We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Madrid
Ranked #115 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Great location, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The location is superb - a minute's walk from the Spanish Steps, including the metro stop there. Luciano was so helpful and kind. The hotel isn't fancy but it's clean. And the rooftop breakfast restaurant (with small terrace) overlooking the Vatican is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 945srm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay at Hotel Madrid Roma and we thank you for choosing us.

Specifically we are glad that you appreciated our lovely location, the neighborhood, the breakfast Roof with view, and our Staff !.

For always free wi.fi follow us on our off web page
We look forward to your return.

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    310
    79
    16
    8
See reviews for
381
233
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel Madrid is a budget hotel plain and simple. Good location close to the Spanish Steps and the room was clean. Nice breakfast and wifi included as we booked directly with the hotel. Amenities are lacking and the hotel shows its age so don't have high expectations. Depending on who was at the front the desk service ranged from excellent to poor. One receptionist always had an excuse as to why he couldn't process our passports, get extra towels or other things we requested. The other gentleman was great and had to do many of the things the other hadn't.

The bed was very hard and the shower tiny, even smaller than the cruise ship shower we'd had. Only one bath towel for two people (took 3 requests to get more) and the only glass in the room was an old plastic cup that had seen better days. The shower was really strange in that the soap and shampoo dish are outside so no where to put things while showering.

The price was good for Rome so if your expectations aren't high it will do. They did arrange a car to the airport for us which was great and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rooms in front are on the street and the windows don't block the noise. If you aren't an ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Madrid is a three star hotel so expectations have to be judged accordingly. It is a bit rough round the edges and certainly seen better days, much in need of some TLC. Although it's best point is definitely location and the excellent level of service by staff. Antonio on front desk is excellent and the staff on the roof garden are very attentive but the hotel's location is key. Our deluxe double was close to the mark and once you overlook the lack of facilities you always go back to a great location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a positive review.

We are happy that you appreciate our location, high level of services, helpful staff and our buffet beakfast with view.

For always better informations about local event follow us on instagram, facebook and twitter.

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hotel Madrid is located in the heart of Rome's old city. It is just 200 meters from the Spanish Steps and Via Condotti and that's the only good thing about it. We booked a room for 5 adults, and we were given a rectangular room, more long than wide, with 3 sofas and a bed. The air-conditioning barely works and most of the time , it was out of order. The bathroom is unbelievable long and narrow, making is extremely difficult to use.

The breakfast was nice with good selection.

There may be better hotels in the area with better facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms are too narrow, the bathroom too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,,
thank you for your review
I'm glad you enjoyed our location, in the heart of the historical centre of Rome.
I'm sorry you've had problems with the conditioning, if you did this to our staff surely this problem would have been solved with no problems.
I'm sorry you did not appreciate our family suite, surely one of the largest and most comfortable in the Spanish Steps area.
Many Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Have stayed many times in the Hotel Madrid. It is our "go to" hotel in Rome. The owners keep the rooms updated year after year. Though the rooms are small, they have roomy bathrooms and large beds. The location near the Spanish Steps is great, and just up the street are some nice bars and restaurants. We always look forward to this hotel when we are in Rome. The breakfast is always fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Friend,

We thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review.

We are very proud to remain a constatnt in your visits to Rome that continue to give you pleasure during your stay with us.
We are happy that you appreciate our central location, high level of services, friendly staff and our Roof-garden with view.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our second time staying at the Hotel Madrid! My grandchildren and I absolutely love this hotel and would recommend it to anyone! The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, especially Antonio at the front desk. The location is perfect because it is very close to the Spanish steps and has lovely side streets with plenty of good restaurants. The rooms are not only cozy and comfortable, but are also very clean. I do not have one complaint about this
hotel. The breakfast on the rooftop terrace is delicious with croissants, eggs, yogurt, muffins, etc. (an excellent way to start the day) Anytime I come back to Rome, I will stay at the Hotel Madrid and know that Antonio will be there smiling!

Room Tip: Book online or call ahead of time to let the staff know your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Rose,

Thank you for your beautiful review,
we are happy to know that you had a nice stay here in our hotel.
Our Staff is always ready to welcome our clients and help them during all their stay.

We hope to see you again

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We got the recommendation for the hotel from a friend who stayed there a few years ago. The location of the hotel was great!! You could walk to almost all major attractions and the local area was full of shopping and great places to either grab an expresso, have an inexpensive lunch or a great dinner. 2 minutes from the Spanish Steps. The exterior of the hotel was nothing to look at but the inside was very nice and charming. The staff at the front desk was great and always pleasant. Our room was on the 4th floor and our son had a single room on the 5th floor. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the air conditioner was great as the days got quite warm. The only comments I would have were that the carpeting needs to be steam cleaned or replaced as it appears quite old and the room had a slight smoker’s odor. My sons room was very nice as well but the shower water pressure was almost non-existent. Great breakfast though on the rooftop and the internet access was very good. Overall not a bad value for the location of the hotel. This could be a 4 star hotel with some updating and modifications. I would recommend taking a look at for your next trip.

Room Tip: 4th floor room even though on the street side was very quiet and air conditioner was great. Avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear John ,

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment you shared with us on TripAdvisor.
What a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our central location , the services and the staff,
The entire team will be thrilled to hear that their efforts were up to your expectations.
For always more informations about our hotel and last news follow us on twitter, instagram and facebook.
We are looking forward to your next visit,

Yours sincerely,

Fulvio G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#54 of 1,261 in Rome
376 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#63 of 1,261 in Rome
642 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,261 in Rome
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,261 in Rome
1,198 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#162 of 1,261 in Rome
810 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madrid

Property: Hotel Madrid
Address: Via Mario De' Fiori 93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Family Hotel in Rome
#137 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#177 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome is an immense city but there is only one place that represents it like no other - Piazza di Spagna. Here on these authentic Roman streets, only 100 meters from the Spanish Steps (Piazza di Spagna) and the Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi), is located the 3-star Hotel Madrid where the staff welcomes you as family and everything is in walking distance. Singles, doubles triples and our big family suites with free wi-fi. Panoramic Roof-garden for your morning buffet breakfast with view and a good thea in the afternoon ! Private Limo Service from and to the Internatinal Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Hotel Rome
Hotel Madrid Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing