely go back to this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: We noticed the two rooms that we saw with little balconies were quite a bit smaller than our room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megmeyer411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcomodigliani, Proprietario at Hotel Modigliani, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for your review.
We are glad about the feelings that our hotel gave to you since the first step though our front door. We are happy to inform you that our restaurant is open either at lunch and dinner time and we hope to have you as our guest in the future to make you taste our daily home made food again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Such a shame..
Great location, poor poor rooms, we had rooms 201 and 401.
Picture a small room in your head... Now halve it... Wait.... Halve it again, a kennel would have been a more appropriate term for these rooms.

No it's not cozy, no its not quaint, just plain old fashioned - Small.

Originally tried to book the apartment for the family about 8 months prior to travel, and was told it was booked out, so where do they put us in the smallest rooms of the hotel... Grazie!

Breakfast - ordinary, in fact not great.
WIFI - yep free in the Lobby, but paid in your rooms... There is a little hidden extra for you.
Staff - quite friendly.
Cleanliness - very clean - thank you
Bathrooms - small, but water pressure very good.

Room Tip: Don't get room 201 or 401.. Small room, no balcony, no anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#160 of 1,270 in Rome
1,251 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#222 of 1,270 in Rome
1,020 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#85 of 1,270 in Rome
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,270 in Rome
2,546 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,270 in Rome
1,611 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#154 of 1,270 in Rome
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modigliani

Address: Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#94 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#169 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £58 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet old street near the Spanish Steps and the imposing Via Veneto Hotels, this boutique Hotel is the ideal and charming place to have a pleasant holiday in Rome.The delightful inner garden and the large tasteful drawing-room offer the quietness so rare in the Rome Hotels. In this Bed and breakfast Hotels you’ll find the best cappuccino and 23 rooms with air conditioning, minibar, satellite Tv, safe, hairdryer and bath shower. The Superior rooms on the top floor of the Hotel offer a spectacular view on Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modigliani Hotel Rome
Hotel Modigliani Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing