We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip to italy”
Review of Domus Augusta

Domus Augusta
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domus Augusta
Ranked #636 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 29 July 2013

slow to share what a nice place the domus augusta is. we stayed in may. weather was great and we really enjoyed rome, we also were really happy with our decision to stay the 6 nights at this place. it was clean, comfortable, secure, convenient to the termini train station where all train lines stop and also the city buses and metro are. the domus has great character with friendly helpful staff. I hope we get to return to rome again, if so we will definetly stay there again. also enjoyed the breakfast of delicious pastries, wonderful coffee made to order along with all the other items provided such as yogurt and juice by the sweet lady that works there.the young man who helped us with our luggage was very nice also and maximo was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Domus Augusta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Excellent Location, minutes away from Termini Station. There is a street market during day outside the hotel but inside is very safe & clean. We were received by Owner & he showed us the room & made sure we were comfortable.Management is very professional & helpful aswell. We wanted to arrange some tours & Fabio helped us a lot by making telephoneenquiries in local language. Room is spacious, toilet & room looks like they are very new. No noise at all inside the room, very quiet. It gets very hot in summer so air con comes in very handy. Room maintenance was very good. Will stay here again & recommend strongly in this price range.

Room Tip: Room number 104 was great, looks totally new. This hotel is almost at the end of street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pdeepak17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was the last hotel on our two week European excursion and this was by far our favorite hotel. It is very convenient to Termini Station and therefore the metro as well and we were able to tour all the sites with ease. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room as well as the excellent service. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the free WiFi and the excellent air conditioning that we really couldn't have done without while in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel, staying in room 101. Lots of great things about it, but one major downfall...

Pluses:
-good price (we paid 303 Eur for 4 nights in a double room plus city tax, incl. breakfast) for a decent location, far enough from Termini in a "quiet" street (in terms of traffic, see below), but still only 300m from the station
- nicely repointed building front
- interior of hotel in good condition, almost grand wooden-casing of the walls, reception, in the rooms too
- large room, bright, clean, plenty of wardrobe space, real coathangers
- good supply of warm water, strong shower, bathroom equipped with hair-dryer and bidet too
- pleasant staff, while only one (the owner?) spoke really good English, all staff did their utmost to be helpful and pleasant, even early in the morning. Willingness to help and advise was also clear before arriving via email with lots of transport advice being sent over on our request. Simply pleasant people.
- ok, so the breakfast is "Italian", i.e. not very interesting, based on biscuits and jam, but there are fresh pastries every morning and the coffee is good and freshly made to order (cappucino and espresso)
- bed was fine, extra pillows helped. Room was made up daily. Large flat-screen TV placed opposite the bed with almost 100 (Italian) channels.

The downside: there is only one major one, the rest are minor...
- the biggie: the noise insulation.
a) from the window - when sitting on the bed, it almost seems that the (plastic-framed) window is open, the amount of outside "hum" coming through the window. In fact, the window does not quite close perfectly tight. However, the biggest problem is that the rooms are on the ground floor and every weekday morning there is a street market right outside your window! So from about 5am you hear the traders setting up their stalls.... and it sounds like they are right next to you!
b) from the door: the door leads onto the corridor which leads round the corner to the reception desk and front door, a total of about 12 metres away. And the door doesn't catch any of the noise.... so when the night receptionist has gone AWOL and an impatient guest comes back in the middle of the night and, finding that noone is responding to his doorbell ringing, starts ringing both bells in a 2-beat rythm for several minutes, you can be sure that you'll know about it
c) floor insulation: not too significant, but it was possible to hear the bangs and thuds of people running around on the floor above

I'm a heavy sleeper so I wasn't too disturbed by all this. I tended to wake up and then drop off again. My wife is a lighter sleeper and found it uncomfortable, although not deadly. And we were up anyway each morning at 7ish to get out and beat the queues. However, if you're a light sleeper and want to sleep in in the morning, bear this in mind and don't get a room facing onto the street.

Why have I rated this Very Good? Because the overall impression is good. For the price and location, you get a clean, pleasant and tasteful hotel with helpful staff. Avoid a room facing onto the street and you'll be ok.

P.S. This hotel is a "partner" hotel of the Hotel Dama, in the same building (along with a couple of other hotels). I don't know what the link is or what the connection is. The whole Rome hotel thing is incomprehensible to me - you can have as many as 5 different hotels in one building, seemingly one hotel per floor. And it's not clear if they are under the same ownership or what. However, this was not an issue, we booked through the Hotel Domus Augusta website, communicated with the people from there (although sometimes under the HOtel Dama domain name, the receipt was also from Hotel Dama).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on ground floor, facing onto the street (due to the market each weekday)
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank czenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank 8,972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scarlett723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#471 of 1,267 in Rome
763 reviews
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#390 of 1,267 in Rome
802 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel dell'Urbe
Hotel dell'Urbe
#609 of 1,267 in Rome
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Sol Levante
Hotel Sol Levante
#687 of 1,267 in Rome
116 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#338 of 1,267 in Rome
838 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Tito
Hotel Tito
#635 of 1,267 in Rome
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Augusta

Address: Via Milazzo 42 | Termini Station, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #636 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Augusta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Domus Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing