We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,203)
Filter reviews
3,203 results
Traveller rating
2,556
564
56
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,556
564
56
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange treesbreakfast and happy hourtrastevere neighborhoodchurch bellscharming hotelbusy citygreat neighborhoodwithin walking distancethe hotel staffeach eveningrestaurants and barsperfect locationbreakfast was deliciousaround the cornertrip to romesmall hotelloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,655 - 1,660 of 3,203 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Delightful, charming hotel in Trastevere near Piazza Santa Maria. Our family of 5 loved the Senior Suite, with 2 single beds in the upstairs loft, and one double and one single downstairs. Very clean and comfortable, delicious buffet breakfast, lovely courtyard area and very quiet at night. We walked everywhere from here - to Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Colosseum, Trevi fountain and Spanish steps and our kids (14 year old son and twin 11 year old girls) did not once complain! Great choice of reasonably priced osterias and pizzerias nearby. Friendly and welcoming staff, particularly those who served the breakfast. Trastevere is the real Rome, full of character and not crowded with tourists. We would love to return to Hotel Santa Maria one day and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Senior Suite (room 21) is great for families of 4 or 5.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Clean, centrally located, and with a great room for breakfast and afternoon snacks. Located in the Trastevere and within walking distance to everything that Rome has to offer. A quiet refuge in a bustling city. Clean and well attended. I would have stayed a month there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janfromnorthridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at Santa Maria Hotel for five days and we loved it. Good buffet breakfast, very spacious, simple and practical rooms and the best location: quiet and close to everywhere you might want to get. The staff are very helpful and pay great attention to detail. Would definitely stay there again if going back to Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank made k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I went on a family vacation to Italy, and stayed in objectively "nicer" hotels in Venice, Bologna and Tuscany - but this was my favorite hotel of the trip. It "felt" very Italian - nestled between apartment buildings in a non-touristy part of Rome. The rooms weren't too overdone, just simple, clean, and comfortable. It didn't try to be too cushy or too boutique hotel like, which was a welcome change. We loved the courtyard the rooms all faced - it was a definite oasis after a busy day of sightseeing. Another plus is that they had hotel bicycles that you could rent for free. This hotel felt like a home away from home.

As a side note we shared the largest room, which I beleve the website says can sleep 6 adults. There were 5 of us (all adults), and we were all able to sleep comfortably - 3 on the lower level (one queen bed and one single) and 2 on the upper loft (2 single beds). I think this room might be better fit for adults with small children or teenagers - with 5 adults it at times seemed crowded, even though the room was very big.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank LCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I chose Hotel Santa Maria because of excellent reviews. I must say that we were not disappointed and the accommodation met expectations. However we also stayed in lesser rated Hotel prior to our cruise and the experience was better. The hotel is in an excellent area and allows a very different Rome experience away from the main tourist areas. The main sites still being an easy walk. Exploring the narrow laneways of Trastevere was a real pleasure. We are a family of six, hence stayed in two ‘triple’ rooms for three nights. On booking, we did ask for one room to have three single beds which was confirmed however they were not configured that way when we arrived. The toilet in one of the rooms was faulty on arrival and on asking they moved us to another room. The power also went out one morning for a number of hours due to some urgent works. The breakfast buffet was good. Excellent coffee. The highlight being pre-dinner snacks with a wine/beer after touring all day. Overall service was good. We tried three restaurants in the Trastevere area close to the hotel (one recommended by the staff) all were a little hit and miss. Some meals being excellent, some average. The hotel has a very different character and I have no hesitation recommending it to either families or singles.

Room Tip: Due to the moves we stayed in a total of 4 different rooms. All were fine.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephenfamilyofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews