We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bliss again - third time in 25 years”
Review of Hotel Gregoriana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gregoriana
Ranked #386 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bliss again - third time in 25 years”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed again at this splendid establishment. First in 1990, then in 1992 and again in 2013. Great improvements in bathrooms, beds and services. Location is superb: close to all retail and historical sites yet quiet and peaceful. Have now stayed as a daughter with my mother, as a friend with three young women, and with my male partner of 20 years. I cannot fault this establishment. In every iteration, I felt welcome and valued. Staff are generous and knowledgable. We especially appreciated Aldo, Francesco and Sandro and le Donne who served breakfast and cleaned for us. We will be back !

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominica7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGregoriana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing this kind review.

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have chosen the Hotel Gregoriana over the years and enjoyed your stay time after time.

We really look forward to your fourth visit!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    41
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
44
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Steps away from the top of the Spanish Steps this place is central to most sites. However, the street is very quiet so we slept well. No drunken, loud folks wondering about. Had an interior balcony room, was pretty spacious and quiet even though right beside the elevator. The continental breakfast was what you would expect. Attentive staff always around, good recommendations for restaurants and helped us get a reservation for the Borghese Museum.Fast elevator.

Room Tip: Interior balcony room quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elleg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGregoriana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for having take the time to share this kind review.

We are very pleased to read thet you have appreciated both the Hotel and the location.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future, in the meantime, please receive our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here on a four day trip to Rome, and It was exactly what we wanted. The rooms were immaculately clean, the staff was wonderful, and the location could not be beat. The rates were very reasonable, and the breakfast each morning got us started off. There is no room service, but there are dozens of great places to eat within a 5 minute walk. The Spanish Steps are literally a 3 minute walk up the street. We are definitely planning a return trip to Rome, and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobClark-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGregoriana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words.

We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated your stay at the Hotel Gregoriana and we really look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Located near the top of the Spanish Steps, the Hotel Gregoriana is a great place to stay.

The rooms are tastefully decorated in an "Erte" style, they are comfortable and impeccably clean.

Although within easy walking distance of many of the attractions of Old Rome, the hotel is both calm and quiet.

All of the staff are friendly and helpful. We were given great restaurant recommendations as well as suggestions for sightseeing and strolling around the city.

Breakfast is simple but adequate and, for a little extra, you can enhance it if you wish.

This would be our first choice for another stay in this part of Rome.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGregoriana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us this kind review.

We really have appreciated your words and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Gregoriana.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future, in the meantime, please receive our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The room was comfortable and chic, though small. The location is terrific, near many attractions, but also on a very quiet street. We were able to check in early, as we arrived on an early morning flight, and we appreciated this.

The breakfast is small - rolls, toast, jam, and tea or coffee. Fresh fruit is not available without an extra charge.

Stefano at the front desk was very helpful in giving us directions and information on getting around the city.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the main floor, as they are only steps from the reception area.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SereneRockville_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGregoriana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your kind review.

We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated the hotel and the location.

Regarding the breakfast, included in the room rate, we serve the classic continental breakfast with hot drinks, bread, croissant, biscuits and rusks by Gentilini, jam, honey, butter, spreadable cheese and 'Nutella'. Fresh fruit or juice, korn flakes, yogurt, eggs or ham are available with an extra charge.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Rome, in the meantime, please receive our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very nice 3 stars hotel. Clean, efficient, with very nice and helpful staff; especially at the reception.
The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom just lovely. The location is ideal: next to Piazza di Spagna. The Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Fontana di Trevi can easily be reached by foot. Via Condotti and via Frattina, the shopping streets are also nearby.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank switzerlandsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGregoriana, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you very much for your kind review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Gregoriana and appreciated the work of the staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future, in the meantime, please receive our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, Usa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My son and I stayed at the Hotel Gregoriana in March, and had a wonderful visit. We contacted Aldo, the innkeeper, prior to our visit, and he had a car waiting for us at the airport to bring us to the hotel (60 euros, which was very reasonable considering it was 7 a.m. and we were exhausted - the idea of catching a cab was not enticing at that hour with no sleep! The return trip was 50 euros, for a total of 110, payable in cash upon checkout).

We arrived at the hotel around 8:30 a.m., and our room was ready. Fantastic, as we were able to freshen up for our 1st day in Rome. We had Room M, right off the elevator, with a quaint balcony overlooking the internal courtyard. The room was quiet, and I am sure we would have spent more time on the balcony if the weather had been slightly warmer and drier. The room had hardwood floors and 2 twin beds that were pushed together. Perfect for us. The bathroom was modern, and all was clean and in great condition.

I cannot speak to the breakfast, since we were out the door early every morning, nor the television since we were tired at the end of each day and did not watch tv. I know the tv had english-language CNN, but I am not sure if there were other english-language choices.

My only comment would be that this is not actually a non-smoking hotel (I thought it was, though I knew going in that in Europe smoking is more common and expected than in California). There are ashtrays in the rooms and at times there was a very distinct odor of cigarettes in the corridors. It was not over-powering, but if you are sensitive this could be an issue. I ended up purchasing eyedrops because the tobacco (everywhere in Rome) irritates my eyes.

In any event, the beds were very comfortable, the decor was updated and pleasing, the room was perfect for our purposes, and the location at the top of the Spanish Steps and close to the Trevi Fountain and the Villa Borghese, is perfect. Aldo and the nighttime desk clerk are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that does not need a hotel with full services, such as room-service/restaurant/etc. We had a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room M - the room is a nice size, the balcony was wonderful and the bathroom is modern an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGregoriana, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for having taken the time to share this detailed review, for us is very important to know what is good and what is not so that we can always do something more in order to meet our Guest expectations.

We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated your stay at the Hotel Gregoriana.

Regarding the odor of cigarettes, I have to apologize. All the rooms and the corridors are non-smoking and the ashtrays should be used only on the balcony or on the terrace on the top floor.

We would like to thank you again for the kind review and we really look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#60 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#273 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#394 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#111 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#596 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna Suites
Piazza di Spagna Suites
#415 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gregoriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gregoriana

Property: Hotel Gregoriana
Address: Via Gregoriana 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#249 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gregoriana 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gregoriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregoriana Hotel Rome
Hotel Gregoriana Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing