We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a nice area”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had a very pleasant experience at the Hotel Santa Maria. The hotel is located near the Piazze Santa Maria, where you can find wonderful outdoor dining, a beautiful church, nice shops, and entertainment in the square. The junior suite was a good choice and the accomodations were comfortable with free Internet access. The hotel staff was very helpful and communication in English was easy. Breakfast is included as is an early evening buffet. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,948)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,948 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel was a wonderful way to end our tour of Europe. We stayed 4 nights with 4 adults in a two room suite. It was beautiful and relaxing. The courtyard was a wonderful place to eat a great breakfast and snacks in the evening. The hotel staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The area was fun and lively but the hotel stayed quiet. I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The upstairs two room suite had a nice roof patio adjacent to it. We never saw anyone else up there...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I had a great stay at the Hotel Santa Maria. Excellent value for the price point. Cozily tucked within a block so it's quiet at night while the area surrounding stays up late. The service is terrific and very caring. Breakfast is included and very nice. Great courtyard to enjoy breakfast or afternoon reading in. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

If you're trying to find the hotel for the first time and you're arriving by air, I'd recommend that you arrange with the hotel for a airport pickup. It is slightly more expensive than a standard taxi, but there will be someone waiting for you at your departure gate who will take you to this quiet oasis in one of Rome's loveliest districts. You will be pleased to discover how close everything is. I walked to all the major historical sites and appreciated the many shops and restaurants nearby in the evening.

The room was clean and spacious and the front desk staff was cheerful and extremely helpful. The outdoor courtyard, of which much is written, is deservedly praised.

Breakfast was much more than the standard fare -- the fresh cherries were especially nice. My only complaint is that I (an early riser with a biological need for coffee) arrived 2 mornings at 7:45 for the advertised 7:30 breakfast and staff were not ready and seemed put out that I was there. This was my only negative experience the whole stay

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank TravellerfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great hotel for our 6 night stay in Rome. The staff was incredible. Very accommodating, helpful and full of great suggestions on where to eat or find things. Made it very easy. We had a larger family style room that provided a separate sleeping area for the kids (4 and 18 months). They also gifted the kids Santa Maria teddy bears upon arrival. The spacious rooms are hard to find in Rome for the price. Good breakfast in the morning and you could chose to eat outside in the nice courtyard or in the restaurant. Nice location in Trastevere, right across the river from a ton of sites and we walked everywhere and it was very convenient. Nicely located near some good restaurants, convenience stores, grocery stores as well which was convenient. Although we stayed with younger kids we would recommend for families with kids over ages 6-7 as it is a very quiet courtyard and we felt slightly stressed trying to keep the kids quiet although they were more than welcomed from the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Great hotel, wonderful staff and great amenities. The breakfast was perfect in the morning and the evening "happy hour" was a nice touch. In Trastevere, right across the river from a ton of sites. We ended up walking everywhere (we love walking cities) and this was a great location. About 15 minutes to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori. 25 minute walk to Vatican City.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWD813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Ideal place for a visit to Rome. Almost too good to be true. Just one tiny detail that we noticed from our last visit: the fresh and delicate breakfast fruit is misssing

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,803 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,267 in Rome
3,595 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £102 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing