We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Nice hotel near Piazza Santa Maria. Our room on the ground floor where there is a lovely courtyard outside with amazing orange trees and tables/chairs you can sit out on. A quiet atmosphere and peace and you can have breakfast here. This hotel was also was the most quiet place we stayed. The afternoon snack buffet was the perfect way to kick off the evening or relax after a day of sight seeing. The Trastavere neighborhood is awash with alleys and streets full of small restaurants and shops waiting to be explored. The nearby square is a center of activity but not as loud or busy as the bigger ones across the river. From the hotel you can easily walk to all Rome attractions. Felt good with our choice of hotel and will most certainly come back here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakajima1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 3,024 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic three night stay in Hotel Santa Maria. We wanted to stay in the Trastevere area and found the hotel recommended on I-Escape (though we booked separately through a different website).

The hotel arranged a pick-up for us at the airport which was much appreciated as we arrived very late on Friday night. I can honestly say that the photos on the hotel website do not do the rooms justice and I will admit that I was slightly concerned that the room was going to be slightly tired. We were pleasantly surprised to arrive and find a great room, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had room number one which was excellent and we couldn't hear any noise from any other rooms.

The staff were all very helpful in terms of directions and answering any queries we had or making restaurant reservations for us. The breakfast served each morning were also very nice.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and I really can't recommend this hotel enough to anyone coming to Rome. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Your taxi driver has to be unusually brave, even by Roman standards, to negotiate the narrow maze of pedestrian ways to get to the front of this hotel. But once you are dropped off outside the large gates complete with buzzer, you can hear the advantage. The noise of the main Piazza Santa Maria, 'due passi' away, is completely blocked out and you enter your little private oasis, that is indeed a gem.

The hotel is delightful. We had Room 1 (first time ever in a hotel!) which was squeaky clean and well appointed with our own private patio complete with pot plants and orange tree. The only problem with the room, an invasion by ants, was promptly dealt with by a charming and helpful receptionist armed with an effective flit spray.

Breakfast was good with a wide variety of cheeses, hams, eggs, fruit . . . . and was taken 'a fuori' surrounded by orange trees. From the moment of arrival we were made to feel welcome. The bar is a bit dingy, but who wants to drink inside?

You can get there from Termini Station on a H bus, but be warned that from the nearest bus stop you have to walk the length of Via del Lungharetta, which is rough-cobbled and very unkind to pull-along cases on wheels. By the way, give the bar in the square adjacent to Vicolo del Piede a serious miss unless you feel very affluent - Euro 15 for 2 small bottles of Nastro Azurro is a ferocious rip off. Go 100 metres off-piazza and you can have the same for a third of the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We have been to Rome many times and this was without a doubt the best hotel we have stayed in. The setting is lovely as are the rooms and we were very lucky to be tucked around a corner with our own courtyard. Trastevere is a wonderful area full of character and great restaurants. One of the best attributes was the peace and quiet the lovely hotel offered to tired guests after long days in Rome. All the staff are happy and helpful and the food, especially the complimentary nibbles in late afternoon are a real treat. Well done to everyone you made our holiday very special

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw I would have been happy to have been allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksonjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great location, good neighborhood, walking distance to most sights. We where not too lucky with the weather. Had it been warmer, we would have enjoyed the beautiful courtyard for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was the final hotel of 5 that we stayed in during out two week stay in Italy. It was a huge disappointment. It was the most expensive by far and the room was the worst. Very shabby, seemed dingy and almost dirty. Woman we usually dealt with at the desk seemed to dislike us immediately. She was never pleasant or welcoming. Wireless did not work, neighborhood rather shady, a few homeless around sleeping in doorways. Pretty close to everything by public transportation, but don't expect any help figuring out buses. Good breakfast and nice common room and outdoor patio, but would not recommend to anyone unless under 180 euro per night. We paid 240 and feel ripped off.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSantaMariaRome, Owner at Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

I am really sorry to read you have a bad opinion about my hotel. Since we opened our priority has always been to provide the highest quality and service to our guests.
I am really regretful you found someone in our staff "unpleasant "and "never welcoming" and it will be my main concern to take action on this matter.
I remind you that the many enthusiastic comments in favor of our staff, written on "Tripadvisor" , other Web Sites and especially on our countless " Guest's Books", are sincere and result of our work, made with full commitment and dedication.
I can only think that you have suffered, unfortunately, an exceptional event.
It is really hard to understand why you call our room and bedspreads” shabby”or “ dingy”.
I am an architect and I put all my experience choosing an elegant,simple but precious style that has always been appreciated from our guests, as you can read in our countless positive reviews. I guess you are probably confusing us with another hotel, during your trip in Italy.
You describe “Trastevere” as a” rather” and “ shady” district : trust me, it is instead the ancient neighborhood in Rome, considered one of the most characteristic place in the Historical Center, genuine and colorful , in all the most important world’s guides.
If in a certain way I can think those are your personal opinion, I really cannot accept when you call my hotel “ dirty” : I am sorry but this is impossible! We have four persons taking care of our rooms and common spaces every day, with their professionalism and experience since 10 years and, has always been a source of pride for our Hotel !
I shall be honored if you will be again my guest to improve my sincerity and show you the various qualities of the neighborhood” Trastevere”and and also those of my small but charming Hotel.
Paolo Vetere - Hotel Santa Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I chose the Hotel Santa Maria for our first visit in Rome (summer 2010). Our stay was a wonderful experience all its own! The courtyard, rooms, and staff combine to create a comfortable Rome atmosphere. The breakfast buffet and afternoon goodies are wonderful! The staff was always willing to make us a cappucinno to enjoy under the orange trees in the beautifull courtyard. Our return trip to Rome in October 2011 was dependent upon being able to stay again at the Hotel Santa Maria, and it was just as wonderful as the first time! Fabulous neighborhood in walking distance to all major sights!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,018 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,272 in Rome
3,697 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,272 in Rome
752 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#11 of 1,272 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £77 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing