We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasand place to stay”
Review of Hotel Contilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Contilia
Ranked #651 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasand place to stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is conveniently situated quite close to the Roma Termini station. It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were an average size.
The towels were more like large tea towels rather than what we normally expect a towel to be but they dried very well so were OK.
The lift was strange in that it would only ever accept the last number for any floor and that is where it would stop so if you wanted floor 2 and had pressed that but someone else got in and pressed 5 that is where you would end up --- a one stop lift :-)
Breakfast was very basic but was included in the price and was adequate except for the coffee which I did not like at all. Nothing like the coffee we had come to expect in Italy --- it tasted like Vegemite.
We were able to leave our bags in storage on the day we left and because it was hot in Rome and we needed to change into other clothing to fly home we were able to use the large toilet room in reception to do this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    299
    216
    92
    52
See reviews for
146
350
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

, on the opposite direction, on the center where Church St Maggiore is (5 min walk).

The rooms are really small (but keep in mind majority of the rooms in Rome are), and basically clean. The internet service is spotty. And at this day and age, that is unacceptable. They do charge by the machine, that is they would ask an extra 2 euro if you want to connect your laptop and your phone. Or my advice if you know how to connect your laptop and share.

Breakfast in Rome hotels are basic so is the one Contilia.

You can however, pay probably an extra 20 to 30 euros more and get a better (not necessarily larger) room. But location/price wise not a bad alternative if you plan to spend quiet a bit of time outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed three nights after a week cruise. It was terrible. No iron, front staff very rude. The breakfast was average, coffee was bad. The only reason I stayed was because it was pre paid. Location was good, close to the station although the area is like little India.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anharin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Clean rooms, good sized rooms, friendly staff. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is near a "Hop-on-Hop Off" bus stop which wil take you to all the major attractions in Rome. Rooms are air conditioned and they include a continental breakfaet with a goo selection of food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I got a single room. Did not expect a big one so it was no surprise to get a small room. It was clean , comfy bed, convenient location, decent breakfast. I would go back. Every area near railway stations are bit dodgy, in every city. Rome is not exception, but if you are on a tour you want to be near the station since public transportation in Rome is awful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crikx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here for one night between connections at Termini. We had a nice big room (601) with a small terrace, jet tub and king sized bed. We had a decent night's sleep -- the room was quiet and clean -- but walking to the hotel at 7:30pm was a bit of an experience, stepping over passed out intoxicated people who had soiled themselves on the street from Termini.

The room had a slight smoke smell, but thankfully, there was a lot of air flow due to the terrace door and large window. The jet tub did not work, neither did the wifi.

The location was good for a quick connection at Termini and a good night's sleep, but I wouldn't to stay in the neighhourhood for much more than that. It's never good when the hotel won't let you keep your key when you leave the premises.

We left too early to take advantage of the breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 601 was big, clean and had good air flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We read mixed reviews about the hotel and generally agree with most of them, but the room we had (516) was a twin of an ok size but as non-smokers, the smell of cigarettes was really strong, so needed window open most of the time until we got used to it. Bathroom was big enough but shower was tiny, with temperamental water control and the enclosure doors were very hard to open and close. Bath towels were like paper, thin and rough. Room had a safe and fridge and lots of storage which was good. Beds were hard but comfortable enough. Room had no balcony but looked out onto the courtyard which was a bit shabby. Breakfast was basic, cereal, pastries, bread, cheese and ham, fruit and yogurt, coffee was horrid. Wi-Fi was not really in existence, so don't bother to get the code - it's really not worth wasting your time on!

The location was excellent as a base close to the main Termini station, handy for train and metro which was real easy to use. Being about 3 streets away from the main station road we didn't really have any bad experiences at all and a further 2 or 3 streets further are some excellent restaurants, there's also a small supermarket if needed.

Staff were generally helpful and we were able to leave our bags stored in a room until later on our departure.

Room Tip: Don't bother contacting them to request specifics in advance because it made no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#335 of 1,256 in Rome
812 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#375 of 1,256 in Rome
780 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#554 of 1,256 in Rome
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#589 of 1,256 in Rome
480 reviews
Esquilino
Igea Hotel
Igea Hotel
#773 of 1,256 in Rome
225 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#972 of 1,256 in Rome
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contilia

Property: Hotel Contilia
Address: Via Principe Amadeo 79d-81, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #651 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Contilia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Contilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contilia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing