We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Location”
Review of Hotel Contilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contilia
Ranked #643 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Guttenberg, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Very Good Location”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The location is near the Termini Station.You can walk around the city very easily.
We got twin room with balcony facing to the back yard we enjoyed a quiet atmosphere
regardless of near the station. We felt safe in the area too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inay1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    299
    216
    92
    52
See reviews for
146
350
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel was ideal. The staff at the welcome desk were friendly and spoke very good english. Our room was great, 3 separate beds, a large wardrobe, a safe, a desk and mini fridge plus plenty of room. The bathroom was also very good. There was plenty of room to move, with a bath and a shower combined. Shampoo and soap were supplied every day, along with fresh sheets and fresh towels. We had a 5th floor room, with a nice view of the streets of rome - very authentic. The air conditioning in the room was also very good! we left it on during the day, so when we came back the room was cool and refreshing. The hotel also has wifi, which was free. Breakfast was lovely. As it was a continental breakfast, choice was limited. However, they served fresh croissants, cereals, yoghurts, fresh bread and meats. The hotel was very traditional, which made the stay even better. It was situated within 5 minutes walk of the termini - ideal for getting a bus to various locations, or trains further afield. The metro was very busy however, would not recommend it for small children.

All in all, the Contilia Hotel was fabulous. Excellent value for money (£230 for 7 nights). Our trip to Rome was fantastic, and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to visit Rome! :)

also, the food was delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

As it was mentioned in other reviews this hotel is located near to the Termini Railway Station (approximately 5 minutes walking). It is easy to find the address.
A big advantage of this area is that most tourist attractions are on walking distance from there.
Contilia is a typical three- stars hotel. It is not too luxury, but it offers almost everything you need for a normal stay.
The room was clean and still. It was enough spacious. Only the lustre there cheered me up- it was like a swan that has overeaten with green grass.
The bathroom was in good order. The bath was with hydro massage.
There was everyday's cleaning service.
The breakfast was standard for Italy: sweets, cheese, ham, coffee and capuchino.
The staff is very polite, it seems they have a good management and everybody knows his responsibilities.
The Internet was only available on the reception. This is not a big problem (if you are not on a business trip), but in XXI century everybody is expecting to have access to the Web directly from his hotel' s room.
If I could I would suggest following things to Contilia' s manager:
The lobby could be re- arranged so it would be comfortable for more people.
There should be enough cash on the reception for the change when guests pay that strange tourist tax.
In a few words: in my mind Contilia is a good hotel.
If the price was 10- 15 % less I would rate that place as excellent. Anyway, the hotel is ideal for tourist and business trips.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickSimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This hotel is walking distance to Termini Station and is really easy to go from there to anywhere in Rome. We felt safe in the area and there are lots of restaurants around. We got cleaning service everyday and had air conditioning in the room (REALLY important in summertime). The down side: our room had some strange smell; the towels were not real towels; the room decor (with some dark red fabrics on the walls) made it a little claustrophobic; the breakfast is not really good and they're kind of lousy to do reposition (so, don't get late to breakfast room). Also, I made a reservation more than three months ahead and asked if we could have the room with the turkish shower. They made no effort to answer my request. I recommend with that in mind

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaviaMotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

It is a very good hotel near Termini Station. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice room with good design, not worth than 4* hotel. We had a room with a quite big terrace, where it was very pleasant to sit in the evenings. Also we had a bath with hydro massage. I would choose this hotel for my next visits to Rome. The closeness to Termini Station is very convenient for different trips.
For me it was not very comfortable that there was no curtain in the bathroom and the floor got wet when you take a shower. But it is a trifle.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana_PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were very satisfied with our stay at Hotel Contilia. The area is a lively Roman neighborhood right near the Termini train station but was not intimidating like some of the other areas near Termini. See my review of Hotel Urbis for example. Staff was friendly and professional, the building quite modern with bathrooms added at some time in the recent past. Our room, on the first floor, was quiet and quite small with the queen sized bed taking up much of the room. Great breakfast in a beautiful room with varied pastries, juices, rolls, cereal, jogurt, etc. Super clean bathroom and room. Air conditioner worked fine but slowly. American and European travelers should really get a reality check on hotels in the center of Rome. These hotels don't have king sized beds. Neither do they have super large elevators and if you don't like to experience a real Roman neighbor hood you should go to Las Vegas The tiny complaints are not worth mentioning. About 75 Euro/ night plus 2 Euro per person per night Rome special hotel tax. No way around it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

this hotel is very close to the train station. kind of a sketchy area. found it expensive in the area to eat, have a drink. Our room was nice, clean, modern (407). No courtyard which sucked. Price was reasonable per night. no room service and the wifi connection was spotty. OK breakfast - nothing great. for 70 Euro/night, its pretty good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craiger9929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#334 of 1,256 in Rome
812 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#385 of 1,256 in Rome
781 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#542 of 1,256 in Rome
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#586 of 1,256 in Rome
480 reviews
Esquilino
Igea Hotel
Igea Hotel
#772 of 1,256 in Rome
225 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#981 of 1,256 in Rome
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contilia

Property: Hotel Contilia
Address: Via Principe Amadeo 79d-81, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #643 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Contilia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Contilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contilia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing