We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Idyllic Oasis in Rome!”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Idyllic Oasis in Rome!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Myself & my boyfriend stayed here for the weeknd in January. We had such a great stay and I can't recommed the hotel enough. There is a lovely courtyard outside all the bedrooms with amazing orange trees and tables/chairs you can sit out on. Even though it was January and too cold to sit out the place still looked so inviting. The hotel has a large gate which you have to buzz in and out off so security is very tight and it's like having your own private courtyard in the middle of Rome!

The area is in Trastverse (I hope that's how you spell it) and the area is lovely. There are lovely tiny cobbled streets you find yourself wondering around with quirky shops, restaurants and pubs. Do your homework and local restaurants are much cheaper than the middle of Rome. One resturant within walking distance of the hotel charged €3 for a pizza and was always busy with locals.

The breakfast every morning was lovely and the staff are very friendly, especially the owner. Great americos at breakfast time too.

Be prepared to walk a lot though as Rome's metro doesn't link up very well to everywhere. There is a local tram though near the main street which is only a euro.

I'm sure the area will be hoping in the summer time, but for those who don't like going to the typcial tourist areas there is a local feel to the place and it was just lovely. Would love to come back in the summer and get married in the courtyard if we win the lottery!

Advice about the airport home:
Give yourself plenty time to get to the airport. The Number 8 tram takes you to Termini where you get the train to the airport. This doesn't take long only 30 mins on the train and only 8 euro but when you get to the airport be prepared to q for ages to get through passport control as only one security person was on. Then you have to walk a while to get to more security followed by an internal trian to Gate G.

BOOK, BOOK BOOK this lovely hotel and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CONCAMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,291
    529
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
682
1,170
81
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Santa Maria and could not find any fault with it. The staff were very friendly and helpful with regards to advising on the best ways to attack Rome from a cost effective and efficient perspective.

The room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and power shower - AMAZING!!!!

The location of this hotel just off the River Tiber is the perfect base to explore all of Rome's attractions...

We usually never return to the same hotel as a matter of principle to explore new places but when visitng Rome again, the Santa Maria can not be beaten. Traditional Rome with modern customers expectations adhered to.

10/10

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

When the driver dropped us off, we thought we were lost and narrow cobble stone streets lined our path. After asking for some directions in the best broken Italian we knew, we made a couple turns and we saw the gate. From there on in, we felt at home and safe in this amazing hotel! The staff is great and extremely helpful and the neighborhood of Travestere has the best food and is in perfect walking distance from everything. I will ONLY stay here in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmtreetheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed for three nights in January. The hotel has a great location but you should be willing to walk! That will be the same for any hotel in Rome though. Clean room and very quiet location with nice restaurants. Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room though. The staff were friendly and efficient but not obtrusive. Would certainly reccomend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Delightful, charming hotel in Trastevere near Piazza Santa Maria. Our family of 5 loved the Senior Suite, with 2 single beds in the upstairs loft, and one double and one single downstairs. Very clean and comfortable, delicious buffet breakfast, lovely courtyard area and very quiet at night. We walked everywhere from here - to Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Colosseum, Trevi fountain and Spanish steps and our kids (14 year old son and twin 11 year old girls) did not once complain! Great choice of reasonably priced osterias and pizzerias nearby. Friendly and welcoming staff, particularly those who served the breakfast. Trastevere is the real Rome, full of character and not crowded with tourists. We would love to return to Hotel Santa Maria one day and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Senior Suite (room 21) is great for families of 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Clean, centrally located, and with a great room for breakfast and afternoon snacks. Located in the Trastevere and within walking distance to everything that Rome has to offer. A quiet refuge in a bustling city. Clean and well attended. I would have stayed a month there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janfromnorthridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plaga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at Santa Maria Hotel for five days and we loved it. Good buffet breakfast, very spacious, simple and practical rooms and the best location: quiet and close to everywhere you might want to get. The staff are very helpful and pay great attention to detail. Would definitely stay there again if going back to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank made k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,683 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,259 in Rome
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,259 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,259 in Rome
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing