We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on all levels”
Review of Aberdeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aberdeen Hotel
Ranked #321 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is a wonderful find. Great location, close to bus, metro, and not a terribly long walk to attractions. Our room was small but completely adequate. The staff is very helpful; the room is cleaned every day; we had WiFi and a/c both of which worked great. Wonderful restaurants are a close walk also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is well located, clean and has lovely service. We arrived at the Termini station and found our way to the hotel easily, and was swiftly checked in. The service at the hotel was always friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel brilliant and it is close to both metro lines. The immediate local area is not overly touristy so there are not many restaurants, takeaways and tourist shops. However, there is a tasty pizza takeaway 10m away on the same side as the hotel. #Restaurant tip: go to the square where the Pantheon is and eat in the restaurant lit up with candles on the right hand side- it is delicious!

Our room (#45) was at the front of the hotel, right next to the breakfast room, but this never caused us any issues. Our room was a fair size with a spacious bathroom; it had a large bed (two singles pushed together), fridge, balcony, safebox and a shower with bathtub. There was also a TV in the room, but we were unable to find any English channels. The walls are thin, and it is possible to hear loud noises from nearby rooms- however after a long day sightseeing we slept well every night.

Breakfast was served 7:30-10:30 and consisted of coffee, tea and juice; rolls, pastries, cold ham and cheese, cereal, fruit and yoghurts. The selection and taste of the breakfasts was good. There are 12 tables in the breakfast room and we were worried about not being able to find a table in the morning; however we never encountered this problem. We had breakfast between 7:30-8:30 every morning and there was never more than a handful of people around.

#Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub

Room Tip: #If you want to sleep in late then ask for a room away from the breakfast room as it may be loud dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tors27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel was clean and well-located. The walls between rooms were quite thin and I could hear the people next door talking and snoring. The wifi does not work well in rooms (at least, not in mine) and a restaurant or bar threw glass bottles into the trash quite a few times during the night, waking me up. The price is reasonable and the breakfast OK. Good if you need a place before leaving Rome, in a safe neighborhood.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room too far from wifi and away from where you will hear trash being thrown out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've red great comments of this hotel. It is very well located in a nice and safe street, 50 mts. from Via XX de Settembre. The location is an area, that is almost near everywhere.
They gave us a spacious triple room, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom good size.
The big window with view to the street was lovely. The staff friendly and kind. Breakfast excellent.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viviana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel was a perfect fit for my wife and me. We are over age 70, and there are considerations for those who may need more physical assistance, but it was perfect for us. We travel with back packs only, but these tend to get heavier along the way. We stayed here on the last night before a flight back to the US. The walk from Roma Termini takes about 15 minutes with a heavy pack, but a taxi could whisk you there in less than 5 - though you would likely spend more than the 15 minutes waiting in the taxi line at the station! There are no elevators, but this hotel is scrupulously clean with ceramic and marble tiles everywhere scrubbed daily. Our room was a generous size with cross ventilation, the bath room was larger than average, and the bed was very comfortable. The side street location meant that the night was quiet. The welcome was warm and multi-lingual, and the price was reasonable, especially for Rome. The breakfast, which is included, was generous, featuring fresh breads, meats and cheeses. It is true that many of the places you may want to visit are a 15 minute walk away but with that single consideration in mind, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We returned from a 3 night stay at Aberdeen Hotel at the beginning of the week after a lovely stay!
The location was perfect for us, 10 mins walk from Termini Station, 10-15mins from Trevi fountain, 20-25mins from Colosseum and 45-50mins from the Vatican. We walked everywhere as it was so simple and the free map they give you at the hotel is so easy to read we rarely got lost! Republicca station is just 5mins walk from the hotel so perfect if you want to explore by metro.
The room was very authentic, basic but had everything we needed and the maid came everyday with fresh sheets and towels.
Breakfast was lovely with selection of juices, cereal, bread, pastries, ham and cheese, more than enough to keep you going and leaving some room for the amazing food in Rome for lunch and dinner!
To top off our fantastic stay, we were visiting Rome as a surprise trip for my fiance's 30th Birthday and I had mentioned it on the booking form and thought no more of it. When we got to our room there was a bottle of champagne on ice waiting in the room, fabulous!
Thank you so much, we will definitely be back and recommending this hotel to friends and family visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our Rugby club travelled to Rome to take in the Scotland game following our own match up in Reggio Emilia, and chose the Aberdeen Hotel due to its central location and excellent value for money.
We had made a few arrangements direct with the hotel prior to arrival and all queries were expertly handled by Mariano.
The hotel was a little hard to locate at first but once we got our baring's it proved to be an ideal base fro our 4 day stay in Rome.
Rooms were comfortable (beds were really small) and really clean, breakfast was good.
The location just off one of the main thorough fares in the city meant that we were close to all local amenities and most main attractions were within walking distance or for those further places the metro was 2 or 3 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#129 of 1,272 in Rome
647 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#237 of 1,272 in Rome
1,566 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#108 of 1,272 in Rome
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#460 of 1,272 in Rome
631 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#222 of 1,272 in Rome
1,304 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Elide
Hotel Elide
#584 of 1,272 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Hotel

Address: Via Firenze 48, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#298 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £56 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen hotel has been completely refurbished and is located in a convenient position on walking distance to the main important sites. The rooms are carefully furnished down to the smallest detail and offer all the comforts. It's the ideal place to begin a visit to the Capital or start off on a shopping trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aberdeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aberdeen Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing