We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short, but pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel was entirely sufficient and the staff responsive to our every request. We stopped by a couple days early and asked that our daughter be able to check in as we would be arriving late, not a problem, the staff was very helpful to her as well. Our request to have a taxi at 6 AM, was spot on, got a call about 5:58 that our taxi was waiting. The breakfast was quite nice as was the afternoon snacks, just the right thing for folks working on adjusting to a later dining hour.

Room Tip: We had a triple room, I beleive it was referred to. A queen bed on one room and a single in the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,967 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Santa Maria for six nights and were very happy with our visit. The room was comfortable and very clean and we were delighted with the lovely courtyard filled with orange trees where we were able to sit and enjoy coffee or a snack . Breakfast was provided each morning; it was plentiful and varied with cereals, scrambled eggs and pastries as well as the more traditional European breakfast fare of meats, breads and cheeses. Coffee, made to order, was available as well as a variety of juices and fruit. While Hotel Santa Maria does not serve meals other than breakfast and a snack in the afternoon, a wealth of restaurants is available outside the gates of the hotel. The Trastevere neighborhood, where the hotel is located, has a well-deserved reputation as the place where locals come to dine. We ate each evening in Trastevere and were not disappointed. The hotel is located "across the river" from the major sites but everything is easily accessible by public transportation (taxi, bus, metro) or by walking. We walked everywhere. It was lovely to come back to our neighborhood each evening and escape the hustle and bustle of central Rome . The neighborhood is a very old one comprised of small, twisting streets; great for strolling about before or after dinner. It is a bit gritty in spots but that is part of its charm because it is a real neighborhood and feels like one. We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Santa Maria; the staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. We would definitely stay there again on a return trip to Rome.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CC1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We met in Rome to celebrate two birthday's for some of our best friends and the Hotel Santa Maria was the chosen spot for all of us to stay and we were not dissappointed. The hotel rooms were very nice, the courtyard was an awesome place to sit and enjoy our mornings and evenings, the breakfast was awesome, very convenient to everything, with the staff and service being the icing on the cake. The hotel is very close to the Santa Maria church and square and all sorts of restaurants and entertainment. On our last day in Rome, my wife and I took the bicylces, which were supplied by the hotel, and explored the city which was an amazing way to see the city, just be careful and watch the traffic. We went to the parks, saw the sites and ended up at the Pantheon. An overall awesome experience at a small and quaint hotel. We will be back. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for being so accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub if you so desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My third stay in Hotel Santa Maria, this time with a grown up daughter, proved that this small gem of a hotel has kept up the hard work and take pride in their quality. Unbeatable location close to the beautiful Santa Maria square and church. You can walk everywhere, or, if not so keen on walking tram 8 takes you to P.Argentina, buses over to Testaccio and Piramide. The rooms are spaced out around an orchard of orange trees. Lovely breakfast with superb coffee (!), an afternoon snack buffet included in the price. Efficient service, helpful staff, lots of good eating options around the corner. Yes, Santa Maria is more expensive than the ones they compare with, but - having once tried out a seemingly nearby and cheaper alternative - certainly worth it. I will return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in at any price. The location is perfect, the breakfast was great and the hotel itself is just all around pleasant. The staff could not have been any better. I highly recommend this hotel

Joe DeMarco
United States

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillcrest69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Since this was my first time in Rome (for a one night business trip), I was a little worried about finding the right hotel. Our criteria were comfortable, clean, wifi and reasonable pricing. I found the Santa Maria based on a search here and a recommendation that showed up from a Facebook friend. Since we were visiting Rome for a one day business meeting, the most important thing was a restful sleep the night before.

We ordered the pickup thru the hotel and a pleasant driver with a nice Mercedes station wagon was waiting for us as we came out of customs. For some reason he took us for the "scenic route" which gave us a interesting view of some of the different neighborhoods. Usually I would worry about it, but since we were being charged a flat rate of 55 euro, that was OK.

We arrived at the hotel in the late evening and the streets (if you can call narrow alleys - streets) were blocked with young people, our driver was able to convince them to let us thru with a gentle nudge from the car.

At the Hotel, we immediately shown our rooms (4 +5). They seemed to be the exact same rooms. This was the first time that I was in a hotel that reality was nicer than there website pictures. The rooms are medium size, very clean and so was the bathroom which had a nice bath as opposed to a shower like some other hotels.

We had ordered only 1 single room, which was $20 cheaper, and 1 double since that was all there was available on the web site but in reality I guess we got both double rooms.
We were disappointed that the Wifi was working (in geektalk the DHCP service on the router was not working) and when we complained to the reception, we were told " this is the password, everyone uses it and it is fine". Only in the morning was this fixed after other guests complained.

The rooms have thick walls and are soundproofed, but I slept with the window open to the courtyard, so there was some interference of other guests walking to the rooms (maybe the hotel should have a notice up, please do not talk loudly in the courtyard after 11pm..) and then was a church bell ringing once an hour. All in all though the bed was comfortable and the night restful.

The location for us was great. We started our business meeting in the "breakfast room" and then continued it right across the river at one of the many restaurants in the old Jewish Ghetto. In the evening again we were picked up by another similar driver (who was right on time) and returned promptly to the airport, this time taking the main route.

All in all although the wifi at the beginning was a disappointment, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone on a business trip, who also wants to be in walking distance of most of Rome's attractions (which I found disappointing during the few hours that we had to tour after the meeting, but that is a different story...)

Room Tip: I think there are one or 2 rooms not facing the courtyard, those maybe quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biztravel997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Wonderful hotel, great location, excellent breakfast. We have already recommended it to friends. This was our sixth visit to Rome and enjoyed being in a different part of town. Recommend arranging for pick-up at airport, as hotel isn't convenient to public transportation and would be difficult to find. All major sights are within walking distance, and lots of worthwhile local sights close by, such as Farensina, which few tourist get to see. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dellndan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,269 in Rome
3,626 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,269 in Rome
630 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,269 in Rome
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £93 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing