We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a perfect location room even had a little terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Contilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Contilia
Ranked #704 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay in a perfect location room even had a little terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great communication from the start with Amed. He was very helpful and accomodating. They cave us room 601 which was on the top floor and the nicest they had they told us when we checked in. Taking the elevator up we where curious to see what we would find. The room is very spacious and has everything you need teh best part clearly was the outdoor terrace connected to the room. We rented a scooter for 4 full days which we picked up from Termini train station not even 5 minute walk away. Had breakfast in the hotel before heading out which was also good. All and all a great place to stay if you wanna enjoy Rome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buijsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    290
    214
    90
    51
See reviews for
142
340
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My son and his girlfriend recently spent 2 nights at this hotel. Their experience was awful. The room was claustrophobic and staff were not very helpful. Previous reviews were unhelpful as this hotel was nothing like they were lead to expect. 3 star rating is a farce. They do NOT recommend Hotel Contilia.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank annaleigh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 days. Building is 5 min from termini by foot.
Room is clean especially the bathroom. The toilet also includes hair dryer. 15 min walk to colloseum, roman forum, palatino, etc. To vatican city just take the metro in termini station. Breakfast for me is ok, they have different breads, different coffee with coffee machine, orange and pineapple juice, ham, cheese, different types of spread, yougurt machine, different cereals and fruits. We stayed on the 5th floor and from there I can say its quiet so you can sleep comfortably. The bed is big, 3 -4 person can fit in but the room is small, there is a small tv with 3 channels. Wifi is also good. Ps. Dont be fooled by the people saying 'skip the line' because you will be paying 3times the price per person. The trick in colloseum is go to the ticket cashier in the roman forum which has no line at all then buy the ticket from there. With your ticket there you can go to roman forum, palatino and colloseum. This means you dont have to go in line in the colloseum, there is an entrance for people with tickets. Same for vatican, pass by the vatican museum first then that ticket is for the museum and sistine chapel. The st peters basilica is free and if there is a mass you can also see the pope for free.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lajom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel had arange of views on trip advisor. I stayed for three nights. The room given was a twin. The beds were so small i had problems trying to stay on the bed. The room was small. The shower was so small i ahd to leave the doors open to have a shower. The a/c unit was so high up and blew cold air in one direction, upwards. The breakfast was given good reviews. They must have stayed in a different hotel. There was a choice of one ham, one cheese, croissants and the normal cornflakes. I have been to two other three star hotels in Rome and they offered a bigger and more variety than this so called three star hotel. There was no fridge in the room. Any complaints were met with, "we will look into it, but it never happened. Pay the extra and go else where.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower is large if you are a big person. If getting a twin room, check the beds before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amrik1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had booked this hotel for the nights of 2 Oct and then 5 and 6th Oct 13(2 Couples, 2 Bookings ) as we were going to Capri in between these dates. We arrived at the hotel on 2nd October 13, great location right near Central Station, on arrival we were greated pleasantly and checked in. Our rooms were small and not well appointed compared to what we are use to in Australia but so what we were in Italy. We unpacked our suitcases and decided to go sightseeing, on the way out the Office Manager called us to advise that our booking for the 5 & 6th had been double booked at that they didn't have enough rooms, we were offered a single quad room which meant that you had to walk through the second bedroom to go to the toilet or shower. We explained that we were not happy with this arrangement but told take it or leave it. We quickly went on the net to check for alternative accomodation only to find everything booked due to short notice. Reluctantly we accepted and was told we would get a special rate. The following morning we had breakfast around 9.00am only to find most of the food had been eaten and not restocked. Of we went to Capri, arrived back on 5th Oct and checked in, had a good time in Rome until we went to check out. At check out I was told I had to pay for 2 full rooms not the shared quad room, after arguing with the Night Manager I was told to come back later. When I returned the Day Manager said she would sort it out, when I asked the price she gave me a special price dearer than what I originaly could get on bookings.com, when I questioned this her responce was "no you cant we are fully booked, that is the price" and wouldn't discuss the issue. I pointed out that the issue had been the hotels problem as they had doubled booked the room not us and was told to pay up. I we will not be staying at this hotel again and I suggest if you are booking this hotel ring them before you arrive as the reservation bookings we had from Bookings.com meant nothing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here for a week and found it fine.
Super location for arriving at Termini
Breakfast is generous, if not luxurious.
Reception staff charming and helpful
Great to have a room with a bath tub as well as a shower!
Free Wifi, easy to connect to
No complaints
Will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DoctorBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very good location = it was easy to find right around the corner from Termini trainstation - Which can be accessed directly from the airport. the main positives are the location and that the breakfast was decent. The view we got was right over the street. The room was tiny - smaller than you can imagine. There was a bed and a table. Speaking of the bed, for the average jetlagged travelor, it was quiete uncomfortable for the both of us. Reception was nice and helpful. Lastly, the shower in our room was very hard to work. If none of these annoyances bother you then this hotel is right for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
California Hotel
California Hotel
#339 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#537 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Esquilino
Serena Hotel
Serena Hotel
#378 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Igea Hotel
Igea Hotel
#811 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#949 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#595 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contilia

Property: Hotel Contilia
Address: Via Principe Amadeo 79d-81, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #704 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Contilia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Contilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contilia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing