We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast A Casa di Lia -Home in Rome
Ranked #723 of 3,668 Rome B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
1 review
“Going home”
Reviewed 30 January 2009

I am an American Roman born traveler. Casa di Lia is located in the neighborhood where I grew up. Every couple of years when my husband and I go to Rome, we always stay there. I am very familiar with the neighborhood. But during our last trip, we stayed there with my cousin and her husband and they felt comfortable going to the center without us. The apartment is a short walk to the Via Flaminio tram that goes to Piazza del Popolo where one finds buses and the subway.
Lia's perfect command of English makes my husband feel very comfortable. She is very friendly and helpful. Her suggestions and direction have always been helpful and accurate. The first time I went there, Lia emailed me very detailed instructions of how to get there, what floor the apartment was on, the cost of cabs, and how to identify the gypsy cabs. She is a great hostess. She goes the extra mile. Three years ago our children called her and together they planned a surprise for our wedding anniversary. When we came back from a day of sightseeing we found champagne and flowers in our room.
The building complex is in a little quiet green oasis. No cars are allowed but cats and children roam freely. I often relax sitting on one of the benches reading a book and listening to the family sounds of families coming through the open windows.

If you want to see how the Romans live, this is the perfect neighborhood. As you go to the tram, you see the children going to school, the neighbors walking their dog, mothers doing their shopping, and friends having animated talks. Just outside the complex within a couple of blocks you will find the best gelato store, four restaurants, a Pub, takeout pizza and sushi, various bars, a small supermarket, and a fruit and vegetable store.

Another reason why we love staying there is that because the per night cost is so reasonable that we can afford to stay in Rome for a longer period of time.

  • Liked — It feels like home
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank frandytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
26
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

My husband and I spent our last night in Rome at A Casa di Lia. We booked on Venere.com at 110 Euros for a double with our own bathroom. The room and bathroom were very clean except the shower curtain had mildew all over it. I think it's time to change it. Also our television didn't work. We didn't ask about it because we were only there one night so maybe there was a trick we didn't know about with the remote.

Also, we had to leave before 6am and I just assumed we would miss the breakfast--but I read another review saying it's a help yourself breakfast which Lia didn't even mention to us. She did however, offer us espresso when we arrived and wine and limoncello in the evening.

PROS: In beautiful apartment complex with many trees, the area is nice and quiet, there are cute cats all over the complex outside, great restaurant nearby (Pizzeria Vignola - www.ristorantevignola.it), Lia is very friendly and helpful with directions from her place, fun espresso machine, elevator building.

CONS: There are no numbers or names on most of the doors of the building, so I had no idea what floor she was on (5th floor, I think #21), mildewy shower curtain, need to take tram or walk 15-20 minutes to city center or the first metro stop, Flamino-Piazza del Popolo (can also be a pro), slightly overpriced given the location and no service breakfast

  • Liked — Cute, quaint place, quiet, Lia is very friendly
  • Disliked — A little far from city center
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26gark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Booked through Venere.com
Lia gives a warm welcome and is goes above and beyond with maps, directions, etc.
Your room will only be cleaned every 3 days... this includes towels.
Breakfast is self-serve. Consists of croissants, bread, juice, corn flakes and cappuccino.
Location is alright, but you must take a tram or bus to get anywhere of importance. Pretty quiet, since there is only one other room for board.
Pretty good for the price. Might look around a bit more before booking here again.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CMcKAncaster_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in April, 2007 and we had a wonderful experience. The property is located in a quiet neighborhood in Rome and is surrounded by nice gardens. We felt very safe in the area at all times. There is a tram stop just down the street from the property that will take you to the Metro station at the City Gates within minutes. From there you can walk or take the Metro anywhere you wish to go in Rome. Getting around Rome is very easy. Lia, the owner was extremely nice and helpful. She provided maps and information and even helped us map out a walking tour of Rome which we did our first afternoon. Within no time at all, we were at the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon etc. The rooms were nice and clean and the bathroom was great. It even had a full size tub/shower which is a rarity in Europe. Lia also provides a continental breakfast of croissants, toast with jams and your own espresso/cappucino machine which we took advantage of every morning. There is a good restaurant called Pizzeria Vignola just down the street that has good food and a local atmosphere. If you're planning to spend time in Rome I would definitely consider A Casa Di Lia for a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Location, owner was so helpful.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridebianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Maison Flaminio B&B
Maison Flaminio B&B
#157 of 3,668 in Rome
97 reviews
Flaminio
B&B Il Cinquino
B&B Il Cinquino
#760 of 3,668 in Rome
36 reviews
Flaminio
flaminia366
flaminia366
#1,816 of 3,668 in Rome
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flaminio
FACEtoFACE House
FACEtoFACE House
#302 of 3,668 in Rome
228 reviews
Flaminio
Maison Angelus
Maison Angelus
#88 of 1,100 in Rome
40 reviews
Flaminio
B&B Sinfonia sul Tevere
B&B Sinfonia sul Tevere
#39 of 1,100 in Rome
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast A Casa di Lia -Home in Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast A Casa di Lia -Home in Rome

Property: Bed and Breakfast A Casa di Lia -Home in Rome
Address: Lungotevere Flaminio 48 | Pal. 3 Sc. A/21 - Sterlini, 5th Floor, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Flaminio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #723 of 3,668 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast A Casa di Lia - Home in Rome is in the centre of Rome by the river Tiber 10 minutes on foot from the Auditorium Parco della Musica, the Olympic Stadium, Foro Italico, MAXXI, Teatro Olimpico, Stadio Flaminio and Ponte Milvio, and 15 minutes on foot from historic central Rome, Piazza del Popolo, via del Corso, Villa Borghese, Pincio, the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. The Bed and Breakfast A Casa di Lia -Home in Rome is a cosy bed and breakfast exquisitely appointed, quiet and clean. It is situated in a penthouse with view at the 5th floor, with elevator, in a restored Roman house of years 20s - inside a safe and peaceful gorgeous residential complex, with a private park and no noise from the traffic: Villa Riccio, an oasis in the centre of Rome. The bathroom is en-suite and hair-drier, shampoo, foam bath and towels are provided. The king size bed has a comfortable fireproof orthopaedic mattress and wooden bed base. On request, twin beds or, if necessary, an extra bed, considering however that there is not much room. Air conditioning, High-speed WiFi, LCD flat-screen TV. The view is over the trees, the roofs and the terraces of Rome. Italian continental self service breakfast buffet - Lavazza expresso capsules, coffee, cappuccino, milk, tea, juice, croissants, toasted bread with butter and jam - is at guests' disposal in the morning in the breakfast corner, set-up with refrigerator, toaster, kettle, hotplate and a computer with high-speed internet connection. The bed and breakfast is separated from the rest of the penthouse where Lia lives with her family, the dog and the cats, so that you can keep your own privacy and feel like at home in a friendly and safe environment. There is no problem of allergy as Gordon, the German shepherd, and the cats live outside in the terrace. Lia speaks English and some Spanish and French. Guests are provided with full information needed to enjoy their Roman Holidays. Excellent restaurants round the corner. The Bed and Breakfast A Casa di Lia -Home in Rome is a strategic home base for attending sport and art events as well as sightseeing the eternal city avoiding the Roman traffic. From Termini Railways Station there is bus 910 that drives you directly right under the bed and breakfast entering from gate 75 Viale del Vignola. From Bed and Breakfast A Casa di Lia,the shuttle-tram No. 2 Gets in 5 minutes to underground line A Flaminio-Piazza del Popolo, from where in 2 stops you can reach St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums, and in 4 stops Termini Railways Station. By the electric bus from via del Corso you can quickly get to the "Wedding Cake", Fori Imperiali and the Colosseum. Crossing Ponte della Musica by bus No. 32 You can go to viale di Tor di Quinto in 15 minutes to Caserma dei Carabinieri Salvo d'Acquisto. Bus 280 from piazza Mancini to Trastevere and Porta Portese. Train Roma - Viterbo from piazzale Flaminio to Centro di Preparazione Olimpica Giulio Onesti, Centro RAI Saxa Rubra, Gran Teatro and Sant'Andrea Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed and Breakfast A Casa di Lia -Home in Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing