We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santa Maria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa della Fonte(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Residenza San Calisto(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sanzio(Rome)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ponte Sisto(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,080)
Filter reviews
3,080 results
Traveller rating
2,447
550
56
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,447
550
56
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange treesbreakfast and happy hourtrastevere neighborhoodchurch bellscharming hotelbusy citywithin walking distanceeach eveningthe hotel staffrestaurants and barsperfect locationbreakfast was deliciousaround the cornersmall hoteltrip to romeloved this hotelpastries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,254 - 1,259 of 3,080 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the last 3 nights of our UK/EURO trip..last stop Rome. This was one of our favourite places to stay, it was the most comfortable and spacious of all. The grounds of the hotel make it really relaxing to sit outside of an afternoon and enjoy the happy hour in peaceful surrounds. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very good, best we had in Europe. The are plenty of reasonably priced restaraunts nearby to wander around and chose from. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Also we walked to all the sites of Rome from this hotel, and we were always happy to return each afternoon to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Hotel Santa Maria is wonderfully situated. All of the major tourist destinations are easily accessible from the charming Trastevere neighborhood. Yet, the hotel itself is remarkably quiet and peaceful. It creates a comfortable and welcoming respite from the hustle and bustle of Rome. The staff contributes greatly to this warm atmosphere. They always have smiles on their faces, and they are generous in assisting travelers to make the most of their trip. They made numerous restaurant reservations for me and also helped me find the ideal route via public transportation for my day trip out of Rome. The breakfasts were also very nice. There was a variety of offerings -- from cheese and salami to pastries and cereals and, of course, fresh bread with butter and jam. This was, for me, a truly perfect affordable hotel option for Rome. I will definitely return, if I ever make it to Rome again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this small hotel in the middle of Trastevere. It is a very cosy and quiet place, although it is located in the middle of the trattoria's and restaurants of Trastevere. The first day we were constantly lost, as we could not find the way in the little streets of this area. It is easy to walk to all the important places in Rome, 1/2 hour walk to the Vatican, 15 minutes to Piazza Navona. Breakfast is ok, they serve very nice bread! Friendly staff. Room is good, free WIFI, spacious bathroom, we stayed in room 9. During the night is was rather hot in the room and we could not control the airco. The temperature stayed at 21 degrees Celsius, which we find too hot the sleep at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

What a wonderful place to stay if you want to be in the heart of Rome. Close to amazing restaurants and only a short walk across the Tiber to the main attractions. The staff were so friendly and generous....we were even offered a bottle of fizz as a birthday treat! Pre-dinner drinks and antipasti were always enjoyable in the hotel. As for the breakfast....it was delicious and its worth going back just for another one of their cappuccinos! We threw a coin in the Trevi fountain so we would get to back to Rome .... and back to Hotel Santa Maria

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at this place for 8 days with my family. Perfect location, close to everything. The staff was very nice and helpful. We absolutely loved it. It's close to the center of all the restaurants and bars in Trastevere and a Close walk to Vatican City. Definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, comfortable stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speedylou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews