We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“previous adverse comments”
Review of Hotel Pavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pavia
Ranked #1,149 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“previous adverse comments”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Having booked The Pavia for my friend and I mainly for its location and price, we were somewhat taken aback when we read some of the adverse comments listed on your web site; we were not looking forward to staying at this hotel.
On arrival we found this small family run hotel within easy walking distance of the main station in a very small and quiet side street. Our check-in went smoothly and we climbed two flights of stairs to reach our room, which although on the small size was immaculately clean with an adequately sized double bed and sufficient wardrobe space.The bathroom had been completely modernised. The balcony overlooked the grounds of the Baths of Diocletian. Yes we did pay a premium for air condioning. Breakfast, served in an annex cellar was more than adequate .
My friend and I feel that some of your published complaints are not only unjustified but some are completely out of date. I must point out that we were the only English speaking people in the Pavia - the other guests being French, Swiss or Italian, all of whom seemed to be satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    16
    22
    55
See reviews for
20
40
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Close to main train station, economical, very dated, very helpful staff, quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We chose this hotel as it was in an excellent location. We read some reviews but was not put off. I am pleased we wasnt. This hotel is very basic, but as we are only sleeping there I did not see this as a problem. For the price we paid compared to local hotels I would recommend this. The staff were all so helpful and friendly. I could not say a bad word about them. It is currently undergoing refrub as the rooms are a little tired, but this is to be expected.It is very quiet concidering the location and we slept straight through.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMad91010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Horrible hotel, disgusting rooms and terribly bad staff. Breakfast in a very small room, where it is impossible to welcome more than 8 guests at the same time. Bathroom looks like a battlefield and the stains on walls, carpet, tv, fridge, door etc are the decor and the pride of the hotel. I would never go there even if it would be the only hotel in whole Rome.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Florian300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Even with the bad reviews, we chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Termini station/metro BUT the quadruple room is so tiny that there is hardly any space to move (you also need to climb up 3 flights of stairs with luggage). You need to pay for the air conditioning (no mention anywhere when you book or on their website) and there is no warm/hot water for the showers. When we told the reception about it, he gave us a crap excuse about the water tank (obviously no hot water even in the afternoon when it’s not crowded). The hair-dryer is damaged and the drain is blocked – can’t shower for more than 10 minutes. The door of the fridge doesn’t close properly so it never stays cool and there is only one socket in the entire room (There is one next to the sink but how can you charge your phone there?). Internet is also unreliable.

Overall, there are many hotels nearby– don’t let them trick you with their ‘garden’ or ‘friendly service’ (total nonsense from their website) – STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL. Most importantly, shame on the people who grade the hotels in Rome – how in the world can this hotel be 3 stars? No lobby; the reception is just a desk along with all the stuff I mentioned above. The ‘star system’ in Europe is a joke!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swong1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2011

With out going into great detail, let me just say that this is without a doubt the worst place I have ever considered staying. I didn't actually stay there.... After being yelled at by the desk clerk and climbing 3 flights of stairs to find our room, which turned out to be gloomily dark, without air conditioning, smelling of mold and just plain disgusting, we left the hotel and got a much nicer room at a much lower rate elsewhere. We had never reserved a room at this hotel. We booked a room online at Hotel Urbis. When we got there, they did not have our room and said that they had reserved us a room at Hotel Pavia.... Long story short, I think the two hotels were working together on some kind of bait and switch scam. My advise is to steer clear of both hotels!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LATraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

If you want an American style hotel room, don't stay here. If you want a cheap, no frills Italian hotel room, this isn't too bad. Parking was handy and they let us leave our car there most of the second day of our stay for free. Only a few rooms have A/C and in the heat of the summer, you may want this (surcharge) as the hotel gets pretty hot. The free breakfast wasn't too bad; only complaint was no fruit at all. Proximity to Termini and both Metro lines is handy. A decent very cheap option in Rome. The rooms are outdated. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipsrhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Siviglia Hotel
Siviglia Hotel
#943 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#974 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Hotel Baltic
#1,075 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#786 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Margaret Rome
Hotel Margaret Rome
#764 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#1,000 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavia

Property: Hotel Pavia
Address: Via Gaeta 83, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,149 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pavia 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in historical villa with a small garden; situated near the Terme di Diocleziano Gardens and Termini Rail Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing