We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful value, location and great service”
Review of Aberdeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aberdeen Hotel
Ranked #279 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful value, location and great service”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Simply a great location, 220 yards from the Metro Station and the taxi service was incredible. Our taxi’s appeared within a few minutes once the people at the desk summoned them. That was something we were very grateful for as we were there on business. We stayed there 4 days in December 2013. We found that being within walking distance of main tourist attractions was wonderful as we could work our site seeing around a work schedule. There are delightful restaurants, pizza, pasta shops, and a lovely Galleria close by for shopping and eating with reasonable prices. Our room was old fashioned, charming, immaculate and cleaned every day. We had a room with a balcony and enjoyed it. The staff is multilingual and available 24 hours a day. Our airline lost our luggage somewhere between Washington, DC and Rome and the staff couldn’t have been more accommodating trying to help us recover it. The free breakfast was fresh, satisfying and we enjoyed their delicious coffee and cappuccino as we studied the absolutely beautiful frescoes in the breakfast room ceiling. We appreciated having access to free wifi in the lounge area and in our room. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome for business.

Room Tip: We loved our room with a balcony;
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    388
    93
    23
    7
See reviews for
205
380
82
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel came highly recommended in Rick Steves book and price was reasonable for considering year end. Booked from their website directly for 253 Euro for 3 nights. Initially I missed the “Rick Steves” reservation link which gives you discount but after contacting them, they are able to give the discounted rate. However it was a mixed experience, I'd probably stay elsewhere if I can find better value.

PRO:
- Great location, walking distance from Termini train station and Republica metro, plenty of bus options
- Good 24 hours receptionists, helpful, speak perfect English. They will hold your stuffs before check in/after check out and pretty safe too (at least I didn’t lose anything)
- Spacious rooms, cleaned every day, TV, mini fridge, hair dryer, safety box
- They honor and gave Rick Steves readers discount even without showing the book (although I have brought them just in case)
- There's a computer with internet and printer that you can use for free at the lobby. Toilet also available if you already checked out
- Free basic breakfast
- If you travel light & backpack like me, FYI that they have towel warmer so you can wash at the sink and dry it there overnight

CONS:
- Stairs, no lift
- No aircon! I went in winter so it doesn't matter, but if you're going in summer; definitely need to consider it
- Weak and unstable wifi; they advertise in room wifi but it doesn't work from my room but only at the lobby which was literally in front of it (16 small steps! I counted!). Even from the lobby there is couple of days where I had to try more than 10 times to login
- Tired rooms; although quite complete but the rooms definitely seen much better years... Chipped mirrors, old furnitures, ancient TV... Definitely not for those looking for modern amenities
- They locked the big door in front o the building at night; even at 16.30 one day; I was rushing and it took them a while until someone opened the door

As much as I want to give this place 5 stars, I can't.... If you find my review to be helpful, pls click that helpful vote, thanks!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Ti_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had to stay at this hotel for one night because the Hotel Oceania was booked. Compared to the Oceania which is on the same street, this hotel should be a one star. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, the room decor was old and the breakfast was horrible. The coffee was not drinkable so I ordered a cappuccino which tasted like soapy water. The service was extremely indifferent. This is the only negative review I have given in three months of travel! If you can, stay at the Hotel Oceania. I was there for one week and it was heaven in comparison.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

great location, reasonable price. perfect for female solo traveler. within walking distance to/from Roma Termini (train/metro stations). breakfast is included (great caffè & cappuccino). free wifi. accommodating staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GattaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is a great spot to stay when in Rome. It is only 10 minute walk from the Termini train station and just a step from Via Nazionale. It is centrally located and within walking distance of most of the main tourist attraction. I couldn't believe how quiet the room was and it was a good sized room for Europe. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying here the next time I am in Rome.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GolfFundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We walked up & down the street looking for this Hotel even asking staff at the restaurant next door who weren't sure where it was. Eventually we found it only to be told the Hotel was booked out but they had a sister Hotel not far away that we could stay at. The Manager was very apologetic & took us to the other Hotel. It was just a room very small but O.K. for an overnight stop, being near the main station was very handy. Breakfast was O.K. nothing special. Asked the staff for a recommendation for dinner & they were very helpful & the restaurant that they sent us to was very good. For an overnight stop in Rome this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I love this comfortable hotel! Nice people and fantastic athmosphere! Practically next door to via Nationale with cafes, restoraunts and shops. It is a good desicion for people who prefer to combain these things.

Искренне рекомендую Aberdeen Hotel
людям, планирующим римские каникулы!

Room Tip: I love this comfortable hotel! Nice people and fantastic athmosphere! Искренне рекомендую Aberdee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evgeniya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#125 of 1,257 in Rome
595 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
1,464 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#117 of 1,257 in Rome
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#59 of 1,257 in Rome
708 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#300 of 1,257 in Rome
669 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#184 of 1,257 in Rome
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Hotel

Property: Aberdeen Hotel
Address: Via Firenze 48, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#124 Family Hotel in Rome
#299 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen hotel has been completely refurbished and is located in a convenient position on walking distance to the main important sites. The rooms are carefully furnished down to the smallest detail and offer all the comforts. It's the ideal place to begin a visit to the Capital or start off on a shopping trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aberdeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aberdeen Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing