We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why going here???? very good BUT ...”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Italia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“why going here???? very good BUT ...”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

the main reason to choose Hotel santa Maria are: the setting (fantastic place in Trastevere) and the way the hotel is made, i.e., rooms around a court or garden. Very very unusual in the middle of a big city.
When the weather is warm, you can stay in the sun, you may have breakfast in the sun. I do not dare imagine the same in winter or in a cold fall. I would not choose here in those seasons.
The rooms are kind of less pleasant, quite too simple. When outside is warm you do not suffer the cold. I have no idea what happens in winter.
In conclusion, the place is real Hollywood and Bollywood.
The bathroom is spacious and good.
The breakfast is not up to the mark. You cannot spoil the whole thing (but they do!!!) with a chemical sort of orange juice.
The price is quite high, but in line with the uniqueness of the setting.
According to breakfast, it should be halved.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arzillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,275
    526
    55
    15
    12
See reviews for
672
1,163
81
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here in the beginning of May and found this place to be a great oasis from the city of Rome. Felt very safe here and comfortable. The evening happy hour is a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jptraveler1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Very nice B&B, excellent breakfast, great location, and very cooperative and helpful staff--particularly Arriana.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I, first timers to Rome, spent 3 nights at the Hotel Santa Maria. We walked everywhere in the city from here. Our room was upstairs, one of the new ones. It was clean and comfortable, no complaints. (I reserve the 5th star for some place more luxurious.... the room was simple, but just what we needed.) Right outside our door was a lovely patio, which we used to relax on after quite a lot of walking every day. The hotel's location is absolutely perfect, down one of the many narrow cobblestone streets of Trastevere, quiet, but just around the corner from the piazza. After a long day of sightseeing, it was wonderful to come back to this neighborhood, find an amazing little family restaurant tucked away, and wind our way back to the little green gate of the Hotel Santa Maria. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11. It was somewhat small, but had great views from the windows, even the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss
Level Contributor
852 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

A little oasis amongst the cobbled alleys of Trastevere. Had deliberated whether to stay in the city but came across this great place on Tripadvisor and decided to stay here. It is secure, clean and the staff were very helpful.

The rooms have a Mediterranean decor while the courtyard is planted with orange trees. Being able to sit in the sunny courtyard for breakfast was the perfect start to the day. In the early evening, there is a free buffet of savoury nibbles in the bar.

It is only a 15 minute stroll to the crowds in the city centre, but there are plenty of places to eat in the immediate vicinity. It was a charming hotel in an authentic area.

Room Tip: If you are flying into Fiumicino Airport then catch the slower train to Trastevere Station then catc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedishtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Great hotel and location, but a little impossible to sleep with open windows:) A girl at the front desk (named Orchidea??) was extremely rude and was never pleasant or welcoming. We highly recommend this hotel but without that woman at the front desk:)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Very nice hotel offering excellent customer service. Well located - all the main sites are within walking distance and there are many restaurants and bars in the immediate area. Our only suggestion to improve the hotel would be to supply some comfortable lounging chairs in the delightful courtyard but that is a minor point. A very pleasant place to stay in the centre of Rome.
(By the way, we walked from Termini station to the hotel with no problem - hand luggage only!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexEliro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,622 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,101 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,257 in Rome
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing