We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Rome hotel...”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Santa Maria and could not find any fault with it. The staff were very friendly and helpful with regards to advising on the best ways to attack Rome from a cost effective and efficient perspective.

The room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and power shower - AMAZING!!!!

The location of this hotel just off the River Tiber is the perfect base to explore all of Rome's attractions...

We usually never return to the same hotel as a matter of principle to explore new places but when visitng Rome again, the Santa Maria can not be beaten. Traditional Rome with modern customers expectations adhered to.

10/10

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,470 of 2,967 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

When the driver dropped us off, we thought we were lost and narrow cobble stone streets lined our path. After asking for some directions in the best broken Italian we knew, we made a couple turns and we saw the gate. From there on in, we felt at home and safe in this amazing hotel! The staff is great and extremely helpful and the neighborhood of Travestere has the best food and is in perfect walking distance from everything. I will ONLY stay here in Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmtreetheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed for three nights in January. The hotel has a great location but you should be willing to walk! That will be the same for any hotel in Rome though. Clean room and very quiet location with nice restaurants. Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room though. The staff were friendly and efficient but not obtrusive. Would certainly reccomend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Delightful, charming hotel in Trastevere near Piazza Santa Maria. Our family of 5 loved the Senior Suite, with 2 single beds in the upstairs loft, and one double and one single downstairs. Very clean and comfortable, delicious buffet breakfast, lovely courtyard area and very quiet at night. We walked everywhere from here - to Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Colosseum, Trevi fountain and Spanish steps and our kids (14 year old son and twin 11 year old girls) did not once complain! Great choice of reasonably priced osterias and pizzerias nearby. Friendly and welcoming staff, particularly those who served the breakfast. Trastevere is the real Rome, full of character and not crowded with tourists. We would love to return to Hotel Santa Maria one day and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Senior Suite (room 21) is great for families of 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Clean, centrally located, and with a great room for breakfast and afternoon snacks. Located in the Trastevere and within walking distance to everything that Rome has to offer. A quiet refuge in a bustling city. Clean and well attended. I would have stayed a month there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janfromnorthridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at Santa Maria Hotel for five days and we loved it. Good buffet breakfast, very spacious, simple and practical rooms and the best location: quiet and close to everywhere you might want to get. The staff are very helpful and pay great attention to detail. Would definitely stay there again if going back to Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank made k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I went on a family vacation to Italy, and stayed in objectively "nicer" hotels in Venice, Bologna and Tuscany - but this was my favorite hotel of the trip. It "felt" very Italian - nestled between apartment buildings in a non-touristy part of Rome. The rooms weren't too overdone, just simple, clean, and comfortable. It didn't try to be too cushy or too boutique hotel like, which was a welcome change. We loved the courtyard the rooms all faced - it was a definite oasis after a busy day of sightseeing. Another plus is that they had hotel bicycles that you could rent for free. This hotel felt like a home away from home.

As a side note we shared the largest room, which I beleve the website says can sleep 6 adults. There were 5 of us (all adults), and we were all able to sleep comfortably - 3 on the lower level (one queen bed and one single) and 2 on the upper loft (2 single beds). I think this room might be better fit for adults with small children or teenagers - with 5 adults it at times seemed crowded, even though the room was very big.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank LCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,269 in Rome
3,626 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,269 in Rome
630 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,269 in Rome
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £93 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing